Maintenance of Streetlights Within Shabab Ward, Nakuru West Sub County - reserved for PWD (CGN/NKRCB/ONT/062/2026-2027)
Official title: Tender for Proposed Maintenance of Streetlights Within Shabab Ward in Nakuru West Sub County
- Closing
- Tue 3 Nov 2026, 10:00 am EAT
- Tender number
- CGN/NKRCB/ONT/062/2026-2027
- Procuring entity
- Nakuru County Government
- Categoria
- Works · Open Tender
- Reserved for (portal)
- Persons with disabilities
- County
- Nakuru
Official documents take precedence. NairobiCity is an independent information service, not the procuring entity or a government body. This summary was prepared from the official documents with AI assistance; every requirement was matched to the document wording, but it can still contain mistakes. Before you apply, read the official tender documents and any addenda.
What is being bought
Proposed maintenance of streetlights within Shabab Ward in Nakuru West Sub County, Nakuru, procured by County Government of Nakuru as an open national works tender reserved for persons living with disability (PWD).
What could disqualify you
- Bidders who do not satisfy any mandatory requirement MR 1-14 are non-responsive and their tenders will not be evaluated further. D2 p.42
- Late tenders will be rejected. D2 p.8
- Tenders quoted in currencies other than Kenya shillings will be determined non-responsive and rejected. Standard rule D2 p.33
- A tender that fails to provide required ownership/conflict-of-interest information will be rejected. Standard rule D2 p.25
- Arithmetic errors in unit price, quantity or totals are a major deviation leading to disqualification as non-responsive. Standard rule D2 p.32
Key facts
- Closing
-
Tue 3 Nov 2026, 10:00 am
Tenders must be delivered on or before Tuesday 3 November 2026 at 10:00 AM East Africa time. Portal record shows the same date and 10:00:00. D2 p.38 - Bid / tender security
- No tender security required. Instead, tenderers must submit a duly filled, signed and stamped Tender-Securing Declaration Form. The invitation notice's bank guarantee line (Kshs. ……) is blank. Conflicting D2 p.39
- Tender fee
- Tender documents may be obtained free of charge from nakuru.go.ke or tenders.go.ke. D2 p.7
- Site visit
-
Optional
Site visit is not mandatory: tenderers are encouraged to visit and examine the site at their own cost. Tender Data Sheet states pre-tender site visit: NOT APPLICABLE. D2 p.16 - Pre-bid meeting
-
Optional
No pre-tender meeting: Tender Data Sheet states Pre tender Conference: NOT APPLICABLE. D2 p.39 - Reserved for
- Reserved for persons living with disability (PWD). Only businesses belonging to this group may tender. D2 p.1
- Contract value
- Not stated in the documents we reviewed Not stated D2 p.44
- Tender opening
- Tenders will be opened immediately after the closing deadline at County Government of Nakuru Moi Road HQ, 1st Floor Board Room, Nakuru, in the presence of tenderers' representatives who choose to attend. D2 p.38
- Tender validity
- Tenders remain valid for 210 days from the date of opening of tenders. D2 p.39
Who can apply
- Tender is reserved for PWD: the invitation states it is open only to specified reserved groups under Reservations, and the Tender Data Sheet says the invitation is extended to the group that qualifies for reservations: RESERVED FOR PWD. D2 p.40
Application checklist
Tick items off as you prepare. Your ticks stay on this device only.
