KPLC three-year framework agreement for supply of treated wooden poles (local manufacturers only) KP1/9A.3/OT/07/FA/26-27
Official title: THREE YEAR FRAMEWORK AGREEMENT FOR SUPPLY OF TREATED WOODEN POLES (LOCAL MANUFACTURERS ONLY)
- Closing
- Thu 19 Nov 2026, 10:00 am EAT
- Tender number
- KP1/9A.3/OT/07/FA/26-27
- Procuring entity
- Kenya Power & Lighting Company
- Categoria
- Goods · Framework Agreements
Official documents take precedence. NairobiCity is an independent information service, not the procuring entity or a government body. This summary was prepared from the official documents with AI assistance; every requirement was matched to the document wording, but it can still contain mistakes. Before you apply, read the official tender documents and any addenda.
What is being bought
Kenya Power & Lighting Company is inviting local manufacturers to supply treated eucalyptus wooden poles under a three-year closed framework agreement, with call-off orders placed later through mini-competitions. Quantities, lots and storage locations are in the Schedule of Requirements, which was not reviewed; the specification (D3) sets the technical standard for poles.
What could disqualify you
- Tender not accompanied by a substantially responsive tender security is rejected as non-responsive. D2 p.20
- Failure to meet any mandatory technical requirement in Table 1 means the tenderer fails preliminary technical evaluation and is not considered further. D2 p.42
- Tenders with unsatisfactory or unethical performance records, or with unresolved cases for more than two months in any contract, are not considered. D2 p.33
- Bidders with over 50% existing KPLC overdue orders will not proceed for further evaluation, where the cause is not attributed to KPLC. D2 p.41
- Deviations found during KPLC due diligence visits against the capacity declaration result in disqualification. D2 p.47
- Alternative offers are not acceptable; only main offers are considered. Contact with KPLC about tenders after closing (other than clarifications) may lead to disqualification. D2 p.148
- Letter of credit or tender security omitting required conditions is rejected; tender security must be issued by an accepted bank or microfinance and be sufficient. D2 p.73
Key facts
- Closing
-
Thu 19 Nov 2026, 10:00 am
Closing date and time: 19 November 2026 at 10:00 a.m. (Kenya time). Submission is electronic only via the KPLC SAP tendering portal; no addendum changes to this date were found in the reviewed material. P - Bid / tender security
- Kshs. 1,000,000.00 (Kenya Shillings One Million), valid 210 days, in form of bank guarantee or guarantee by deposit-taking microfinance institution or Sacco Society (TDS). Must remain valid at least 30 days beyond tender validity period. Forms allowed: cash, bank guarantee, insurance guarantee, letter of credit, microfinance/Sacco/YEDF/WEF guarantee. D2 p.35
- Tender fee
- Not stated in the documents we reviewed Not stated D2 p.5
- Site visit
- Not stated in the documents we reviewed Not stated P
- Pre-bid meeting
-
Optional
There will be no pre-bid meeting for this tender. D2 p.5 - Reserved for
- Not stated in the documents we reviewed Not stated P
- Contract value
- Not stated in the documents we reviewed Not stated P
- Tender opening
- Public opening through the KPLC tendering portal at Stima Plaza, Auditorium, Kolobot Road, Parklands, Nairobi. Bidders may attend in person or via representatives. Time follows the closing time. D2 p.36
- Tender validity
- Tender must remain valid for 180 days after tender opening (ITT 18 TDS); the invitation states prices valid 210 days from closing; the price/financial bid validity states 180 days from bid opening. A tender valid for a shorter period will be rejected. Conflicting D2 p.35
Who can apply
Application checklist
Tick items off as you prepare. Your ticks stay on this device only.
