Black Friday Ulikuwa unangoja ishuke. Imeshuka. starts in is live - ends in See early deals Shop the deals
Black Friday starts Fri 27 Nov 2026, 00:00. Black Friday is live until Mon 30 Nov 2026, 23:59.
Open

Periodic maintenance of Maila-Mufunje Road, Sitikho Ward, Bungoma County (Tender 014/2026-2027)

Official title: PERIODIC MAINTENANCE OF MAILA-MUFUNJE ROAD IN SITIKHO WARD

Closing
Tue 17 Nov 2026, 11:00 am EAT
Tender number
BGM/CNTY/RPW/CEF/OT/ 014/2026/2027. NEGOTIATION NUMBER:2657019
Procuring entity
Bungoma County Government
Κατηγορία
Works · Open Tender
County
Bungoma

Official documents take precedence. NairobiCity is an independent information service, not the procuring entity or a government body. This summary was prepared from the official documents with AI assistance; every requirement was matched to the document wording, but it can still contain mistakes. Before you apply, read the official tender documents and any addenda.

What is being bought

Periodic maintenance of Maila-Mufunje Road in Sitikho Ward, Bungoma County, listed as 3.0 km long in the tender schedule. It is an open national tender for road works contractors registered with NCA category 8 and above, submitted electronically through the IFMIS Supplier Portal.

What could disqualify you

  • Bidders with stalled projects participating in this tender shall be disqualified. D1 p.8
  • Any form of canvassing leads to disqualification. D1 p.8
  • Tenderers who do not satisfy any of the preliminary mandatory requirements are non-responsive and their tenders will not be evaluated further. D2 p.31
  • A tender not accompanied by a substantially responsive tender security or tender-securing declaration is rejected as non-responsive. Standard rule D2 p.17
  • Manual (paper) submissions are not accepted; all tenders must be submitted through the IFMIS platform. D1 p.1
  • Failure to attend the mandatory site visit and obtain a site visit certificate is a preliminary failure (attach the certificate). Note the conflict with ITT 7.5 on this point. D2 p.31

Key facts

Closing
Tue 17 Nov 2026, 11:00 am
Tender closing: submission deadline on IFMIS portal. Current date and time after all addenda (none provided). D1 p.1
Bid / tender security
Bid security of Ksh.106,000 from a reputable bank, financial institution or insurance company approved by PPRA. It must be a demand guarantee in cash, bank guarantee, or guarantee from an insurance company or CBK-licensed institution, and valid 30 days beyond the tender validity period (standard ITT 19.3). D2 p.27
Tender fee
Tender documents may be downloaded free of charge from the County website or tenders.go.ke using the IFMIS negotiation number. No purchase fee is stated. D1 p.1
Site visit
Υποχρεωτικό
Mandatory pre-tender site visit and pre-bid conference at the Department of Roads, Infrastructure and Public Works boardroom. A site visit certificate is issued as evidence of attendance. D2 p.8
Pre-bid meeting
Υποχρεωτικό
Pre-tender meeting at the boardroom, same date and time as the site visit. Questions must reach the procuring entity in writing at least three days before the meeting (ITT 7.3). D2 p.26
Reserved for
Not reserved. The invitation is extended to all eligible tenderers; no youth, women, PWD or AGPO reservation applies. D2 p.28
Contract value
Not stated in the documents we reviewed Not stated D2
Tender opening
Tenders are opened immediately after the closing time. Venue conflicts between sources (see conflicts). Conflicting D2 p.27
Tender validity
Tenders remain valid for 120 days from the closing date. A request to extend validity, if made, extends the tender security by 30 days beyond the extended validity period. D2 p.7

Who can apply

  • Open national competitive tender; open to all qualified and interested tenderers. Not reserved to any group. D2 p.7
  • Tender schedule lists this road as eligible for NCA category 8 and above contractors. D1 p.2
  • Foreign tenderers must source at least 40% of contract inputs from citizen suppliers and contractors, or be automatically disqualified. A foreign tenderer is one registered in Kenya with under 51% Kenyan ownership, or one subcontracting more than 10% of the contract price to foreign firms. JV rules apply to member firms. Standard rule D2 p.12

Application checklist

Tick items off as you prepare. Your ticks stay on this device only.

