Black Friday Ulikuwa unangoja ishuke. Imeshuka. starts in is live - ends in See early deals Shop the deals
Black Friday starts Fri 27 Nov 2026, 00:00. Black Friday is live until Mon 30 Nov 2026, 23:59.
Open

Periodic maintenance of Wenyila Lugulu Road, Matulo Ward, Bungoma (Tender 013/2026/2027)

Official title: PERIODIC MAINTENANCE OF WENYILA LUGULU ROAD IN MATULO WARD

Closing
Tue 17 Nov 2026, 11:00 am EAT
Tender number
BGM/CNTY/RPW/CEF/OT/ 013/2026/2027 NEGOTIATION NUMBER:2657020
Procuring entity
Bungoma County Government
Categoria
Works · Open Tender
County
Bungoma

Official documents take precedence. NairobiCity is an independent information service, not the procuring entity or a government body. This summary was prepared from the official documents with AI assistance; every requirement was matched to the document wording, but it can still contain mistakes. Before you apply, read the official tender documents and any addenda.

What is being bought

Periodic maintenance works on Wenyila Lugulu Road in Matulo Ward, Bungoma County, about 3.1 km long according to the advert schedule. The advert and TDS list this lot as reserved for women (WOMEN), but the portal record shows no reserved group, so eligibility must be confirmed with the procuring entity.

What could disqualify you

  • Bidders with stalled projects participating in this tender shall be disqualified. D1 p.8
  • Any form of canvassing leads to disqualification. D1 p.8
  • Tenderers who do not satisfy any preliminary examination requirement are non-responsive and their tenders will not be evaluated further. D2 p.31
  • A tender not accompanied by a substantially responsive tender security or tender-securing declaration is rejected as non-responsive. Standard rule D2 p.17
  • If a tenderer fails to submit required information, or the information cannot be verified, the tender is rejected. Standard rule D2 p.17
  • Bidders scoring below 70% in the technical evaluation (total 100) are not considered responsive and do not proceed to financial evaluation. D2 p.34

Key facts

Closing
Tue 17 Nov 2026, 11:00 am
Tender must be received on the IFMIS Supplier Portal by this date and time. Portal record shows 2026-11-17 11:00:00. D1 p.1
Bid / tender security
Not stated in the documents we reviewed Not stated D1 p.7
Tender fee
No tender fee is stated. Tender documents may be downloaded free of charge. D1 p.1
Site visit
Obbligatorio
Mandatory pre-tender site visit at the Department of Roads, Infrastructure and Public Works Boardroom. Attendance certificate issued. Non-attendance is treated as not satisfying the preliminary requirements. D2 p.8
Pre-bid meeting
Obbligatorio
Mandatory pre-tender meeting (pre-bid conference) at the Department Boardroom on the same date and time as the site visit, according to the TDS. D2 p.26
Reserved for
Reserved for women enterprises (WOMEN) per TDS ITT 33.4 and advert schedule. The portal record lists no reserved group and the invitation says tendering is open to all qualified tenderers. Conflicting D2 p.28
Contract value
Not stated in the documents we reviewed Not stated D2
Tender opening
Bids are opened immediately after the closing deadline at the Ministry of Roads, Infrastructure and Public Works Conference Hall. Bidders or representatives may attend. D1 p.8
Tender validity
Tenders remain valid for 120 days from the closing date. Any tender security must be extended for 30 days beyond any extended validity if the entity asks for an extension. D2 p.7

Who can apply

  • Bidders must hold a valid National Construction Authority (NCA) registration certificate for road works in NCA 8 and above, with a valid annual practicing licence. D2 p.8
  • TDS states the invitation is extended to women enterprises only (reservation under ITT 33.4). Bidders need a valid AGPO certificate for women. This conflicts with the open invitation text and the portal record (see conflicts). Conflicting D2 p.28

Application checklist

Tick items off as you prepare. Your ticks stay on this device only.

Required from every bidder

  • D2 p.8
  • D2 p.8
  • D2 p.8
  • D2 p.8
  • D2 p.8
  • D2 p.8
  • D2 p.8
  • D2 p.8
  • D2 p.8
  • D2 p.8
  • D2 p.8
  • D2 p.8
  • D2 p.31

Experience, licences and financial capacity

Technical

  • Every bidder must be represented at the mandatory site visit or pre-bid conference by one technical person with a minimum Diploma in Civil or Highway Engineering. D1 p.1
  • The site visit representative must bring original ID or passport plus certified copies, a certified diploma or degree, certified EBK/KETRB/IET registration with proof of current subscription, and an original signed introductory letter on company letterhead with official stamp. Copies must be certified by a Commissioner of Oaths or Notary Public, and documents are retained by the procuring entity. One person may represent only one company per tender. D1 p.7
  • Key personnel scores up to 20 marks: site agent (degree, HND or diploma in civil or water engineering, plus experience), surveyor (diploma or certificate in survey) and foreman (diploma or certificate in civil engineering). D2 p.31
  • Plant and equipment scores up to 10 marks (tipper, water bowser, vibrator, pick-up, concrete mixer, each leased or owned). D2 p.32
  • Work methodology scores up to 25 marks: signed work programme chart and cash flow estimate (0-15) and detailed method statement (0-10). D2 p.33
  • Work safety management scores up to 10 marks for proposals on workers' safety and accident prevention. D2 p.33

