Construction to completion of a 45-student science laboratory with fume chamber at Highway Secondary School, Naivasha
Official title: PROPOSED CONSTRUCTION TO COMPLETION OF A 45 STUDENT SCIENCE LABORATORY WITH FULLY OPERATIONAL FUME CHAMBER AT HIGWAY SECONDARY SCHOOL
- Closing
- Wed 4 Nov 2026, 10:00 am EAT
- Tender number
- NG-CDF/NVS/OPEN/11/2026-2027
- Procuring entity
- NAIVASHA NG-CDF
- Categoria
- Works · Open Tender
Official documents take precedence. NairobiCity is an independent information service, not the procuring entity or a government body. This summary was prepared from the official documents with AI assistance; every requirement was matched to the document wording, but it can still contain mistakes. Before you apply, read the official tender documents and any addenda.
What is being bought
Construction to completion of a 45-student science laboratory with a fully operational fume chamber at Highway Secondary School, Naivasha Constituency, for NG-CDF Naivasha. Works, open tender. Scope and quantities are in the Bill of Quantities and specifications, which were not fully reviewed.
What could disqualify you
- Bidders with a history of non-performance, such as failure to complete projects within the contract period, termination of a contract, or a termination notice, are ineligible to bid. D1 p.1
- A tender not accompanied by a substantially responsive tender security or tender-securing declaration is rejected as non-responsive. Standard rule D2 p.12
- Late tenders will be rejected. D2 p.2
- Form of Tender must be fully filled, signed and stamped. Failure makes the tender fail preliminary responsiveness. D2 p.25
- Tenders scoring below 70 points (out of 100) are disqualified from further evaluation. D2 p.26
- If the tenderer fails to submit information required on ownership, conflict of interest or qualifications, or the information cannot be verified, the tender will be rejected. Standard rule D2 p.12
Key facts
- Closing
-
Wed 4 Nov 2026, 10:00 am
Tenders close 4 November 2026 at 10:00 (portal, invitation and Tender Data Sheet). Late tenders are rejected. P - Bid / tender security
- Bid bond of KSh 102,000 valid for 150 days from opening. Form: tender security (cash, bank guarantee, insurance guarantee or CBK-licensed institution guarantee) or tender-securing declaration on the Section IV form. Security must stay valid 30 days beyond tender validity. D2 p.23
- Tender fee
- Not stated in the documents we reviewed Not stated D2 p.2
- Site visit
-
Optional
TDS says no pre-arranged site visit (N/A); ITT 5.2 says a site visit is encouraged at the tenderer's own cost. The form template shows a mandatory site visit with automatic disqualification, with fields blank. Confirm with the entity in writing. Conflicting D2 p.22 - Pre-bid meeting
-
Optional
No pre-tender meeting is scheduled (N/A). Written questions must reach the entity by the deadline in TDS ITT 7.3, which reads 30 NOV 2026, after the closing date. See conflicts. D2 p.22 - Reserved for
- Open tender. The Tender Data Sheet says the invitation is extended to the OPEN group, not a reserved group. The notice tender number carries AGPO. See conflicts. Conflicting D2 p.23
- Contract value
- Not stated in the documents we reviewed Not stated D2 p.2
- Tender opening
- Public opening immediately after the deadline, at NG-CDF Naivasha Offices, Inside Deputy County Commissioner Naivasha Office Ground. Tenderers or their representatives may attend. D2 p.23
- Tender validity
- Tenders must remain valid for 150 days from the date of opening (TDS and notice). The invitation says 210 days. See conflicts. Conflicting D2 p.23
Who can apply
- Tendering is open to all. No reserved group applies according to the Tender Data Sheet. D2 p.2
- Notice requires valid NCA registration, category 8 and above for building works, with a current annual practicing licence. ITT 3.12 says NCA registration is a condition of award, not of tender. See conflicts. Conflicting D1 p.1
- A Kenyan tenderer must show it has met its tax obligations by producing a valid tax compliance certificate or tax exemption certificate issued by the Kenya Revenue Authority. D2 p.7
- Foreign tenderers must source at least 40% of contract inputs from citizen suppliers and contractors. A tenderer is treated as foreign if registered in Kenya with less than 51% Kenyan ownership, or if it subcontracts more than 10% of the contract price to foreign firms or individuals. Standard rule D2 p.7
Application checklist
Tick items off as you prepare. Your ticks stay on this device only.
