Periodic maintenance of Masibo Road in Sitikho Ward, Bungoma County (Tender BGM/CNTY/RPW/CEF/OT/015/2026-2027)
Official title: PERIODIC MAINTENANCE OF MASIBO ROAD IN SITIKHO WARD
- Closing
- Tue 17 Nov 2026, 11:00 am EAT
- Tender number
- BGM/CNTY/RPW/CEF/OT/ 015/2026/2027. NEGOTIATION NUMBER:2657018
- Procuring entity
- Bungoma County Government
- Categoria
- Works · Open Tender
- County
- Bungoma
Official documents take precedence. NairobiCity is an independent information service, not the procuring entity or a government body. This summary was prepared from the official documents with AI assistance; every requirement was matched to the document wording, but it can still contain mistakes. Before you apply, read the official tender documents and any addenda.
What is being bought
Periodic maintenance works on Masibo Road in Sitikho Ward, Bungoma County, about 1.2 km per the advert's detailed schedule. The advert and TDS reserve this tender for PWDs, but the portal record lists no reserved group, which is recorded as a conflict. Bidders must submit electronically through the IFMIS Supplier Portal.
What could disqualify you
- Bidders with stalled projects under other contracts are disqualified. D1 p.8
- Any form of canvassing leads to disqualification. D1 p.8
- A tender that fails any preliminary/mandatory requirement, including a missing site visit certificate, is considered non-responsive and is not evaluated further. D2 p.31
- A tender not accompanied by a substantially responsive Tender-Securing Declaration or Tender Security is rejected as non-responsive. D2 p.17
- Tenders scoring below 70% in the technical evaluation are not considered responsive and do not proceed to financial evaluation. D2 p.33
- Manual (paper) submissions are not accepted and tenders must be submitted through the IFMIS platform. D1 p.8
Key facts
- Closing
-
Tue 17 Nov 2026, 11:00 am
Tenders must be received through the IFMIS Supplier Portal on Tuesday 17 November 2026 at 11:00 AM local time. No addenda were supplied, so this is the current closing time. D2 p.27 - Bid / tender security
- The TDS requires a Tender-Securing Declaration (a signed declaration on the Section IV form), not a bank guarantee. No cash or bank security amount is stated in the material reviewed. The advert's mandatory list separately asks for bank or insurance bid security (see conflicts). Conflicting D2 p.27
- Tender fee
- Not stated in the documents we reviewed Not stated D1 p.1
- Site visit
-
Obrigatório
Mandatory pre-tender site visit on Tuesday 10 November 2026 at 10:00 am at the Department of Roads boardroom. A site visit certificate is issued as evidence of attendance, and missing it leads to non-responsiveness. D2 p.26 - Pre-bid meeting
-
Obrigatório
Pre-tender meeting on 10 November 2026 at 10:00am in the boardroom, held alongside the mandatory site visit. Questions must reach the procuring entity in writing no later than three days before the meeting, per ITT 7.3. D2 p.26 - Reserved for
- Reserved for PWDs (persons living with disability) under ITT 33.4 and the advert schedule. Bidders must hold a valid AGPO registration for PWDs. The portal record lists no reserved group, which is a conflict. Conflicting D2 p.28
- Contract value
- Not stated in the documents we reviewed Not stated D2 p.26
- Tender opening
- Tenders are opened immediately after the closing time, in the presence of bidders' representatives who choose to attend. The TDS gives the venue as the Kanduyi boardroom, while the advert names the Ministry conference hall (see conflicts). D1 p.8
- Tender validity
- Tenders remain valid for 120 days from the closing date. Any tender valid for a shorter period is rejected as non-responsive. If the entity asks for an extension, the tender security (if any) must also be extended 30 days beyond the extended validity. D2 p.7
Who can apply
- Bidders must be registered with the National Construction Authority for road works at NCA 8 and above, with a valid annual practicing licence. D2 p.8
- Because this tender is reserved for PWDs, the bidder must be a PWD-owned business holding a valid AGPO registration certificate for PWDs (see mandatory documents). D2 p.28
Application checklist
Tick items off as you prepare. Your ticks stay on this device only.
