Periodic maintenance of Tofiko-Railway Crossing-Lusimu-Buloti Road in Bumula Ward, Bungoma County (Negotiation 2656966, women-reserved)
Official title: PERIODIC MAINTENANCE OF TOFIKO-RAILWAY CROSSING-LUSIMU-BULOTI ROAD IN BUMULA WARD.
- Closing
- Tue 17 Nov 2026, 11:00 am EAT
- Tender number
- BGM/CNTY/RPW/CEF/OT/ 053/2026/2027. NEGOTIATION NUMBER: 2656966
- Procuring entity
- Bungoma County Government
- Categoria
- Works · Open Tender
- County
- Bungoma
Official documents take precedence. NairobiCity is an independent information service, not the procuring entity or a government body. This summary was prepared from the official documents with AI assistance; every requirement was matched to the document wording, but it can still contain mistakes. Before you apply, read the official tender documents and any addenda.
What is being bought
Periodic maintenance of the Tofiko-Railway Crossing-Lusimu-Buloti Road in Bumula Ward, Bungoma County, about 2.9 km long (Tender No. BGM/CNTY/RPW/CEF/OT/053/2026-2027). The advert reserves this tender to women-owned enterprises (AGPO women category).
What could disqualify you
- Bidders who fail any preliminary/mandatory requirement are non-responsive and are not evaluated further. D2 p.31
- Bidders with stalled projects participating in this tender shall be disqualified. D1 p.8
- Any form of canvassing will lead to disqualification. D1 p.8
- A tender without a substantially responsive Tender-Securing Declaration is rejected as non-responsive. Standard rule D2 p.17
- A tender is rejected if the bidder's information is incomplete or out of date, or if verification fails. Standard rule D2 p.18
- A tender submitted with a validity period shorter than 120 days is rejected as non-responsive. Standard rule D2 p.18
Key facts
- Closing
-
Tue 17 Nov 2026, 11:00 am
Tenders must be received on or before 17 November 2026 at 11:00 AM local time via the IFMIS Supplier Portal. The portal record gives the same closing date and time. No addenda were provided that change it. D2 p.28 - Bid / tender security
- A Tender-Securing Declaration (signed and stamped form) is required. No cash or bank tender security amount is specified in the Tender Data Sheet. D2 p.28
- Tender fee
- Not stated in the documents we reviewed Not stated D1 p.1
- Site visit
-
Obrigatório
A pre-arranged site visit and pre-bid meeting is mandatory. It is at the Department of Roads, Infrastructure and Public Works boardroom. A site visit certificate is issued as evidence of attendance and must be attached to the tender. D2 p.8 - Pre-bid meeting
-
Obrigatório
Pre-tender meeting is held at the same date, time and place as the site visit: 10 November 2026, 10.00 am, Boardroom. Attendance is needed to get the site visit certificate. D2 p.26 - Reserved for
- The tender is reserved to the Women category (AGPO). The advert lists this tender under the WOMEN eligibility group and the Tender Data Sheet ITT 33.4 states the invitation is extended to the WOMEN group. D2 p.28
- Contract value
- Not stated in the documents we reviewed Not stated
- Tender opening
- Tenders are opened immediately after the closing deadline in the presence of tenderers' representatives who choose to attend, at the Roads, Infrastructure and Public Works boardroom (Kanduyi), P.O Box 437-50200 Bungoma. D2 p.28
- Tender validity
- Tenders remain valid for 120 days from the closing date. D2 p.28
Application checklist
Tick items off as you prepare. Your ticks stay on this device only.
Required from every bidder
Required only in some situations
Experience, licences and financial capacity
Technical
- Every bidder must be represented at the site visit by one technical person with a minimum Diploma in Civil/Highway Engineering, who brings original ID and certified copies of ID, academic certificate and engineering registration (EBK/KETRB/IET), and an original signed introductory letter on company letterhead. D1 p.7
- Evaluation: technical score out of 100 covering key personnel (max 20), plant and equipment (max 10), financial capability (max 15), work methodology (max 25), work safety (max 10) and experience (max 15). Bidders scoring 70% or more are responsive and go to financial evaluation. Specific sub-criteria are in Section III. D2 p.34
Financial
- Financial criteria include certified financial statements for the last two years, bank statements from a reputable bank for the last six months, average turnover for the last two years, and an undertaking from the bank for a line of credit specific to the tender. Minimum experience values are KShs 2,000,000 for general and similar contracts. D2 p.33
How and where to submit
- Submit electronically only through the IFMIS Supplier Portal (www.supplier.treasury.go.ke). Manual submissions are not accepted. Upload complete tender documents in PDF format. Only the original is required; no extra copies. D2 p.28
Lots and categories
- This tender is a single contract with no lots; the advert gives a single negotiation number 2656966 for this road. Not stated D1 p.2
What the addenda changed
- No addenda [A1] or [A2] were provided in the material. Bidders should check the County website for addenda. Not stated D1 p.8
Points to confirm with the procuring entity
The documents do not agree with each other on these points. Ask the procuring entity for a written clarification before you submit.
- Pre-bid site visit time: The advert and Section III say 10.00 am on 10 November 2026; the Invitation to Tender says 10.00 am; the TDS says 10:00am. Consistent, no conflict. (D1 p.1, D2 p.7, D2 p.28)
Not covered in the documents we reviewed
- Contract value or budget estimate for this tender.
- Section V Bills of Quantities, Section VI Specifications and Section VII Drawings (not provided).
- Tender Data Sheet items and Section III points not reviewed in full, including the financial ratio thresholds.
- Any addenda after the original tender documents.
- Whether the tender is a single contract with no separate lots (lot labels not listed).
- Full notice of intention to award and performance security amount (not in pages reviewed).
- Confirmation of whether the Tender Data Sheet includes a tender security amount beyond the declaration.
Terms explained
- AGPO
- Access to Government Procurement Opportunities, a registration scheme reserving some tenders for women, youth and persons with disability.
- Tender-Securing Declaration
- A signed form in which the bidder promises to accept penalties (such as suspension) if it withdraws or fails to sign after award, used instead of a cash or bank security.
- TDS
- Tender Data Sheet, the section of tender-specific values that adds to or amends the standard Instructions to Tenderers.
- NCA 8 and above
- National Construction Authority registration category for road works permitting contracts of the stated value class.
- Responsive
- A tender that meets all mandatory requirements and is considered for evaluation.
- CR12
- Kenyan company annual return listing directors and shareholders, which must be recent (within 6 months).
- IFMIS
- Integrated Financial Management Information System, the government e-procurement supplier portal used for submission.
- Bills of Quantities (BOQ)
- Priced schedule listing the quantities of work items, which the bidder must fill in and sign.