Proposed completion of Ronald Ngala ECD Centre, Mombasa - tender CGM/E/PRO/T/7/2026-2027
Official title: PROPOSED COMPLETION OF RONALD NGALA ECD CENTRE
- Closing
- Thu 12 Nov 2026, 10:00 am EAT
- Tender number
- CGM/E/PRO/T/7/2026-2027
- Procuring entity
- Mombasa County Government
- Category
- Works · Open Tender
- County
- Mombasa
Official documents take precedence. NairobiCity is an independent information service, not the procuring entity or a government body. This summary was prepared from the official documents with AI assistance; every requirement was matched to the document wording, but it can still contain mistakes. Before you apply, read the official tender documents and any addenda.
What is being bought
Mombasa County Government requests sealed tenders for the proposed completion of Ronald Ngala ECD Centre (construction works, open national tender). The tender document is in Mombasa; the works site is the Ronald Ngala ECD Centre. The bill of quantities and specifications were not fully reviewed.
What could disqualify you
- Tenders received after the deadline are rejected and returned unopened. D2 p.7
- Electronic tenders are not permitted under the invitation. D2 p.7
- Canvassing or lobbying for the tender leads to automatic disqualification. D1 p.1
- If a tenderer fails to submit the information required for ownership and conflict of interest checks, its tender will be rejected. Standard rule D2 p.17
- Tenders that fail the preliminary examination (eligibility, completeness and mandatory requirements) are treated as non-responsive and not evaluated further. D2 p.31
- Tenders quoted in currencies other than Kenya Shillings are determined non-responsive and rejected. Standard rule D2 p.24
- Failing to deliver the required performance bond within the specified period automatically disqualifies the bidder. D2 p.116
- No site visit certificate means the tender fails the mandatory preliminary requirement (item 22), so it would not proceed to technical evaluation. D2 p.33
Key facts
- Closing
-
Thu 12 Nov 2026, 10:00 am
Closing (submission deadline) after addendum extension: 12 November 2026 at 10:00. Unverified D3 p.1 - Bid / tender security
- Tender security of KES 100,000 in the form of a Banker's guarantee (or insurance guarantee, microfinance, Sacco, YEDF or WEF guarantee) valid 140 days from tender opening. The mandatory table says KES 500,000. Conflict; ask before submitting. Conflicting D2 p.29
- Tender fee
- Tender documents may be obtained electronically from PPIP (www.tenders.go.ke) or the county website free of charge. D2 p.7
- Site visit
-
Mandatory
Pre-arranged pre-tender site visit at Ronald Ngala ECD Centre. The TDS sets it, but ITT 7.1 says visits are encouraged. The evaluation requires a site visit certificate, so treat it as compulsory. Sources disagree. Conflicting D2 p.28 - Pre-bid meeting
-
Optional
Pre-tender conference, optional for bidders; non-attendance does not disqualify. Place: Department of Education and Vocational Training boardroom, Bima Towers, tenth floor. D2 p.28 - Reserved for
- No reservation: the invitation is open to all tenderers. Reservation to specific groups is marked N/A in the TDS and no portal reservation is listed. D2 p.30
- Contract value
- Not stated in the documents we reviewed Not stated P
- Tender opening
- Tender opening at Finance Boardroom, County Assembly Hall 2nd Floor, Mombasa, immediately after the deadline. Tenderers' representatives may attend. Unverified D2 p.30
- Tender validity
- Tender validity is 140 days per TDS and invitation (from opening). The advert says 180 days from closing. Sources disagree; ask the entity. Conflicting D2 p.29
Who can apply
- Tendering is open to all qualified and interested tenderers under an open national competitive method. D2 p.7
- A joint venture (JV) is treated as a foreign tenderer if any member firm is not registered in Kenya, or is registered in Kenya but has less than 51 percent Kenyan ownership. A JV may not subcontract more than 10 percent of the contract price to foreign firms. Conditional: applies only if bidding as a JV. Standard rule D2 p.13
- Maximum number of JV members is stated as NONE in the TDS. Conditional on bidding as a JV. D2 p.28
- A National Construction Authority (NCA) registration certificate is needed before contract award and signature, not to tender. Selected tenderers may register before award. Some evaluation items separately require a current NCA certificate. Standard rule D2 p.13
Application checklist
Tick items off as you prepare. Your ticks stay on this device only.
