Periodic Maintenance of Sitikho-Milele Road in Sitikho Ward, Bungoma County (Tender 019/2026-2027)
Official title: PERIODIC MAINTENANCE OF SITIKHO-MILELE ROAD IN SITIKHO WARD
- Closing
- Tue 17 Nov 2026, 11:00 am EAT
- Tender number
- BGM/CNTY/RPW/CEF/OT/ 019/2026/2027. NEGOTIATION NUMBER:2657014
- Procuring entity
- Bungoma County Government
- Categoria
- Works · Open Tender
- County
- Bungoma
Official documents take precedence. NairobiCity is an independent information service, not the procuring entity or a government body. This summary was prepared from the official documents with AI assistance; every requirement was matched to the document wording, but it can still contain mistakes. Before you apply, read the official tender documents and any addenda.
What is being bought
Periodic maintenance works on Sitikho-Milele Road in Sitikho Ward, Bungoma County, about 2.0 km long (Tender BGM/CNTY/RPW/CEF/OT/019/2026-2027, Negotiation No. 2657014-2026/2027). Open national tender for contractors registered with the National Construction Authority (NCA) category 8 and above.
What could disqualify you
- Bidders with stalled projects participating in bidding under this tender notice shall be disqualified. D1 p.8
- Any form of canvassing will lead to disqualification. D1 p.8
- Manual (paper) submissions will not be accepted; late or non-electronic submission will not be considered. D1 p.8
- Any tender not accompanied by a substantially responsive tender security or tender-securing declaration shall be rejected as non-responsive. Standard rule D2 p.17
- Tenderers who do not satisfy any of the preliminary/mandatory requirements are non-responsive and their tenders will not be evaluated further. D2 p.30
- Site visit certificate must be attached as evidence of attendance at the mandatory site visit. D2 p.30
- Foreign tenderers that do not source at least 40% of contract inputs from citizen suppliers and contractors will be automatically disqualified. Standard rule D2 p.12
- Any bidder scoring below 70% in the technical evaluation is not considered responsive and does not proceed to financial evaluation. D2 p.33
Key facts
- Closing
-
Tue 17 Nov 2026, 11:00 am
Tender closes Tuesday 17 November 2026 at 11:00 AM local time via IFMIS Supplier Portal. Current as of material reviewed (no addenda provided). D1 p.1 - Bid / tender security
- Bid security of Ksh 67,000 from a reputable bank, financial institution or insurance company approved by PPRA. Form may be cash, bank guarantee, insurance company guarantee, or a guarantee from a Central Bank of Kenya licensed institution (standard ITT 19.2). Standard ITT 19.3: valid 30 days beyond the original tender validity period. Tender-securing declaration is an alternative only where the TDS specifies it. D2 p.27
- Tender fee
- Tender documents may be downloaded free of charge using the IFMIS negotiation number from www.bungoma.go.ke or www.tenders.go.ke. No purchase fee is stated in the material reviewed. D1 p.1
- Site visit
-
Obrigatório
Mandatory pre-tender site visit / pre-bid conference at the Department of Roads, Infrastructure and Public Works boardroom. A site visit certificate will be issued as evidence of attendance. D2 p.8 - Pre-bid meeting
-
Obrigatório
Pre-tender meeting held at the same date and time, in the boardroom. Questions in writing must reach the procuring entity not later than three days before the meeting. D2 p.26 - Reserved for
- Not reserved. Open tender for all eligible tenderers; no youth, women, PWD or AGPO reservation applies. D2 p.28
- Contract value
- Not stated in the documents we reviewed Not stated P
- Tender opening
- Tenders are opened immediately after the deadline, in the presence of bidders who choose to attend. Venue is stated differently in two documents (see conflicts). Conflicting D2 p.27
- Tender validity
- Tenders remain valid for 120 days from the closing date. A tender valid for a shorter period is rejected as non-responsive. D2 p.7
Who can apply
Application checklist
Tick items off as you prepare. Your ticks stay on this device only.
