Open

Supply and delivery of ECDE instructional materials for ECDE centres, Kwale County (reserved for women)

Official title: SUPPLY AND DELIVERY OF INSTRUCTIONAL MATERIALS FOR ECDE CENTERS

Closing
Mon 2 Nov 2026, 10:00 am EAT
Tender number
CGK/EDU/2653748/2026-2027
Procuring entity
Kwale County Government
Categoria
Goods · Open Tender
Reserved for (portal)
Women
County
Kwale

Official documents take precedence. NairobiCity is an independent information service, not the procuring entity or a government body. This summary was prepared from the official documents with AI assistance; every requirement was matched to the document wording, but it can still contain mistakes. Before you apply, read the official tender documents and any addenda.

What is being bought

Kwale County Government (Department of Education) invites women-owned businesses to supply and deliver ECDE instructional materials for ECDE centres in Kwale County, under open tender reference 2653748-2026/2027 (portal ref CGK/EDU/2653748/2026-2027). The tender is a single item with delivery to Kwale County. Quantities and item specifications are in Section V (Schedule of Requirements), which was not in the material reviewed.

What could disqualify you

  • Tenders received after the deadline are late, rejected automatically by the system and not considered. D2 p.2
  • Manual (paper) tender submission is not permitted. Tenders must be submitted electronically through the e-procurement system. D2 p.2
  • A tender that does not pass the preliminary examination (eligibility and other mandatory requirements) is non-responsive and will not be considered further. D2 p.27
  • Alternative tenders are not considered. D2 p.23
  • A tender valid for a shorter period than the tender validity period specified is rejected as non-responsive. Standard rule D2 p.12
  • Submission of false or forged financial statements or bank statements leads to automatic disqualification; financial ratio analysis is not done if they are not genuine. D2 p.38
  • Canvassing in the tendering process, in terms of documentation and due diligence, leads to automatic disqualification. D2 p.38
  • Companies with pending works after expiry of a project contract period with Kwale County Government shall not be considered for award. D2 p.38
  • A consistent history of court or arbitral awards against the tenderer (or any JV member) in the last 3 years may result in rejection of the tender. D2 p.36

Key facts

Closing
Mon 2 Nov 2026, 10:00 am
Tenders must be submitted electronically by this deadline through supplier.treasury.go.ke. Portal closing date matches the tender documents. D2 p.24
Bid / tender security
No tender security (bank guarantee or similar) is required. A Tender-Securing Declaration, witnessed by a Commissioner for Oath, is required instead. No amount is specified. D2 p.24
Tender fee
Tender document fee is NIL (Kenya shillings). Documents obtained electronically are free of charge. D2 p.2
Site visit
Not stated in the documents we reviewed Not stated D1 p.1
Pre-bid meeting
Optional
No pre-tender conference will be held. D2 p.23
Reserved for
Reserved for WOMEN enterprises only. Businesses must be duly registered as women-owned with The National Treasury (per TDS ITT 32.5). Only businesses in this group may tender. D2 p.25
Contract value
Not stated in the documents we reviewed Not stated D2
Tender opening
Tender opening is online and without tenderers present (TDS). Invitation says opening is public at the address with representatives attending (see conflicts). Opening follows immediately after the deadline. Conflicting D2 p.24
Tender validity
Tenders remain valid for 120 days from the submission deadline. The end date is not stated in the material. D2 p.24

Who can apply

  • Invitation says tendering is open to Small and Medium Enterprises registered appropriately with WOMEN ENTERPRISES. TDS and Section III instead require registration with the National Treasury (see conflicts). Conflicting D2 p.2
  • Each company may be awarded a maximum of two tenders in this advertisement (Ref CGK/EDU/VOL.I/2026/2027). Directors bidding under different companies are also limited to two tenders. D2 p.38

Application checklist

Tick items off as you prepare. Your ticks stay on this device only.

Required from every bidder

  • D2 p.36
  • D2 p.36
  • D2 p.36
  • D2 p.36
  • D2 p.2
  • D2 p.36
  • D2 p.36
  • D2 p.36

Experience, licences and financial capacity

Technical

  • Technical evaluation pass mark is 50 out of 70 marks. D2 p.37
  • Experience in general supplies: supply to government institution(s) in the last 5 years, any 3 contracts. Proof required: coloured purchase orders, contract agreements, signed delivery notes and notification of award. Scored up to 33 marks (11 marks each for proof above Ksh 15 million; 7 each for Ksh 6-14 million; 0 below Ksh 6 million). D2 p.37
  • Transport: 1 pick-up and 1 canter/lorry (5 marks each). Proof of ownership or lease is required; lease agreements must be accompanied by relevant logbooks. D2 p.37
  • Delivery period scoring: own commitment to delivery after receipt of Local Purchase Order. Less than 14 weeks scores 3 marks; 14-16 weeks scores 2; above 16 weeks scores 1. D2 p.38
  • Place of final destination is Kwale County (project site Kwale County). D2 p.24
  • After-sales service is required from the tenderer. D2 p.24
  • Quantities may not be increased or decreased (0% maximum change in quantity). D2 p.25