Required from every bidder
- D1 p.1
- D1 p.1
- D2 p.26
- D1 p.1
- D2 p.25
- D1 p.1
- D1 p.1
- D1 p.1
- D2 p.26
- D2 p.26
- D2 p.26
- D1 p.1
- D1 p.1
- D1 p.1
- D2 p.23
Required only in some situations
Experience, licences and financial capacity
Technical
- Technical proposal with statement of work methods, equipment, personnel and schedule, sufficient to show the work can meet requirements and completion time. Standard rule D2 p.11
- Scored on 100 points, pass mark 70. Key personnel (up to 20 points): a director with an engineering degree, diploma, certificate or test certificate; at least one degree or diploma holder; at least one Grade III certificate holder; at least two artisans with trade test certificates. D2 p.27
- Contracts completed in the last three years (up to 3 projects, evidence required), scored up to 18 points: 19 for similar nature, complexity or magnitude; 10 for similar nature but lower value; 0 if none. Table headings in the same section refer to five years. See conflicts. Conflicting D2 p.27
- On-going projects in Naivasha Constituency (scored up to 30): table gives 10 points if any similar ongoing project and 30 points if none. D2 p.27
- Equipment and transport, scored up to 10 points: pick-up or lorry (5 points) and concrete mixer and vibrator (5 points), with log books, lease agreements or receipts as proof. D2 p.27
- Litigation history, scored 10 points: 10 for a duly filled form with no complaint, 0 if not filled or with complaint. D2 p.28
Financial
- Audited financial reports for the last three years (2024, 2023, 2022), scored up to 5 points: average annual turnover at least equal to project cost gets 5; 50% to under 100% gets 3; below 50% gets 2. D2 p.28
- Evidence of financial resources, scored up to 5 points: resources for projected monthly cash flow for three months gets 5; equal to monthly cash flow gets 3; less gets 1; none indicated gets 0. D2 p.28
- Prices are fixed and not subject to adjustment during the contract. D2 p.23
- Prices must be in Kenya Shillings and include all taxes. D2 p.2
How and where to submit
- Written hard-copy tender only, delivered to the NG-CDF Naivasha Office tender box, Inside Deputy County Commissioner Naivasha Office Ground. Electronic submission not permitted. D2 p.2
- Sealed tender in plain envelope addressed to: Fund Account Manager, Naivasha NG-CDF, P.O. Box 1918-20117, Naivasha. D1 p.2
- Tenderers shall not submit tenders electronically. D2 p.23
- Originals only; no additional copies are requested. D2 p.23
Lots and categories
- Multiple lots or contracts are not applicable to this tender. D2 p.29
What the addenda changed
- Addendum A1 dated 2026-10-28 is listed on the portal as BILL OF QUANTITIES. The reviewed copy (D3) is a priced BOQ for a different project (single laboratory at Ndabibi Central Primary School, June 2026). Its effect on this tender is unverified. Conflicting A1
Points to confirm with the procuring entity
The documents do not agree with each other on these points. Ask the procuring entity for a written clarification before you submit.
- Tender number and reserved status: Portal and TDS number is NG-CDF/NVS/OPEN/11/2026-2027, but the notice shows NG-CDF/NVS/AGPO/10/2026-2027. An AGPO number suggests a reserved group, while the TDS says OPEN and the invitation is open to all. TDS also gives NG-CDF/NVS/OPEN/11/2025-2026. Ask the entity to confirm the correct number and whether the tender is open or reserved. (P; D1 p.1; D2 p.2; D2 p.22; D2 p.23)
- Tender validity period: Invitation says 210 days from opening. TDS ITT 18.1 and the notice say 150 days. Ask the entity which applies; the bid security must match. (D2 p.2; D2 p.23; D1 p.1-2)
- Pre-tender question deadline: TDS ITT 7.3 gives the deadline for written questions as 30 NOV 2026, which is after the 4 November 2026 closing date. Likely a typo; ask the entity for the correct date. (D2 p.22)
- NCA registration timing: Notice requires NCA registration category 8 and above as evidence to submit. ITT 3.12 says NCA registration is not a condition for tender but is a condition of award. (D1 p.1; D2 p.7)
- Site visit: TDS says no pre-arranged site visit (N/A). Form of Tender template item A describes a mandatory site visit with automatic disqualification for non-attendance. Ask the entity whether a site visit is compulsory. (D2 p.22; D2 p.156)
- Bill of Quantities and Addendum A1: Portal lists addendum A1 (2026-10-28) as BILL OF QUANTITIES. The BOQ supplied is titled for a single laboratory at Ndabibi Central Primary School, dated June 2026, which does not match this project. Ask the entity for the correct BOQ for this tender. (P; D3 p.1)
- Experience period: Section III scoring heading refers to contracts completed in the last Three (5) years, while the line item says Three (3 years). (D2 p.26; D2 p.27)
- Submission post office box: Invitation gives P.O Box 1912 for delivery in one place and P.O. Box 1918 elsewhere. Confirm the correct box before delivering. (D2 p.2; D1 p.2)
Not covered in the documents we reviewed
- Tender document fee or payment terms, if any
- Contract value or cost estimate, and the minimum turnover, financial resources and contract amounts (blank in Section III)
- Correct Bill of Quantities and specifications for this project; addendum A1 content
- Full Section III qualification form details (number of similar contracts, required years, litigation/performance periods)
- Whether a site visit or pre-tender meeting is compulsory
- Performance security requirements and the form of contract (Section VIII to X)
- Drawings and technical specifications (Section VI and VII)
- Confirmation of the correct tender number and whether the tender is reserved
- Correct tender validity and questions deadline
Terms explained
- TDS
- Tender Data Sheet: the tender-specific rules that override the general Instructions to Tenderers.
- ITT
- Instructions to Tenderers: the standard rules in the tender document that apply to all bidders.
- AGPO
- Affirmative action groups (youth, women, persons with disability) that may have reserved tenders.
- NCA
- National Construction Authority, which registers contractors by category and issues practicing licences.
- CR12
- Company return from the Registrar listing directors, shareholders or partners.
- Tender security / bid bond
- Financial guarantee submitted with the tender, forfeited if a bidder withdraws or refuses to sign.
- Tender-securing declaration
- A signed declaration on the official form that replaces a bank guarantee where the document allows it.
- Responsive / non-responsive
- A responsive tender meets all mandatory requirements. A non-responsive tender is rejected at the preliminary stage.
- BOQ
- Bill of Quantities: the priced list of works items and quantities that bidders must price.
- JV
- Joint Venture: two or more firms bidding together under a written JV agreement.
- PIN
- KRA tax registration number, which must be valid for tendering.
- SD1 / SD2 / CBQ
- Self-declaration and Confidential Business Questionnaire forms required by the entity.
- Lowest evaluated tender
- The tender that passes qualification criteria and is responsive, with the lowest evaluated price.
- Standstill period
- Period of 14 days after notice of intention to award in which unsuccessful bidders may complain before contract signature.