Required from every bidder
- D2 p.8
- D2 p.8
- Conflicting D2 p.8
- D2 p.8
- D2 p.8
- D2 p.8
- D2 p.8
- D2 p.8
- D2 p.8
- D2 p.8
- D2 p.27
- D2 p.8
- D1 p.7
Required only in some situations
- Standard rule D2 p.14
Experience, licences and financial capacity
Technical
- Every bidder must be represented at the site visit by one technical person with at least a Diploma in Civil or Highway Engineering. D1 p.1
- Technical scoring (max 100): key personnel (site agent, surveyor, foreman, max 20), plant and equipment (max 10), work methodology (max 25), work safety (max 10), experience (max 15), history of non-performance (max 5), financial capability (max 15). Scored criteria; minimum 70% needed to be responsive. D2 p.30
Financial
- Financial capability (max 15 points): audited financial statements for last two years; bank statements from a reputable bank for last six months; computation of financial ratios; average turnover for last two years; undertaking from bank providing current line of credit specific to the tender. D2 p.32
- Experience (max 15 points): general experience with minimum value of KShs. 2,000,000, and participation in similar contract(s) of at least KShs. 2,000,000 in the last 4 years; attach at least 2 award and completion certificates per project for last 4 years. D2 p.32
How and where to submit
- Submit complete tender documents electronically only through the IFMIS Supplier Portal, www.supplier.treasury.go.ke, in PDF format. D1 p.8
- Electronic submission only. Upload all complete tender documents in PDF format. D1 p.8
- Tenders are submitted electronically. Additional copies beyond the original: none required. D2 p.27
- Written clarification requests go to Department of Roads, Infrastructure and Public Works, P.O Box 437-50200 Bungoma, not later than 13/11/2026. Questions for the site visit or pre-tender meeting must be in writing not later than three days before the meeting. D2 p.26
- Procuring entity address for tender submission: Department of Roads, Infrastructure and Public Works, P.O Box 437 Bungoma, attention Chief Officer. Purchase/clarification email given as roadsbgmcounty@gmail.com. D2 p.27
Lots and categories
- No lots: single tender (Tender 019). Not applicable. Not stated P
What the addenda changed
- No addenda were provided in the material reviewed. Check the County website and tenders.go.ke for addenda before submitting. Not stated P
Points to confirm with the procuring entity
The documents do not agree with each other on these points. Ask the procuring entity for a written clarification before you submit.
- Opening venue: Advert says bids opened at the Ministry of Roads, Infrastructure and Public Works Conference Hall. Tender data sheet says the Roads, Infrastructure and Public Works (Kanduyi) boardroom. Confirm the venue with the procuring entity. (D1 p.8; D2 p.27)
- CR12 form type: Advert asks for a copy of recent CR12 (issued within six months before opening). Tender document asks for a certified copy. Confirm whether certified copy is required. (D1 p.7; D2 p.8)
Not covered in the documents we reviewed
- Addenda (A1, A2...) for this tender were not provided; check the County website and tenders.go.ke before submission.
- Estimated contract value and bills of quantities were not provided.
- Standard template text was used for some clauses (ITT 19.2, 19.3, 3.10 to 3.13); confirm they are unchanged in the full tender document.
- Only 27 of 150 pages of D2 were reviewed; drawings, specifications and forms not reviewed may contain further requirements.
- Minutes of the site visit or pre-tender meeting, if published, were not provided.
- Full evaluation formulas for the financial stage were not provided in the reviewed pages.
Terms explained
- TDS
- Tender Data Sheet: the tender-specific section that overrides the general Instructions to Tenderers.
- Tender security
- Money or guarantee submitted with the bid (here Ksh 67,000) to show the bidder will honor the bid; forfeited if withdrawn or not signed when awarded.
- Responsive
- A bid that meets all mandatory requirements and conditions; non-responsive bids are rejected without evaluation.
- NCA
- National Construction Authority, which registers contractors by category; NCA 8 and above is required here.
- CR12
- Company return form listing directors and shareholders, issued by the Business Registration Service; must be recent.
- IFMIS
- Integrated Financial Management Information System, the government e-procurement platform used for electronic submission.
- PPRA
- Public Procurement Regulatory Authority, which approves banks and insurers for tender security.
- Power of attorney
- Written authority letter allowing a person to sign and bind the company to this bid.
- JV
- Joint venture: two or more firms bidding together under one agreement.
- Tender-securing declaration
- A signed declaration used instead of a bank guarantee where the TDS allows it; here the TDS specifies a Ksh 67,000 bid security.
- Commissioner of Oaths / Notary Public
- Authorized persons who certify copies of documents.