Open

Consultancy to assess impact of donor support programmes on devolution in Kenya (2013-2025), Council of Governors, Ref COG/PROC/003/2026-2027

Official title: CONSULTANCY TO ASSESS THE IMPACT OF DONOR SUPPORT PROGRAMMES ON THE DEVOLUTION PROCESS IN KENYA (2013–2025)

Closing
Tue 3 Nov 2026, 11:00 am EAT
Tender number
COG/PROC/003/2026-2027
Procuring entity
Council Of Governors
Categoria
Consultancy Services · Open Tender

Official documents take precedence. NairobiCity is an independent information service, not the procuring entity or a government body. This summary was prepared from the official documents with AI assistance; every requirement was matched to the document wording, but it can still contain mistakes. Before you apply, read the official tender documents and any addenda.

What is being bought

The Council of Governors (Nairobi) is inviting sealed bids from consulting firms for a consultancy to assess the impact of donor support programmes on the devolution process in Kenya for 2013-2025. The assignment covers county case studies, surveys and focus groups across counties, and a team of specialists. The tender uses Quality and Cost Based Selection (QCBS), with a 70% technical and 30% financial weighting.

What could disqualify you

  • Procuring entity employees, committee members, board members and their relatives (spouse and children) are not eligible to participate. D1 p.5
  • Firms that associate with other consultants invited to this assignment in breach of the rule are automatically disqualified. The joint venture maximum is one member, so joint ventures with other invited firms are not allowed. D1 p.6
  • Key experts may not appear in more than one proposal. D1 p.15
  • Submitting technical or financial proposals in the wrong format may lead to the proposal being deemed non-responsive to the RFP requirements. D1 p.15
  • Material deficiencies in providing the information requested may result in rejection of a proposal. D1 p.6
  • Technical proposals scoring below the 70% minimum technical score will be disqualified at the technical stage. D1 p.21
  • Proposals received after the closing time are returned unopened. Standard rule D1 p.8
  • If the firm offered key staff without confirming their availability, the firm may be disqualified. Substitution of key staff during negotiations is not allowed unless both parties agree undue delay makes it unavoidable or changes are critical. D1 p.12
  • The procuring entity will reject a proposal if the recommended consultant has engaged in corrupt or fraudulent practices in competing for the contract. D1 p.12

Key facts

Closing
Tue 3 Nov 2026, 11:00 am
Closing date and time: proposals must be received on or before Tuesday 3 November 2026 at 11:00 East African Time (matches the portal closing time). No addenda were provided that change this. D1 p.15
Bid / tender security
Original tender security of Kshs 100,000.00 from a reputable bank or an insurance company approved by the Insurance Regulatory Authority, valid for 180 days after the date of opening of the technical proposal. Also a Tender-Securing Declaration Form is required. D1 p.16
Tender fee
Non-refundable fee of Kshs 1,000 for the complete tender document, payable in cash or bankers cheque to Council of Governors. Review of the document is free before purchase. D1 p.3
Site visit
Not stated in the documents we reviewed Not stated D1 p.13
Pre-bid meeting
Optional
No pre-proposal conference will be held. D1 p.13
Reserved for
Not stated in the documents we reviewed Not stated P
Contract value
Not stated in the documents we reviewed Not stated D1 p.1
Tender opening
Technical proposals are opened immediately after the closing deadline in the 11th floor boardroom, Council of Governors Secretariat, in the presence of attending representatives. Financial proposals are opened later, in public, on a date notified to qualifying firms. D1 p.3
Tender validity
Proposals must remain valid for 180 days after the proposal submission deadline. D1 p.15

Who can apply

  • The invitation is addressed to interested consulting firms. Procuring entity employees, committee members, board members and their spouses and children are not eligible to participate. D1 p.3
  • To qualify for contract award a tenderer must have the necessary qualifications, capability, experience, services, equipment and facilities; legal capacity to contract; must not be insolvent, in receivership, bankrupt or being wound up; and must not be debarred from public procurement. D1 p.12

Application checklist

Tick items off as you prepare. Your ticks stay on this device only.

Required from every bidder

  • D1 p.16
  • D1 p.16
  • D1 p.16
  • D1 p.16
  • D1 p.16
  • D1 p.14
  • D1 p.14
  • D1 p.14
  • D1 p.14
  • D1 p.14
  • D1 p.7

Experience, licences and financial capacity

Technical

  • Registered consulting company with at least ten (10) years relevant experience. D1 p.16
  • Demonstrated experience of at least eight (8) years in successful execution of similar assignments, and specific experience working with the devolved system of governance and donor funded programmes. D1 p.16
  • Specific experience of the firm in three similar assignments in the last five years, with reference letters, scored at 7 marks. D1 p.24
  • Team Leader (Governance/Devolution Expert): Masters degree in a relevant field, minimum 15 years of professional experience with 7 years in governance, development or social sciences evaluation. D1 p.17
  • Devolution Specialist: Masters degree or higher, at least 10 years of relevant experience including substantial experience in evaluation, governance, devolution or institutional strengthening. D1 p.17
  • PFM/Financial specialist: MBA, MA or M.Sc in accounting, finance or related field, registered with ICPAK, at least 5 years general finance experience and 5 years specific public financial management experience. D1 p.18
  • Monitoring, Evaluation and Data Specialist: Masters degree in a relevant field and at least 8 years of M&E, research and data analysis experience. D1 p.18
  • Research and enumerators: relevant qualifications, experience in questionnaires and focus groups, familiarity with county contexts, Kiswahili and local language capability, and standardized training before field deployment. At least three research officers and enumerators are scored. D1 p.19
  • Statistician/Data Analyst and Gender and Social Inclusion Specialist roles with stated qualifications, experience, Kiswahili/local language ability and safeguarding training are also required. D1 p.20
  • The firm should demonstrate at least ten (10) years of governance and devolution assessment experience, large-scale donor-funded programme evaluation, county government experience, mixed-method evaluation and multi-county studies. D1 p.53
  • Technical scoring: methodology and work plan 20 marks; criteria (I) and (II) 70 marks; key personnel 50 marks; total 100 points. Minimum technical score 70%. D1 p.21

