Open

Renovation of 4 classrooms and 3 offices at Gituba Primary School, Gichugu Constituency (reserved for PWD/Youth)

Official title: Renovation to completion of 4 classrooms and 3 offices fixing of all broken windows and doors, plastering, flooring, painting, floor repair(tiles), and re-roofing AT GITUBA PRIMARY SCHOOL

Closing
Wed 28 Oct 2026, 10:00 am EAT
Tender number
GITUBA/P/2630209-263-2026-2027-19
Procuring entity
NG-CDF GICHUGU
Category
Works · Open Tender
Reserved for (portal)
Youth, Persons with disabilities

Official documents take precedence. NairobiCity is an independent information service, not the procuring entity or a government body. This summary was prepared from the official documents with AI assistance; every requirement was matched to the document wording, but it can still contain mistakes. Before you apply, read the official tender documents and any addenda.

What is being bought

Renovation to completion of 4 classrooms and 3 offices at Gituba Primary School, Gichugu Constituency, Kirinyaga County: fixing broken windows and doors, plastering, flooring, painting, floor (tile) repair and re-roofing. This is a works tender under open tender, stated as reserved for PWD/Youth groups in the Tender Data Sheet.

What could disqualify you

  • Late tenders are rejected. Tenders received after the deadline are returned unopened. D2 p.2
  • Electronic tenders are not permitted. A tender sent electronically will not be accepted. D2 p.2
  • Tenders that do not pass the preliminary examination (including all mandatory documents) are treated as non-responsive and are not evaluated further. D2 p.36
  • A tender valid for a shorter period than the required 120 days is rejected as non-responsive. D2 p.15
  • Tenders quoted in currencies other than Kenya Shillings are non-responsive and rejected. D2 p.24
  • If a tenderer fails to submit the information on ownership and control required by the tender, the tender will be rejected. D2 p.14
  • A substantially responsive tender must conform to all terms, conditions and specifications without material deviation or reservation. Otherwise it is non-responsive. Standard rule D2 p.38

Key facts

Closing
Wed 28 Oct 2026, 10:00 am
Tenders must be delivered to the submission address on or before this date and time. Late tenders are rejected. D2 p.34
Bid / tender security
Tender Security is NOT required according to the Tender Data Sheet, which requires only a Tender-Securing Declaration form. The invitation and evaluation notes instead require a tender security from a CBK-recognised institution or PPRA-approved insurer, and a valid guarantee for responsiveness. The amount is not stated. Conflicting D2 p.33
Tender fee
Tender documents bought physically cost KSh 1,000, non-refundable, payable in cash or banker's cheque. Documents downloaded electronically from tenders.go.ke are free. D2 p.2
Site visit
Optional
Site visit is optional and at the tenderer's own cost and risk. The Tender Data Sheet says a pre-arranged site visit is only at the tenderer's discretion. D2 p.33
Pre-bid meeting
Optional
No pre-tender conference will be held. D2 p.33
Reserved for
Reserved for PWD (persons living with disability) and youth groups, as stated in the Tender Data Sheet. The notice table lists only PWD for this project; see conflicts. Conflicting D2 p.34
Contract value
Not stated in the documents we reviewed Not stated P
Tender opening
Tenders are opened publicly immediately after the deadline, in the presence of tenderers' representatives who attend, at the NG-CDF Gichugu office boardroom. D2 p.34
Tender validity
Tenders remain valid for 120 days. The start date is disputed between the notice (from opening) and the ITT (from submission deadline). See conflicts. Conflicting D2 p.33

Who can apply

  • Tender Data Sheet says the invitation is extended to the reserved groups PWD/Youth. Only firms that qualify for those reservations should bid, and they must provide the AGPO/PWD/Youth certificate. D2 p.34
  • Joint ventures are not permitted: the Tender Data Sheet sets the maximum number of JV members as NOT PERMITTED. D2 p.33

Application checklist

Tick items off as you prepare. Your ticks stay on this device only.

Required from every bidder

  • D2 p.37
  • Conflicting D2 p.37
  • D2 p.37
  • D2 p.37
  • D2 p.37
  • D2 p.37
  • D2 p.37
  • D2 p.37
  • D2 p.37
  • D2 p.37
  • D2 p.37
  • D2 p.37
  • D2 p.37
  • D2 p.38
  • D2 p.38

Experience, licences and financial capacity

Technical

  • Technical evaluation total is 100 marks; a score of at least 50% is needed to proceed to the financial stage. D2 p.40
  • Experience in building works is scored by years in construction (3 years and above scores 10 marks), with years calculated from the first LPO or completion certificate, which must be attached. D2 p.39
  • Magnitude of construction-building works in the last 5 years is scored (5 million and above scores 10 marks); similar-magnitude works in the last 3 years are scored separately (2 million and above scores 5 marks). LPOs or contracts and completion certificates must be attached. D2 p.39
  • Evidence of completed projects of similar nature, complexity or magnitude, and evidence of personnel academic and professional qualifications, must be submitted. D2 p.33
  • Staff: the project manager or foreman is scored on qualifications (degree 15 marks, diploma 10, certificate 5, KCSE 2), with CV and professional certificates attached. D2 p.40
  • Equipment: owned equipment (lorry, pick-up, water bowser, mixer, vibrator) scores 15 marks; leased scores 10 marks, with logbooks, lease agreements or receipts attached. Proof of ownership is also requested. D2 p.40

