Periodic maintenance of Kabuchai-Muyayi Dam Road in West Nalondo Ward, Bungoma County (Open Tender BGM/CNTY/RPW/CEF/OT/082/2026-2027)
Official title: PERIODIC MAINTENANCE OF KABUCHAI-MUYAYI DAM ROAD IN WEST NALONDO WARD
- Closing
- Tue 17 Nov 2026, 11:00 am EAT
- Tender number
- BGM/CNTY/RPW/CEF/OT/ 082/2026/2027. NEGOTIATION NUMBER: 2656910
- Procuring entity
- Bungoma County Government
- Categoria
- Works · Open Tender
- County
- Bungoma
Official documents take precedence. NairobiCity is an independent information service, not the procuring entity or a government body. This summary was prepared from the official documents with AI assistance; every requirement was matched to the document wording, but it can still contain mistakes. Before you apply, read the official tender documents and any addenda.
What is being bought
Bungoma County Government invites tenders from contractors for periodic maintenance of Kabuchai-Muyayi Dam Road in West Nalondo Ward, about 2.0 km long according to the detailed tender schedule in the advert. Open national tender, IFMIS Negotiation Number 2656910-2026/2027, submitted electronically through the IFMIS Supplier Portal only.
What could disqualify you
- Missing or non-responsive tender security leads to rejection. D2 p.18
- Tenderers who do not satisfy any preliminary mandatory requirement are non-responsive and are not evaluated further, including the mandatory site visit requirement. D2 p.31
- Bidders with stalled projects participating in this tender are disqualified. D1 p.8
- Any form of canvassing leads to disqualification. D1 p.8
- Late submission after the deadline is not accepted; tenders received after the closing date and time are not to be considered (standard ITT rule for tenders received after the deadline). Not stated D2 p.7
Key facts
- Closing
-
Tue 17 Nov 2026, 11:00 am
Tender closing: deadline for receipt of complete tenders through the IFMIS Supplier Portal, 11:00 AM local time. Matches the portal listing. Unverified D2 p.7 - Bid / tender security
- Bid security of Ksh 80,000 from a reputable bank, financial institution or insurance company approved by PPRA. Form per ITT 19.2 (cash, bank guarantee, insurance guarantee or licensed financial institution guarantee). Validity: 30 days beyond the tender validity period (ITT 19.3). D2 p.8
- Tender fee
- Tender documents are downloadable free of charge from the County website or the PPIP portal using the IFMIS Negotiation Number. No purchase fee is stated in the material reviewed. D1 p.1
- Site visit
-
Obbligatorio
Mandatory pre-tender site visit at the Department of Roads, Infrastructure and Public Works boardroom. A site visit certificate is issued as evidence of attendance and must be attached. D2 p.8 - Pre-bid meeting
-
Obbligatorio
Pre-tender meeting at the Boardroom, same date and time as the site visit (10/11/2026, 10.00am). Questions must reach the Procuring Entity not later than three days before the meeting (ITT 7.3 TDS). D2 p.26 - Reserved for
- This tender is not reserved for any group. The TDS states that the reservation does not apply, and the advert lists it as Open. D2 p.28
- Contract value
- Not stated in the documents we reviewed Not stated D2 p.7
- Tender opening
- Tenders will be opened immediately after the deadline in the presence of bidders or their representatives who choose to attend, at the Ministry of Roads, Infrastructure and Public Works Conference Hall. D1 p.8
- Tender validity
- Tenders remain valid for 120 days from the closing date. Shorter validity is non-responsive. D2 p.7
Who can apply
- Tendering is open to all qualified and interested tenderers under an Open National competitive method. The advert schedule lists this tender as Open (not reserved) and NCA 8 and above. D2 p.7
Application checklist
Tick items off as you prepare. Your ticks stay on this device only.