Financial

  • Price levy: the supplier pays a levy of 0.03% of the value of the signed contract, exclusive of tax, under the Levy Order 2023. D2 p.23
  • Prices quoted are not subject to adjustment during performance of the contract. D2 p.23
  • Foreign currency is not allowed in tender prices. D2 p.24
  • Performance security, if required, must not exceed 1% of the tender sum. The material does not state whether it will be required. D2 p.25
  • Audited financial reports for 2024 and 2025, certified by a registered and practising auditor (scored in the financial situation section). D2 p.37
  • Bank statements for 2024 and 2025, certified by the bank (scored: 4 marks for both years, 0 for one year or incomplete). D2 p.37
  • Bank reference letter on letterhead showing creditworthiness, dated within the tender period (4 marks). D2 p.37
  • Credit period scoring: own commitment to credit period after invoicing; above 3 weeks scores 2 marks, 2-3 weeks 1 mark, less than 2 weeks 0. D2 p.38
  • Award is made to the lowest evaluated bidder (after responsiveness and qualification checks). D2 p.38

How and where to submit

  • Tenders must be submitted electronically through the National Treasury e-procurement system at supplier.treasury.go.ke. Invitation item 10 gives a different address (see conflicts). Conflicting D2 p.24
  • Tenders must be signed by a person duly authorized to sign on behalf of the tenderer; authorization is an official letter (TDS ITT 19.3). D2 p.24
  • Serialize all pages of the tender submitted, numbering afresh in logical sequence from first page to last. Downloaded pagination must not be used. D2 p.2
  • Clarification questions must reach the Chief Officer, Department of Education, Kwale County Government, P.O Box 4-80403 Kwale, by the stated date and time. D2 p.23
  • Procurement-related complaints may be sent to Juma Nzao, Chief Officer, by email to jumwanza@gmail.com. D2 p.25

Lots and categories

  • Lot One item: One lot only: the invitation covers one item (single contract). D2 p.23

Points to confirm with the procuring entity

The documents do not agree with each other on these points. Ask the procuring entity for a written clarification before you submit.

  • Electronic submission address: Invitation item 10 gives www.supplier.treasury.co.ke; the TDS ITT 21.1 and tender notice give supplier.treasury.go.ke. Confirm the correct address with the procuring entity before uploading. (D2 p.2; D2 p.24; D1 p.1)
  • Registration body for women-owned businesses: Invitation item 4 says registration with WOMEN ENTERPRISES. TDS ITT 32.5 says duly registered with The National Treasury, and Section III requires an AGPO certificate from the National Treasury. Confirm which certificate is accepted. (D2 p.2; D2 p.25; D2 p.36)
  • Method of tender opening: Invitation item 12 says tenders are opened publicly in the presence of tenderers' representatives at the address. TDS ITT 24.1 says opening is online and without tenderers present. Confirm which applies. (D2 p.2; D2 p.24)

Not covered in the documents we reviewed

  • Section V Schedule of Requirements: item descriptions, quantities, specifications and delivery schedule were not in the material reviewed.
  • Estimated contract value or budget is not stated.
  • No addenda (A1, A2...) were provided; check the portal and the procuring entity for any changes to dates or requirements.
  • Section IV forms (Form of Tender, Tender-Securing Declaration form, Price Schedule, Form CON-2) were not reviewed.
  • Section VI and VII conditions of contract (payment terms, liquidated damages, performance security form, delivery penalties) were not reviewed.
  • Number of copies required is marked N/A in the TDS.
  • The end date of the 120-day validity period is not stated.
  • Whether performance security will be required is not stated (only the 1% cap).

Terms explained

TDS
Tender Data Sheet: the tender-specific rules that override the standard Instructions to Tenderers (ITT).
Tender-Securing Declaration
A signed declaration, witnessed by a Commissioner for Oath, promising to honour the bid. It replaces a bank guarantee here; if the bidder withdraws or fails to sign the contract, the declaration can be executed and the bidder may be recommended for debarment.
AGPO
Access to Government Procurement Opportunities: a reservation scheme for youth, women and persons with disabilities. Here it is reserved for women and requires a valid certificate.
Responsive
A tender that meets all mandatory requirements of the tender documents. Non-responsive tenders are rejected before evaluation.
CR12
Company registry return showing directors and shareholders, required for limited companies for the current year.
Single Business Permit
County trade licence required in Kwale County for this tender.
Levy Order 2023 levy
A statutory 0.03% levy on the signed contract value, paid by the supplier, exclusive of tax.
LPO
Local Purchase Order: the county order that starts the delivery period.
Serialization
Re-numbering all pages of the tender in order from page 1 to the last, not using the downloaded page numbers.
Lowest evaluated bidder
The bidder with the lowest evaluated price among those that are responsive and meet the qualification criteria.
Nairobi City https://nairobicity.co.ke