Required from every bidder

  • D2 p.8
  • D2 p.8
  • D2 p.8
  • Conflicting D2 p.8
  • D2 p.8
  • D2 p.8
  • D2 p.8
  • D2 p.8
  • D2 p.8
  • D2 p.8
  • D2 p.8
  • D2 p.27

Required only in some situations

  • D1 p.7
  • Standard rule D2 p.14

Experience, licences and financial capacity

Technical

  • Preliminary requirement 4 and schedule show NCA 8 and above road works registration with annual practicing licence. Maximum JV members: NA. D2 p.27
  • Technical evaluation includes key personnel (site agent, surveyor, foreman with qualifications and experience scores, max 20 points), plant and equipment (max 10 points: tipper, water bowser, vibrator, pick-up, concrete mixer, leased or owned), work methodology (max 25 points including work programme and method statement) and work safety (max 10 points). Maximum technical score 100 points overall. D2 p.32
  • Bidder scoring 70% and above is responsive and proceeds to financial evaluation. D2 p.34

Financial

  • Financial capability (max 15 points): audited financial statements for last two years; bank statements from a reputable bank for last six months; computed financial ratios from latest audited accounts; average turnover for last two years; undertaking from the bank providing a current line of credit specific to this tender. D2 p.33
  • Experience (max 15 points): general experience with minimum value KShs 2,000,000 (at least 2 award and completion certificates per project for last 4 years); similar contract of minimum KShs 2,000,000 in last 4 years. D2 p.34

How and where to submit

  • Submit electronically through the IFMIS Supplier Portal only. Upload complete tender documents in PDF format. D1 p.8
  • Electronic submission via IFMIS Supplier Portal; tenderer is not required to submit extra hard copies (number of copies: None). D2 p.27
  • Alternative tenders and alternative completion times are not considered or permitted. D2 p.27

Points to confirm with the procuring entity

The documents do not agree with each other on these points. Ask the procuring entity for a written clarification before you submit.

  • Negotiation number: The Tender Data Sheet gives negotiation number 2657019-2025/2026, while the advert, portal record and invitation use 2657019-2026/2027. (D2 TDS ITT 1.1 (p.26) vs D1 p.2 and D2 p.7 and P)
  • Clarification request deadline: TDS sets clarification requests by 13/11/2026, which is after the pre-tender meeting on 10/11/2026. ITT 7.3 requires questions three days before the meeting. Confirm the deadline with the procuring entity. (D2 TDS ITT 7.1 (p.26) vs D2 TDS ITT 7.3 (p.26))
  • Bid opening venue: Advert says bids are opened at the Ministry of Roads Conference Hall. TDS ITT 25.1 says Kanduyi boardroom. Electronic submission means the venue matters only for attendance. (D1 p.8 vs D2 TDS ITT 25.1 (p.27))
  • NCA registration timing: ITT 3.12 says NCA registration is not a condition for tender but only for contract award. Preliminary requirement 4 and the advert require a valid NCA certificate with the bid. Ask whether it must be submitted with the tender. (D2 ITT 3.12 (p.12) vs D2 p.8, D2 p.31 and D1 p.7)
  • Site visit attendance: Preliminary requirement 12 makes the site visit mandatory with a certificate. ITT 7.5 says non-attendance will not be a cause for disqualification. Ask the procuring entity which applies. (D2 p.31 vs D2 ITT 7.5 (p.14))

Not covered in the documents we reviewed

  • No addenda [A1] or later changes were provided; check the County website before submission.
  • Part 2 works requirements (BOQ, specifications, drawings) and Section IV tender forms were not reviewed.
  • Full evaluation and qualification criteria pages, financial evaluation stage and price adjustment rules were not reviewed.
  • Performance security and contract forms were not reviewed.
  • Procuring entity contact details for clarifications, including the roadsbgmcounty email, should be checked against the TDS.
  • Opening venue and clarification deadline need confirmation from the procuring entity.

Terms explained

TDS
Tender Data Sheet: the tender-specific values (dates, bid security, validity) that override the general Instructions to Tenderers.
ITT
Instructions to Tenderers: standard rules in the tender document on how to prepare and submit a bid.
Bid security
Money or guarantee submitted with the tender to show commitment; lost if the bidder withdraws. Here Ksh.106,000.
Tender-Securing Declaration
A signed declaration used instead of bid security where the tender allows it, mainly for special categories.
PPRA
Public Procurement Regulatory Authority, which approves the institutions that may issue bid security.
NCA
National Construction Authority; registration category (here NCA 8 and above) shows the size of works a contractor may undertake.
CR12
Company return form listing directors and shareholders, issued by the Registrar of Companies; must be recent.
IFMIS
Integrated Financial Management Information System; the government supplier portal used for electronic submission.
Responsive / non-responsive
Responsive means the bid meets all mandatory requirements; non-responsive bids are rejected without evaluation.
Negotiation number
Unique IFMIS reference used to download documents and identify the tender on the portal.
JV
Joint venture: two or more firms bidding together under a joint agreement.
Power of Attorney
Document giving a named person authority to sign and bind the company to this bid.
Lowest Evaluated Tender
The responsive tender with the lowest evaluated price, selected for award after qualification.
Addendum
Official amendment to the tender documents that overrides earlier terms.
Nairobi City https://nairobicity.co.ke