Periodic maintenance of roads in Bumula Ward, Bungoma County - Tender BGM/CNTY/RPW/CEF/OT/052/2026-2027
Official title: PERIODIC MAINTENANCE OF ROADS IN BUMULA WARD.
- Closing
- Tue 17 Nov 2026, 11:00 am EAT
- Tender number
- BGM/CNTY/RPW/CEF/OT/ 052/2026/2027. NEGOTIATION NUMBER: 2656967
- Procuring entity
- Bungoma County Government
- Categoria
- Works · Open Tender
- County
- Bungoma
Official documents take precedence. NairobiCity is an independent information service, not the procuring entity or a government body. This summary was prepared from the official documents with AI assistance; every requirement was matched to the document wording, but it can still contain mistakes. Before you apply, read the official tender documents and any addenda.
What is being bought
Periodic maintenance of roads in Bumula Ward, Bungoma County, about 6.5 km according to the detailed tender schedule (Negotiation No. 2656967-2026/2027). This is an open national works tender under NCA category 8 and above.
What could disqualify you
- Tenderers who do not satisfy the preliminary/mandatory evaluation criteria are considered non-responsive and not evaluated further. D2 p.30
- Bidders with stalled projects participating in this tender shall be disqualified. D1 p.8
- Any form of canvassing will lead to disqualification. D1 p.8
- Failure to attend the mandatory pre-bid site visit leads to non-responsiveness (site visit certificate required). Unverified D2 p.24
- Manual submissions will not be accepted; tenders must be submitted through the IFMIS platform. D2 p.8
- A tender not accompanied by a substantially responsive tender security or tender-securing declaration shall be rejected as non-responsive. Standard rule D2 p.17
- Tenders with a validity shorter than required shall be rejected as non-responsive. Standard rule D2 p.17
Key facts
- Closing
-
Tue 17 Nov 2026, 11:00 am
Tender closes on 17 November 2026 at 11:00 (local time) via IFMIS, per the Tender Data Sheet and invitation. D2 p.27 - Bid / tender security
- Ksh213,000 from a reputable bank/financial institution/insurance company approved by PPRA. Form may be cash, bank guarantee, insurance guarantee or CBK-licensed institution guarantee; tender security valid 30 days beyond tender validity period. D2 p.27
- Tender fee
- Not stated in the documents we reviewed Not stated D1 p.1
- Site visit
-
Obrigatório
Mandatory pre-tender site visit / pre-bid conference on Tuesday 10 November 2026 at 10:00 am at the Department of Roads boardroom; site visit certificate issued as evidence of attendance. D2 p.8 - Pre-bid meeting
-
Obrigatório
Pre-tender meeting at the Boardroom on 10/11/2026 at 10.00am, optional per TDS listing alongside the site visit; questions in writing not later than three days before the meeting. D2 p.27 - Reserved for
- Not reserved. The Tender Data Sheet says reservation is not applicable; the portal lists no reserved group and the advert schedule shows OPEN for tender 052. D2 p.27
- Contract value
- Not stated in the documents we reviewed Not stated P
- Tender opening
- Tenders are opened immediately after the closing deadline at the Department of Roads, Infrastructure and Public Works (Kanduyi) boardroom, Bungoma; bidders may attend. D2 p.27
- Tender validity
- Tenders remain valid for 120 days from the closing date. D2 p.27
Who can apply
- Tendering is open to all qualified and interested tenderers (open national competitive method). Eligibility is NCA 8 and above per the schedule. D2 p.7
Application checklist
Tick items off as you prepare. Your ticks stay on this device only.
Required from every bidder
Experience, licences and financial capacity
Technical
- Site visit/pre-bid representative must be a technical person with minimum Diploma in Civil/Highway Engineering, with certified ID, certified academic certificate, and certified EBK/KETRB/IET registration with proof of subscription; original introductory letter on company letterhead required. D1 p.7
- Evaluation: technical score out of 100 covering key personnel, plant and equipment, financial capability, work methodology, safety and experience; bidders scoring 70% and above are responsive and proceed to financial evaluation. D2 p.33
Financial
- Financial capability scored in technical evaluation (max 15): audited statements for last two years, bank statements from reputable bank for last six months, financial ratios, average turnover for last two years, and bank undertaking for line of credit specific to the tender. D2 p.31
How and where to submit
- Submit complete tender electronically through the IFMIS Supplier Portal www.supplier.treasury.go.ke, in PDF format. Manual submissions not accepted. No additional hard copies required (ITT 20.1 number of copies: None). D1 p.8
Lots and categories
- No lots: single contract (Negotiation No. 2656967-2026/2027). Note the advert schedule lists this as tender 052 Bumula Ward only. D2 p.25
What the addenda changed
- No addenda were provided in the material reviewed. Not stated P
Points to confirm with the procuring entity
The documents do not agree with each other on these points. Ask the procuring entity for a written clarification before you submit.
- Site visit / pre-bid conference time: Advert says Tuesday 10 November 2026 with no time in the key dates; the tender document says 10.00 am; both list the same date and venue, so the time is consistent, but the portal record gives no site visit time. (D1 p.1; D2 p.8; D2 p.27)
- Tender opening location: Advert says bids opened at the Ministry of Roads, Infrastructure and Public Works Conference Hall; TDS says opening at Department of Roads (Kanduyi) boardroom, Bungoma. (D1 p.8; D2 p.27)
- Clarification deadline: TDS gives a clarification deadline of 13/11/2026 and questions three days before the meeting; the mandatory site visit is 10 November, so the two dates are inconsistent with a pre-meeting question deadline. (D2 p.27)
- Mandatory document count: Advert lists 12 mandatory documents including AGPO and tender securing declaration for special categories; the TDS preliminary list does not include those; Open tender here so AGPO not applicable. (D1 p.7; D2 p.8)
Not covered in the documents we reviewed
- Tender fee or document purchase cost if any
- Contract value / estimate
- Addenda after the original documents (none provided)
- Pages of Section IV forms, BOQ, specifications and GCC not reviewed
- Whether tender security may be paid in cash or must be a bank guarantee; exact form selection
- Site visit time confirmation in the portal record
Terms explained
- TDS
- Tender Data Sheet: the tender-specific section that overrides the standard Instructions to Tenderers.
- Bid security
- Money or guarantee (here Ksh213,000) submitted with the tender to protect the procuring entity if a bidder withdraws or refuses to sign.
- NCA 8 and above
- National Construction Authority registration category required for road works of this size.
- CR 12
- Company registration return listing directors and shareholders, which must be recent (within 6 months).
- IFMIS
- Integrated Financial Management Information System; the government e-procurement supplier portal used for submission.
- Responsive
- Tender that meets all mandatory requirements and is considered for evaluation; non-responsive tenders are rejected.
- AGPO
- Access to Government Procurement Opportunities for youth, women and persons with disability; not applicable to this open tender.
- Lowest Evaluated Tender
- The tender that meets qualification, is substantially responsive and has the lowest evaluated price.