Required from every bidder
- D2 p.32
- D2 p.32
- D2 p.32
- D2 p.32
- D2 p.32
- D2 p.32
- D2 p.32
- D2 p.32
- D2 p.32
- D2 p.32
- D2 p.32
- D2 p.33
- D2 p.33
- D2 p.33
- D2 p.33
Required only in some situations
Experience, licences and financial capacity
Technical
- Experience in similar construction works of minimum value KES 10,000,000 each for at least five completed or ongoing similar jobs (2021 to current). Ongoing jobs must be at least 80 percent complete. Attach award or contract, completion certificate, and interim payment certificates. Scored 20 marks. D2 p.33
- Proposed equipment: pickup (2 tonne) 1 unit, backhoe (1.2m3) 1 unit, diesel generator (200kVA) 1 unit, concrete mixer 1 unit, tipper trucks 2 units. Owned or leased equipment scores 5 marks each; undertaking to hire scores 2 marks each. Proof of ownership or lease needed. Scored 25 marks. D2 p.33
- Key personnel: Project Manager (registered with EBK as Professional Engineer or BORAQS with valid practicing licence - mandatory; 10 years experience), Site Agent (7 years), Site Foreman (5 years, diploma), Artisans (trade test), OHS personnel (certificate and 3 years). Scored 30 marks in total. D2 p.34
- Proposed programme (methodology and work plan) for the whole works, scored 10 marks; environmental and social compliance with an Environmental and Social Management Plan, scored 5 marks. D2 p.34
- Minimum technical score of 80 marks is needed before financial evaluation. Total technical marks: 100. D2 p.33
Financial
- Audited financial ratios (average of three years): liquidity CA/CL above 2 (4 marks), gearing not more than 20 percent (3 marks), profitability 20 percent and above (3 marks). Zero marks if not met. Scored 10 marks. D2 p.34
- Tender security KES 100,000 is in the TDS, but the mandatory preliminary table requires an original tender security of KES 500,000 valid 140 days beyond tender validity. Sources disagree; ask the procuring entity. Conflicting D2 p.32
- Performance security: TDS says 10 percent of the contract price is required on accepting award. Bills of quantities say a 5 percent performance bond. Conflict between sources. Conflicting D2 p.29
How and where to submit
- Tenders are physical sealed submissions only. Electronic tenders are not permitted. Place sealed envelopes marked with tender name, number and description in the tender box at County Assembly Hall ground floor, next to the main office, Treasury Square, Mombasa. D1 p.1
- Address for submission: The County Secretary, County Government of Mombasa. The invitation gives P.O. Box 80133-80100 and the TDS gives P.O. Box 90440-80100. Ask which address is correct before delivery. Conflicting D2 p.29
- Tenders must be delivered before the deadline. Late tenders will be rejected and returned unopened. D2 p.7
Lots and categories
- No lots identified in the reviewed material. Not stated P
What the addenda changed
- Addendum dated 2 November 2026 extends the opening from Tuesday 3 November 2026 at 10:00 to Thursday 12 November 2026 at 10:00. All other conditions remain the same. D3 p.1
Points to confirm with the procuring entity
The documents do not agree with each other on these points. Ask the procuring entity for a written clarification before you submit.
- Tender security amount: TDS and invitation say KES 100,000 Banker's guarantee valid 140 days from opening. Mandatory preliminary requirement 12 says Original Tender Security KES 500,000 valid 140 days beyond tender validity. (D2 p.29; D2 p.7; D2 p.32)
- Performance security: TDS says 10 percent of contract price; Bills of Quantities say 5 percent performance bond valid to completion. (D2 p.29; D2 p.116)
- Tender validity: TDS and invitation say 140 days; newspaper advert says 180 days from closing date. (D2 p.29; D2 p.7; D1 p.1)
- Site visit compulsory or optional: TDS sets a pre-arranged site visit and mandatory item 22 needs a site visit certificate; ITT 7.1 says visiting is encouraged. (D2 p.28; D2 p.33; D2 p.7)
- Postal address: Invitation gives P.O. Box 80133-80100; TDS gives P.O. Box 90440-80100. (D2 p.7; D2 p.29)
Not covered in the documents we reviewed
- Contract value or budget for the works
- Bills of quantities, drawings and specifications (Parts 2 volumes) were not fully reviewed
- Full Section III evaluation forms and Section IV tender forms beyond selected pages
- Full text of ITT pages not provided (for example ITT 5 to 19 in full)
- Confirmation of the correct postal address and the correct tender security amount
- Whether the TDS line 'Tenderers shall shall not submit tenders electronically' allows electronic submission
- Pre-bid and site visit minutes or certificate procedure
- Full Qualification Form Summary and FIN/EXP forms
Terms explained
- TDS
- Tender Data Sheet: tender-specific values that override the general Instructions to Tenderers.
- Tender security
- Guarantee submitted with the bid to protect the buyer if the bidder withdraws or fails to sign.
- Performance security/bond
- Guarantee provided after award, covering performance of the contract.
- AGPO
- Affirmative action group reservation for youth, women and persons with disability; here none applies.
- Responsive
- A bid that meets all mandatory requirements and is complete; non-responsive bids are rejected.
- Addendum
- Official change to the tender documents, which overrides earlier documents.
- NCA
- National Construction Authority registration category required for construction contractors.
- JV
- Joint venture: two or more firms bidding together.
- Power of Attorney
- Written authority for a person to sign the tender for the company.