Required from every bidder
Required only in some situations
Experience, licences and financial capacity
Technical
- Pre-bid representative: one technical person with a minimum Diploma in Civil/Highway Engineering must attend. Required documents include certified ID, certified diploma, certified EBK/KETRB/IET registration and an original authority letter on company letterhead. D1 p.1
- Technical evaluation (max 100 points) includes key personnel (site agent, surveyor, foreman, max 20), plant and equipment (max 10), work methodology (max 25), work safety (max 10) and experience (max 15), plus history of non-performance (max 5). Financial capability is scored separately (max 15). D2 p.31
- Minimum score: bidders scoring 70% and above are responsive and proceed to financial evaluation. D2 p.34
Financial
- Financial statements for the last two years must be certified by a reputable audit firm or auditor. D2 p.33
- Bank statements from a reputable bank for the last six months, with contact information available. D2 p.33
- Average turnover figures for the last two years must be provided (scored item); an undertaking from the bank providing the current line of credit specific to the tender is also scored (5 marks). D2 p.33
- Experience: general experience with minimum value KShs 2,000,000 (attach letters of award and completion certificates, at least 2 per project for last 4 years); participation in a similar contract with minimum value KShs 2,000,000 in the last 4 years is also scored. D2 p.33
How and where to submit
- Complete tender documents must be submitted through the IFMIS Supplier Portal. Manual submissions will not be accepted. D1 p.8
- All complete tender documents should be uploaded in PDF format. D1 p.8
- Tender must be in one original marked ORIGINAL plus copies marked COPY in the number stated in the TDS. The TDS number of copies is not stated in the material reviewed. Standard rule D2 p.18
Lots and categories
- No lots: this is a single tender for one road. D2 p.7
What the addenda changed
- No addenda were included in the material reviewed. Check the county website for addenda and clarifications before the deadline. Not stated D1 p.8
Points to confirm with the procuring entity
The documents do not agree with each other on these points. Ask the procuring entity for a written clarification before you submit.
- Deadline for requesting clarifications: The TDS sets clarification requests to reach the Procuring Entity not later than 13/11/2026, which is after the site visit. ITT 7.3 in the same TDS requires questions no later than three days before the 10/11/2026 pre-tender meeting (around 7/11/2026). Ask the procuring entity which date applies. (D2 TDS ITT 7.1 (not later than 13/11/2026) vs D2 TDS ITT 7.3 (three days before the meeting))
- IFMIS supplier portal address: The Invitation to Tender gives www.supplier.rteasury.go.ke, while the advert gives www.supplier.treasury.go.ke. Use the advert address and confirm with the procuring entity if unsure. (D2 p.7 vs D1 p.8)
Not covered in the documents we reviewed
- Contract value / estimated cost of the works is not stated in the pages reviewed.
- Number of copies of the tender required (TDS reference to ITT 20.1 not filled in).
- Performance security amount and form, and any other documents required in the TDS (ITT 48.1 says NA, but check the contract forms).
- Section IV tendering forms, Section V bills of quantities, Section VI specifications and Section VII drawings were not reviewed.
- Section IX Special Conditions of Contract and Section X Contract Forms were not reviewed.
- Any addenda or clarifications issued after the documents were published.
- Procuring entity's response to clarifications, and how bid validity is handled in any extension request.
- Notice of Intention to Award procedure and complaints timeline.
Terms explained
- Tender Data Sheet (TDS)
- The section of the tender document that sets the tender-specific values (dates, bid security, site visit details) and overrides the general Instructions to Tenderers.
- Bid security / tender security
- Money or a guarantee the bidder pays to show it is serious. It is lost if the bidder withdraws during validity or fails to sign the contract.
- Tender-Securing Declaration
- A signed declaration instead of cash or guarantee; used for special-category groups, not for this open tender.
- NCA
- National Construction Authority. Contractors must be registered for road works in the stated category (here NCA 8 and above) with an annual practising licence.
- CR 12
- Company Registry return listing directors and shareholders, which must be recent (within 6 months).
- IFMIS
- Integrated Financial Management Information System. Electronic procurement platform through which tenders must be submitted.
- PPRA
- Public Procurement Regulatory Authority, which approves banks and insurers that may issue bid security.
- Responsive / non-responsive
- A tender that meets all mandatory requirements is responsive. A non-responsive tender is rejected without evaluation.
- AGPO
- Access to Government Procurement Opportunities for youth, women and persons with disabilities. Not applicable to this open tender.
- Preliminary / mandatory evaluation
- Pass/fail checks on documents and site visit attendance before technical and financial scoring.
- Joint Venture (JV)
- Two or more firms bidding together; requires a JV agreement or letter of intent.
- Addendum
- A written change or clarification to the tender documents issued before the deadline. It overrides earlier documents.
- Canvassing
- Lobbying or improperly influencing officials during the tender process; leads to disqualification.