Periodic maintenance of roads in Bukembe East Ward, Bungoma County (Tender BGM/CNTY/RPW/CEF/OT/049/2026-2027)
Official title: PERIODIC MAINTENANCE OF ROADS IN BUKEMBE EAST WARD
- Closing
- Tue 17 Nov 2026, 11:00 am EAT
- Tender number
- BGM/CNTY/RPW/CEF/OT/ 049/2026/20267 NEGOTIATION NUMBER: 2656973
- Procuring entity
- Bungoma County Government
- Categoria
- Works · Open Tender
- County
- Bungoma
Official documents take precedence. NairobiCity is an independent information service, not the procuring entity or a government body. This summary was prepared from the official documents with AI assistance; every requirement was matched to the document wording, but it can still contain mistakes. Before you apply, read the official tender documents and any addenda.
What is being bought
Periodic maintenance of roads in Bukembe East Ward, Bungoma County, about 3.8 km (per the tender schedule). The tender is reserved for YOUTH (AGPO) bidders according to the Tender Data Sheet and the advert; the portal record lists no reserved group.
What could disqualify you
- Bidders with stalled projects participating in this tender shall be disqualified. D1 p.8
- Any form of canvassing leads to disqualification. D1 p.8
- Tenders not accompanied by a substantially responsive Tender-Securing Declaration are rejected as non-responsive. Standard rule D2 p.17
- Bidders who do not satisfy any preliminary examination requirement are non-responsive and not evaluated further. D2 p.31
- Tenders with price-quoted validity shorter than required are rejected as non-responsive. Standard rule D2 p.17
- Manual submissions are not accepted; a tender sent other than through the IFMIS platform will not be accepted. D1 p.8
Key facts
- Closing
-
Tue 17 Nov 2026, 11:00 am
Tender closes electronically via IFMIS portal on Tuesday 17 November 2026 at 11:00 AM local time. D2 p.26 - Bid / tender security
- Tender-Securing Declaration form required instead of a bank tender security; no cash or bank bid security amount is specified. D2 p.26
- Tender fee
- Not stated in the documents we reviewed Not stated D1 p.1
- Site visit
-
Mandatory
Mandatory pre-tender site visit at the Department of Roads boardroom, Bungoma. Date and time conflict between sources: 10 November 2026 at 10:00 am (ITT and invitation) versus 10 November 2026 at 10.00 am stated in the advert (portal listing shows the same date). Attendance is mandatory. D2 p.26 - Pre-bid meeting
-
Optional
Pre-tender meeting held at the same date, time and place as the site visit (10 November 2026, 10:00am, boardroom). D2 p.26 - Reserved for
- Tender data sheet reserves the invitation to the youth group. Advert schedule lists category YOUTH for tender 049. Youth bidders must hold a valid AGPO registration certificate. Conflicting D2 p.28
- Contract value
- Not stated in the documents we reviewed Not stated D2 p.26
- Tender opening
- Tenders opened immediately after the closing deadline at the Roads, Infrastructure and Public Works boardroom, Kanduyi, Bungoma (bidders may attend). D2 p.26
- Tender validity
- Tender validity 120 days from the closing date; a further extension of 30 days beyond validity applies to bid security if requested. D2 p.26
Who can apply
- Open national competitive tender; tendering is open to qualified and interested tenderers. Reserved to youth group per TDS (see reserved_for). D2 p.7
Application checklist
Tick items off as you prepare. Your ticks stay on this device only.
Required from every bidder
Required only in some situations
Experience, licences and financial capacity
Technical
- Mandatory pre-tender site visit or pre-bid meeting. Every bidder must be represented by one technical person with at least a Diploma in Civil/Highway Engineering, bringing original ID and certified copies of qualifications and EBK/KETRB/IET registration, plus an original signed introductory letter on company letterhead. A site visit certificate is issued as evidence of attendance and must be attached. D1 p.1
- Evaluation: minimum 70% overall score required to be responsive (technical criteria include key personnel, plant and equipment, financial capability, work methodology, safety, and experience). Financial evaluation follows. D2 p.33
- Plant and equipment scored; key personnel include site agent (Bsc Civil Engineering or Diploma/HND), surveyor and foreman scored by qualifications and experience. D2 p.32
Financial
- Financial capability is scored (max 15): audited accounts for last two years, bank statements for last six months, financial ratios, average turnover for last two years, and bank line of credit undertaking specific to the tender (score 5). D2 p.33
- General experience with minimum value of KShs 2,000,000 and participation in similar contracts with minimum value KShs 2,000,000 in the last 4 years (experience scored max 15). D2 p.34
How and where to submit
- Submit electronically through the IFMIS Supplier Portal (www.supplier.treasury.go.ke). Manual submissions are not accepted. Documents should be uploaded in PDF format. Tender documents are free to download from www.bungoma.go.ke or www.tenders.go.ke using the IFMIS negotiation number. D1 p.8
- One original of the tender; no additional copies required. D2 p.27
Lots and categories
- No lots: single contract, negotiation number 2656973-2026/2027. D2 p.26
What the addenda changed
- No addenda were provided in the material reviewed. Not stated D1
Points to confirm with the procuring entity
The documents do not agree with each other on these points. Ask the procuring entity for a written clarification before you submit.
- Reserved group: Tender data sheet and advert schedule reserve tender 049 to youth; portal record lists no reserved group. (D2 TDS ITT 33.4; D1 schedule item 49; P portal record)
- Site visit date and time: Invitation and advert say 10 November 2026 at 10:00 am; Section III says the meeting is on 'Tuesday october, 2026' at 10.00 am (no day given); TDS gives 10/11/2026 10:00am. (D2 p.8; D2 p.31; D2 p.26; D1 p.1)
- Clarification deadline: TDS says clarification requests must reach the entity by 13/11/2026 (after the site visit), while ITT 7.3 says questions must reach the entity three days before the meeting. (D2 TDS ITT 7.1 and 7.3)
- Bid security: Advert lists a bank or insurance bid security for open tenders, while the TDS and ITT 19.1 specify a Tender-Securing Declaration. (D1 p.7 item 6; D2 TDS ITT 19.1)
Not covered in the documents we reviewed
- Contract value / engineer's estimate for the works
- Full Bills of Quantities and specifications (Part 2 sections V-VII)
- Addenda or clarifications, if any, issued after the advert
- Performance security amount and form (ITT 48, TDS shows NA)
- Confirmation of whether the tender is reserved to youth (reserved_for conflict)
- Confirmation of the site visit date and time
- Full Section III financial scoring thresholds and the financial evaluation method
- Details of the Form of Tender and any other tender-specific forms in Section IV
Terms explained
- AGPO
- Access to Government Procurement Opportunities: a registration for youth, women and persons with disabilities that reserves some tenders to them.
- NCA 8 and above
- National Construction Authority registration category for road works at level 8 or higher, required to tender.
- CR 12
- Company Registry return listing directors and shareholders; must be recent (within 6 months).
- Tender-Securing Declaration
- Signed declaration that the bidder will accept sanctions if it withdraws or fails to sign after award, used instead of a bank bid security.
- TDS
- Tender Data Sheet: the section of tender documents giving tender-specific values that override the general instructions.
- Responsive
- A tender meeting all mandatory requirements and conditions; non-responsive tenders are rejected.
- IFMIS
- Integrated Financial Management Information System, the government e-procurement platform through which bids must be submitted.
- JV
- Joint venture: two or more firms bidding together under a joint venture agreement.
- Preliminary examination
- Initial pass/fail check of mandatory documents before technical and financial scoring.