Financial

  • Financial capability scores up to 15 marks: audited statements for last two years, bank statements from a reputable bank for last six months, audited financial ratios, average turnover for last two years, and a bank undertaking for a line of credit specific to the tender. D2 p.33
  • Provide average turnover figures for the last two years (3 marks). D2 p.33
  • Provide an undertaking from the bank providing a current line of credit specific to the tender (5 marks). D2 p.33
  • Experience scores up to 15 marks: general experience with a minimum value of KShs 2,000,000 with at least two completion certificates per project for the last 4 years, and similar-nature contract(s) with a minimum value of KShs 2,000,000 in the last 4 years. D2 p.34

How and where to submit

  • Tenders must be submitted electronically through the IFMIS Supplier Portal. Manual submissions are not accepted. D1 p.1
  • Complete tender documents must be submitted through the IFMIS Supplier Portal at www.supplier.treasury.go.ke. Uploads must be PDF. D1 p.8
  • All complete tender documents should be uploaded in PDF format. D1 p.8
  • Tender must be one original marked ORIGINAL plus copies marked COPY. The number of copies is specified in the TDS, but the TDS does not state a number. D2 p.18
  • Prices must be inclusive of all taxes, in Kenya shillings, and valid for 120 days from the closing date. D2 p.7
  • Written clarification requests go to the procuring entity's Department of Roads, P.O. Box 437-50200 Bungoma, by the date in the TDS. The TDS gives 13/11/2026, which is after the site visit, while ITT 7.3 says questions must reach the entity three days before the meeting. This is unresolved and should be checked with the entity. Conflicting D2 p.26

Points to confirm with the procuring entity

The documents do not agree with each other on these points. Ask the procuring entity for a written clarification before you submit.

  • Reserved group (women) vs open tender: Advert schedule and TDS ITT 33.4 reserve this tender to WOMEN. The portal record shows no reserved group, and the invitation text (item 2) says tendering is open to all qualified tenderers. Confirm with the procuring entity who may bid. (D1 p.2; D2 p.7; D2 p.28; P)
  • Clarification request deadline: TDS ITT 7.1 gives 13/11/2026, which is after the 10/11/2026 site visit. ITT 7.3 in the TDS says questions must reach the entity three days before the meeting. (D2 p.26)
  • Contract reference year: TDS ITT 1.1 gives the contract reference as NEGOTIATION NO. 2657020-2025/2026. Other pages give 2657020-2026/2027. (D2 p.26; D2 p.1; D2 p.7; P)

Not covered in the documents we reviewed

  • Addenda (A1, A2 ...) were not provided, so later changes to dates, requirements or the reserved status cannot be checked.
  • Bid security amount, currency and form for this tender are not stated in the reviewed TDS pages.
  • Contract value or engineer's estimate is not stated.
  • Number of copies required (ITT 20.1 refers to the TDS).
  • Sealing and marking details (ITT 21.1 continuation), and the exact submission deadline clauses (ITT 22) were not reviewed.
  • Bill of quantities (Section V), specifications (Section VI), drawings (Section VII) and general and special conditions (Sections VIII-X) were not reviewed.
  • Performance security requirements (ITT 48.1 says NA, but full terms were not reviewed).
  • Joint venture rules beyond ITT 11.2 and any JV evaluation rules were not reviewed.
  • Tender form templates in Section IV beyond the preliminary examination and evaluation forms.
  • Confirmation of whether this lot is reserved for women, given the portal record shows none.
  • Clarification deadline conflict must be confirmed with the procuring entity.

Terms explained

TDS (Tender Data Sheet)
Section II of the tender document that sets this tender's specific values, such as dates, reservations and security requirements. It overrides the general Instructions to Tenderers.
AGPO
Access to Government Procurement Opportunities. A registration certificate for youth, women or persons with disability enterprises that gives access to reserved tenders.
NCA
National Construction Authority. Contractors need a registration certificate in the right category (here NCA 8 and above) to do road works in Kenya.
CR12
A Companies Registry return listing company directors and shareholders. Here it must be recent (within 6 months).
IFMIS Supplier Portal
The electronic government system through which this tender must be submitted. Manual submissions are not accepted.
Tender security / tender-securing declaration
Financial protection given with a bid. A tender-securing declaration is a signed commitment instead of a bank or insurance guarantee and is used for special categories.
Responsive / non-responsive
A tender that meets all mandatory requirements is responsive. A tender that does not is non-responsive and is rejected before evaluation.
PPRA
Public Procurement Regulatory Authority. It approves bid security providers and handles procurement complaints.
JV (Joint Venture)
Two or more firms bidding together. The TDS sets maximum members at NA, and the JV rules were not reviewed in detail.
BOQ (Bills of Quantities)
A priced list of work items that the bidder must fill in, sign and stamp.
Preliminary examination
The first check of documents. Failing any item means the tender is non-responsive.
Nairobi City https://nairobicity.co.ke