Required from every bidder
- D2 p.41
- D2 p.41
- D2 p.41
- D2 p.41
- D2 p.41
- D2 p.41
- D2 p.41
- D2 p.41
- D2 p.41
- D2 p.41
- D2 p.41
- D2 p.41
- D2 p.42
- D2 p.42
Required only in some situations
Experience, licences and financial capacity
Technical
- Technical scoring: general experience (3 years and above 10 marks; 2-3 years 5 marks; 0-2 years 3 marks) and specific experience of annual works of Kshs 2 million and above in the past 2 years (up to 20 marks). D2 p.45
- Subcontracting: 0% of total contract amount permitted (Tender Data Sheet). D2 p.40
- Tender prices must be fixed (not subject to adjustment) and quoted entirely in Kenya Shillings including all taxes. D2 p.39
Financial
- Tenderer must demonstrate access to liquid assets, lines of credit or other financial means sufficient for construction cash flow; amount is blank in the document. Not stated D2 p.44
- Technical/financial scoring: certified bank statements for 2025 and 2024 (5 marks each year), certified audited accounts for 2025-2024 (10 marks), or letter of credit (5 marks). D2 p.45
How and where to submit
- Submit both soft copy through the supplier portal and hard copy in a plain sealed envelope marked with tender number and description, deposited in the tender box at County Government HQ Moi Road ground floor entrance, or sent by post to The County Secretary, P.O Box 2780-20100, Nakuru. Electronic tenders are permitted. D2 p.38
- Number of copies of the original tender: ONE (in addition to the original). Tender documents and hard copies should be in plain sealed envelopes. D2 p.39
- Authorization to sign on behalf of tenderer: an authorization from the company directors designating an officer, certified by commissioner of oaths. D2 p.39
Lots and categories
- No lots stated; single tender for Shabab Ward streetlight maintenance. Not stated D2 p.1
What the addenda changed
- No addenda provided in the reviewed material. Not stated P
Points to confirm with the procuring entity
The documents do not agree with each other on these points. Ask the procuring entity for a written clarification before you submit.
- Bid security: Invitation notice requires an original tender security (bank guarantee, insurer guarantee or bank guarantee of licensed institution) with the amount left blank (Kshs. ……), while the Tender Data Sheet says no tender security is required and a Tender-Securing Declaration Form is to be submitted instead. Ask the procuring entity which applies. (D2 p.7 (invitation item 5) vs D2 p.39 (TDS ITT 21.1) and D2 p.41 (MR 7))
- Submission method: Portal lists electronic and written submission; the notice says the tender documents must be submitted in hard copy to the tender box or by post, while the invitation and TDS require soft copy via supplier portal (supplier.treasury.go.ke / IFMIS) plus hard copies. (P vs D1 p.1 vs D2 p.8 and D2 p.38)
- Tender opening/submission address: Notice gives the tender box as County Government HQ Ground Floor (Moi Road) and the Supply Chain Office for submissions in some places; TDS gives opening in the 1st Floor Board Room while the invitation gives 1st Floor chambers. Confirm the location with the procuring entity. (D2 p.8 vs D2 p.38-39)
- Mandatory document numbering and tender number: Tender number is written CGN/NKRCB/ONT/062/2026-2027 on the portal and in the notice; the notice's Shabab Ward description differs slightly from the notice list heading. Not material to eligibility. (P vs D1 p.6)
Not covered in the documents we reviewed
- Bank guarantee amount and any tender security amount (invitation blank; TDS says none required).
- Financial thresholds for liquid assets, minimum annual turnover, similar contract requirements and key personnel/equipment (blank in Section III).
- Contract value / estimated cost of the works.
- Bill of Quantities, drawings and technical specifications (Parts 2 pages not supplied).
- Pages D2 p.2-6, 10-13, 15, 20-21, 23, 26-31, 46-52 and 58-60, 62-147 were not supplied; standard forms and BOQ not reviewed.
- Any addenda to the tender.
- Detailed technical scope and locations within Shabab Ward.
Terms explained
- PWD
- Persons living with disability. Under a reservation, only businesses in this group may tender.
- AGPO
- Access to Government Procurement Opportunities, a government scheme reserving tenders for women, youth and persons with disability who are registered.
- TDS
- Tender Data Sheet: the section of the tender document giving specific values that override the general instructions.
- Tender Securing Declaration
- A signed and stamped form in which the bidder declares it will accept penalties if it withdraws or fails to sign, used instead of a cash or bank security.
- Mandatory requirement (MR)
- A pass/fail item at preliminary evaluation; failing any one makes the bid non-responsive.
- Responsive
- A tender that meets all mandatory requirements and terms of the tender document.
- CR12
- Company return of directors and shareholders issued by the Registrar of Companies.
- NCA
- National Construction Authority, which registers contractors by category.
- Standstill Period
- A 14-day period after notice of intention to award during which unsuccessful bidders may file complaints before contract signing.
- Commissioner of Oaths
- A person authorised to certify copies of documents and witness signatures.