Financial

  • Average annual turnover and total assets of at least Kshs 30 million, shown in the last three years of audited accounts. D1 p.16
  • Prices must be net inclusive of all taxes where applicable, in Kenya Shillings, and must remain valid for 180 days from the closing date. D1 p.3
  • Local taxes must be shown as a separate amount in the financial proposal. The financial proposal must state local costs in Kenya Shillings. D1 p.8
  • Financial scoring: lowest price gets 100 points, others are scored Sf = 100 x Fm/F. Weights: technical 0.7 and financial 0.3; combined score S = St x T + Sf x P. D1 p.22

How and where to submit

  • Physical sealed envelopes only. Deposit in the tender box at the Council of Governors Secretariat, 2nd floor, Delta Corner, off Waiyaki Way, or post to The Chief Executive Officer, Council of Governors, P.O. Box 40401-00100, Nairobi. D1 p.3
  • Electronic submission is not allowed. The portal lists written (physical/hard copy) submission. D1 p.15
  • Submit one (1) original and one (1) copy of the technical and financial proposals, each marked ORIGINAL or COPY. D1 p.15
  • Original and all copies of the technical and financial proposals go in a sealed envelope marked TECHNICAL & FINANCIAL PROPOSAL; both go in an outer sealed envelope marked DO NOT OPEN, EXCEPT IN PRESENCE OF THE OPENING COMMITTEE. D1 p.8
  • Proposals must be delivered to the submission address by the stated date and time. Address per the data sheet: The Council of Governors, Delta Corner House, 2nd Floor, Westlands, P.O. Box 40401-00100, Nairobi, or the tender box at Delta Corner. D1 p.15

Lots and categories

  • No lots are stated in the material reviewed. Not stated D1 p.1

Points to confirm with the procuring entity

The documents do not agree with each other on these points. Ask the procuring entity for a written clarification before you submit.

  • Deadline for clarification requests: ITC clause 2.2.1 allows clarification requests only up to seven days before submission. The Tender Data Sheet says up to three days before the submission deadline. Ask COG which applies. (D1 p.6 (ITC 2.2.1) vs D1 p.13 (Data Sheet 2.2.1))
  • Tender reference number: Invitation says COG/PROC/T/003/2026-2027; portal and Data Sheet say COG/PROC/003/2026-2027. (D1 p.3 vs P portal record and D1 p.13)
  • Submission address and office location: Documents give different locations: Delta House, 2nd Floor, Chiromo Road (cover); Delta Corner, off Waiyaki Way (invitation); Delta Corner House, 2nd Floor, Westlands (Data Sheet). Confirm the correct delivery point before submitting. (D1 p.1 vs D1 p.3 vs D1 p.15)

Not covered in the documents we reviewed

  • Addenda (A1, A2...) were not provided. Confirm there are no changes to dates, forms or requirements.
  • Appendix A terms of reference, including duration, expert-days and start location, were not provided in the reviewed pages.
  • Contract value or budget was not stated.
  • Financial proposal opening date and time: to be communicated after technical evaluation.
  • Expected date and address for contract negotiations: to be communicated later (Data Sheet 2.9).
  • Whether the Kshs 30 million turnover and total assets requirement must be met as a combined figure or separately is unclear.
  • Bank statement details and certificate formats were not reviewed.
  • Standard forms and BOQ tables (pages not reviewed) may contain additional forms or conditions.
  • Clarification of the submission address and the 3-day versus 7-day clarification cutoff.
  • Whether a site visit applies: not stated.

Terms explained

TDS (Tender Data Sheet)
The section of the tender document with tender-specific values such as deadlines, forms and amounts. It overrides the general instructions.
ITC (Information to Consultants)
The standard rules for preparing and submitting consultancy proposals.
QCBS
Quality and Cost Based Selection. Proposals are scored on technical quality and price, then combined.
Tender security
A bank guarantee or insurance bond that protects the buyer if a bidder withdraws or refuses to sign. Here Kshs 100,000 and valid 180 days.
Tender-Securing Declaration
A signed form in which the bidder agrees to suspension from tendering if it withdraws or fails to sign the contract.
Responsive
A proposal that meets all mandatory requirements and terms of reference. A non-responsive proposal is rejected.
Key experts
Named professional staff whose CVs and availability are evaluated. They cannot be substituted freely.
AGPO
Access to Government Procurement Opportunities for youth, women and persons with disabilities. None is stated for this tender.
ICPAK
Institute of Certified Public Accountants of Kenya. Some staff must be registered members.
CR12
Company form listing shareholders and directors, required as proof of ownership.
Standstill period
A 14-day waiting period after award notice before contract signing, during which complaints may be made.
Joint venture (JV)
A temporary grouping of firms bidding together. Here only one member is allowed.
Nairobi City https://nairobicity.co.ke