Required from every bidder
Required only in some situations
Experience, licences and financial capacity
Technical
- Every bidder must send one technical representative to the site visit with a minimum qualification of a Diploma in Civil or Highway Engineering. D1 p.1
- The representative must bring original ID or passport plus certified copies, certified diploma or degree, and certified EBK/KETRB/IET registration with proof of current subscription. Certified copies must be certified by a Commissioner of Oaths or Notary Public, and are retained by the entity. D1 p.7
- The representative needs an original introductory letter on company letterhead, with an official stamp and signature, authorising them to attend. Photocopies are not accepted. One person may represent only one company per tender. D1 p.7
- Technical evaluation (max 100 points): key personnel (site agent, surveyor, foreman), plant and equipment, work methodology including a signed work programme chart and cash flow estimate, work safety management, and experience. D2 p.33
Financial
- Prices must be inclusive of all taxes and in Kenya shillings. They remain valid for 120 days from the closing date. D2 p.7
- Financial capability (max 15 points): certified audited financial statements for the last two years, bank statements from a reputable bank for the last six months, and computed financial ratios from the latest audited accounts. D2 p.33
- Provide average turnover figures for the last two years, and an undertaking from the bank providing a current line of credit specific to this tender (5 points). D2 p.33
- Experience: general experience with a minimum value of KShs 2,000,000, with at least two award and completion certificates for each project in the last four years, plus similar-contract experience of at least KShs 2,000,000 in the last four years. D2 p.33
How and where to submit
- Complete tenders must be submitted electronically through the IFMIS Supplier Portal, as PDF files. The portal URL in the document (www.supplier.rteasury.go.ke) contains a typo; the advert gives www.supplier.treasury.go.ke. D1 p.8
- Tenders are submitted electronically only. No extra paper copies are required, per ITT 20.1 (None). The submission address for the entity is Department of Roads, Infrastructure and Public Works, P.O. Box 437 Bungoma, Attn: Chief Officer. D2 p.27
- Clarification requests must be sent in writing to the procuring entity at P.O. Box 437-50200 Bungoma or roadsbgmcounty@gmail.com, no later than the period in the TDS (13/11/2026). The entity publishes responses at www.bungoma.go.ke/tender. D2 p.26
Points to confirm with the procuring entity
The documents do not agree with each other on these points. Ask the procuring entity for a written clarification before you submit.
- Reserved group: The advert schedule and the TDS (ITT 33.4) reserve this tender for PWDs, and the advert's mandatory list requires AGPO PWD registration. The portal record lists no reserved group, and the Invitation to Tender says tendering is open to all qualified tenderers. (D1 p.2; D2 p.7; D2 p.28; P)
- Bid security type: The advert's mandatory list requires a bid security from a bank or insurance company approved by PPRA. The TDS (ITT 19.1) requires only a Tender-Securing Declaration, and no amount is stated. (D1 p.7; D2 p.27)
- Clarification deadline: ITT 7.3 says questions must reach the entity no later than three days before the 10 November meeting (about 7 November). The TDS for ITT 7.1 gives 13/11/2026 for clarification requests. (D2 p.26; D2 p.26)
- Opening venue: The advert says bids are opened at the Ministry of Roads conference hall. The TDS (ITT 25.1) gives the Kanduyi boardroom. (D1 p.8; D2 p.27)
Not covered in the documents we reviewed
- Bid security amount, if any beyond the Tender-Securing Declaration
- Estimated contract value
- Any addenda (A1, A2...) and their changes; none were supplied
- Sections V to VII (bills of quantities, specifications, drawings) and Section IX special conditions
- Full technical scoring details and forms beyond the pages reviewed
- Performance security amount and conditions (only ITT 48.1 'NA' was seen)
- Notice of intention to award and complaint address detail beyond the TDS entry
- Confirmation of the reserved PWD status from the procuring entity
Terms explained
- TDS
- Tender Data Sheet, the tender-specific rules that supplement the Instructions to Tenderers.
- IFMIS
- Integrated Financial Management Information System, the government e-procurement platform used for submission here.
- Tender-Securing Declaration
- A signed promise, not cash or a bank guarantee, to honour the tender if awarded, used as bid security here.
- Responsive
- A tender that meets all mandatory requirements and conditions. A non-responsive tender is rejected without evaluation.
- AGPO
- Access to Government Procurement Opportunities, a registration for youth, women and PWD businesses that gives preference in certain tenders.
- NCA 8 and above
- National Construction Authority registration grade allowing road works contracts of that size.
- CR 12
- Company Registry return listing directors and shareholders, which must be recent (within six months).
- Power of Attorney
- Written authority letting the named person sign and bind the company to the tender.
- JV
- Joint Venture, where two or more firms bid together. The TDS states the maximum number of JV members is NA.