Required from every bidder
- D2 p.40
- D2 p.40
- D2 p.40
- D2 p.40
- D2 p.40
- D2 p.34
- D2 p.40
- D2 p.40
- D2 p.40
- D2 p.40
- D2 p.40
- D2 p.40
- D2 p.40
- D2 p.13
- D2 p.40
Required only in some situations
Experience, licences and financial capacity
Technical
- Only manufacturers with a fully operational wooden poles drying kiln in good working condition are eligible for stores requiring minimum 4000 pcs for 10m, 3000 pcs for 11m, 3000 pcs for 12m and 2000 pcs for 14m (minimum kiln capacity 200 pcs). Capacity declaration must state number of poles per charge and treated ready stock deliverable within two weeks of LPO. D2 p.37
- Technical requirements: Valid ISO 9001:2015 (for foreign goods) or valid KEBS Diamond Mark of Quality or Standardization Mark (for goods made in Kenya); type test reports not over five years old; full compliance with Guaranteed Technical Particulars; manufacturer's warranty in the tender format; financial statements within 18 months. D2 p.42
- Species: eucalyptus (Iron Bark, Spotted Gum, Tallow Wood, Blue Gum, Regnans saligna gum per KS 516 Table 1). Only trees of at least 15 years may be felled; full planting and felling dates must be submitted with tender as evidence of maturity. Unverified D3 p.8
- Seasoning: poles must be fully seasoned, average moisture at treatment not more than 25%, minimum 6 months air seasoning (kilns may enhance); documented seasoning evidence to be submitted to KPLC before tender evaluation. Unverified D3 p.9
- Preservative must be water-based copper-based ACQ or CA; retention at least 22 kg/m3 for ACQ or 11 kg/m3 for CA; preservative registered with PCPB with certificate; CCA may be used only during a two-year transitional period from date of issue of spec (2026-10-28) for existing stocks. Unverified D3 p.10
- Dimensions: 10m poles must have 140, 160 or 180 mm top diameter; poles 11m to 18m have specified top diameters and ground line diameters as per Table 4. Length tolerance ±75mm. Pole strength: force to cause fibre stress of 55MPa must meet Table 4 values. Manufacturer must have a strength test facility. Unverified D3 p.13
- Banding: galvanised steel strapping at each pole end, nailed with galvanised clout nails; two hot-dip galvanised steel wire straps; nail plates of galvanised steel at pole ends, zinc coating at least 610 g/m2; colour coding per length. Unverified D3 p.11
- Marking: each pole marked 'PROPERTY OF KPLC' with manufacturer, date of treatment, KS standard, length, top diameter, hazard class H4, species, preservative, ground line, and serial marking on aluminium plate. Unverified D3 p.14
- Guaranteed Technical Particulars must give specific values. Words such as 'Yes', 'Agree', 'Complied' are not acceptable and the bid is non-responsive. Unverified D3 p.22
- Manufacturer's warranty and guarantee: subject to 60 months from date of delivery to KPLC stores. Unverified D3 p.18
Financial
- Prices must be inclusive of all taxes, duties, levies and delivery costs to KPLC premises, in Kenya Shillings, valid 210 days from closing; quote DDP. Prices on the portal should exclude VAT. D2 p.5
- Price schedule must be duly completed, signed, stamped and correctly computed. Arithmetic errors are not corrected; the tender sum read out at opening is final. D2 p.36
- Tenderer must quote for all storage locations in a given lot to qualify for award of that lot. D2 p.37
- Tender security: Kshs. 1,000,000.00 (Kenya Shillings One Million) in form of bank guarantee or guarantee by deposit-taking microfinance or Sacco; original to be deposited in Tender Security Box, 3rd Floor Supply Chain, Stima Plaza, before tender opening time. D2 p.35
Lots and categories
- Lots 1 to 7 are referenced (Lot 1 and 6 award one item; Lots 2, 3, 4, 5 and 7 award two items). Lot descriptions and quantities are in the Schedule of Requirements, not reviewed. Not stated D2 p.37
What the addenda changed
- No addendum for this tender was provided. The newspaper advertisement's addendum 1 concerns a different tender (Guarding Services KP1/9A.2/OT/006/SS/26-27) and does not change this tender. Not stated D1 p.1
Points to confirm with the procuring entity
The documents do not agree with each other on these points. Ask the procuring entity for a written clarification before you submit.
- Tender validity period: Section II TDS (ITT 18) says tender valid 180 days after opening; the invitation (1.4) says prices valid 210 days from closing; Section III financial bid validity says 180 days from bid opening; ITT 19 security valid 210 days. Bidder should confirm which period applies. (D2 p.5, D2 p.35, D2 p.146)
- Submission method: Portal record and TDS say electronic submission only, but the Request for Quotation annex (Form of Quotation) asks for a sealed physical envelope and an address for hand delivery, and the tender security must be deposited physically in the Tender Security Box before opening. (P, D2 p.35, D2 p.148)
Not covered in the documents we reviewed
- Schedule of Requirements: quantities, pole sizes and storage locations per lot
- Tender-specific evaluation scoring, if any, beyond pass/fail criteria
- Full Section IV tendering forms and Section IX/X framework and call-off special provisions
- Contract value / estimated annual value
- Any addendum to KP1/9A.3/OT/07/FA/26-27
- Full details of Lot descriptions and Lot-specific delivery locations
- Details of the Certificate of Independent Tender Determination and performance security amounts
Terms explained
- Framework Agreement
- A long-term agreement with selected suppliers; individual orders (call-off contracts) are placed later and are not guaranteed.
- Tender Security
- A bank guarantee or similar financial guarantee submitted with the bid to show seriousness; forfeitable if the bidder withdraws or fails to sign.
- TDS
- Tender Data Sheet: the section listing tender-specific values that override the general Instructions to Tenderers.
- GTP
- Guaranteed Technical Particulars: a form where the manufacturer gives specific technical values for each specification clause.
- Responsive
- A bid that meets all mandatory requirements; a non-responsive bid is rejected.
- DDP
- Delivered Duty Paid: price includes taxes, duties and delivery to KPLC premises.
- Lot
- A group of pole types or stores grouped for award; each lot is evaluated separately.
- KEBS Diamond Mark of Quality
- Kenya Bureau of Standards certification mark for locally manufactured goods.
- PCPB
- Pest Control Products Board, which registers wood preservatives.
- ACQ and CA
- Alkaline Copper Quaternary and Copper Azole, the two copper-based preservatives allowed under the 2026 specification; CCA is being phased out.
- TGL
- Theoretical Ground Line: the point on the pole used as reference for ground-line dimensions.
- AGPO
- Access to Government Procurement Opportunities for youth, women and persons with disability; not stated as applying to this tender.