Financial

  • Access to funds: show liquid assets, unencumbered real assets, lines of credit or other financial means sufficient for the construction cash flow estimated at Kenya Shillings 5 million, net of other commitments. D2 p.47
  • Minimum average annual construction turnover of Kenya Shillings 1,000,000, calculated as certified payments received for 2023, 2024 and 2025 divided by 3. D2 p.47
  • Audited balance sheets for 2024 and 2025 must be submitted. The Tender Data Sheet asks for audited reports for the last three years (2023, 2024, 2025). See conflicts. Conflicting D2 p.47
  • Construction experience as prime contractor, JV member, sub-contractor or management contractor for at least the last 5 years, starting 1 January 2021. D2 p.47
  • Non-performance: no contract non-performance caused by the tenderer's default since 1 January 2026 (summary form). Section III says the last ONE YEAR. See conflicts. Conflicting D2 p.46
  • Prices must be fixed, quoted entirely in Kenya Shillings, and include all taxes. D2 p.2

How and where to submit

  • Submit a physical sealed hard copy. Electronic submission is not permitted. D2 p.34
  • Submission address: the Tender Data Sheet gives the procuring entity as Gituba Primary School with a blank P.O. Box, while the notice gives the NG-CDF Gichugu office. See conflicts. Conflicting D1 p.6
  • Pages must be numbered chronologically from the cover page to the last page, including all attachments, using Arabic numerals 1, 2, 3. D2 p.2
  • Inner envelopes must show the procuring entity's name and address, the tenderer's name and address, and the tender reference number. Unsealed or unmarked envelopes are not accepted. D2 p.19

Lots and categories

  • Single contract. Multiple contracts and lots do not apply. D2 p.43

Points to confirm with the procuring entity

The documents do not agree with each other on these points. Ask the procuring entity for a written clarification before you submit.

  • Tender security: Tender Data Sheet says a Tender Security SHALL NOT BE required and only a Tender-Securing Declaration form applies. The invitation says tenders must be accompanied by a tender security (amount NA), and the evaluation notes require a valid bank or insurance guarantee for responsiveness. (D2 p.33 (TDS ITT 21.1); D2 p.2 (invitation para 7); D2 p.38 (preliminary evaluation note))
  • Reserved group: Tender Data Sheet and portal say reserved for PWD/Youth. The notice table lists the project as reserved for PWD only. (D2 p.34 (TDS ITT 35.2); D1 p.4 (notice table entry GITUBA); portal record)
  • Open to all or reserved: Invitation text says tendering is open to all qualified and interested tenderers, while the Tender Data Sheet reserves it for PWD/Youth. (D1 p.5 (notice para 2); D2 p.34 (TDS ITT 35.2))
  • NCA registration timing: ITT says NCA registration is not a condition for tender but a condition of award and signature. The preliminary evaluation lists proof of NCA category 8 as a mandatory requirement at submission. (D2 p.8 (ITT 3, NCA paragraph); D2 p.37 (preliminary evaluation item 2))
  • Submission address: Tender Data Sheet gives the submission address as Gituba Primary School with a blank P.O. Box. The notice gives NG-CDF Gichugu office, P.O. Box 234-10301, Nairobi/Kianyaga. The cover page gives Gituba Primary School P.O. Box 234-10301 Kianyaga. (D2 p.34 (TDS ITT 24.1); D1 p.6 (notice para 12); D2 p.1 (cover))
  • Audited accounts period: Tender Data Sheet asks for audited reports for the last three years (2023, 2024, 2025). Financial criteria ask for audited balance sheets for 2024 and 2025 only. (D2 p.33 (TDS ITT 13 item 5); D2 p.47 (Form summary item 11))
  • Non-performance and litigation period: Section III says non-performance and litigation are checked over the last ONE YEAR. The qualification summary says since 1 January 2026. (D2 p.45 (Section III 2a and 2c); D2 p.46 (Form summary items 7 and 10))
  • Preference for PWD: ITT says no margin of preference is allowed on small works and the evaluation section says margin of preference is not applicable. The evaluation criteria give a 15% lower-price preference for PWD bidders who show interest. (D2 p.24 (ITT 35.1); D2 p.42 (stage 4 award criteria); D2 p.43 (section III item 6))
  • Tender validity start date: Notice says 120 days from the date of opening. ITT 20.1 says validity starts from the tender submission deadline. (D2 p.2 (invitation para 6); D2 p.15 (ITT 20.1))

Not covered in the documents we reviewed

  • No addenda (A1, A2...) were provided; check tenders.go.ke for any changes to date, validity, security or eligibility.
  • Only 34 of 187 pages of the tender document were reviewed. Bills of quantities, drawings, specifications, GCC/SCC conditions, tender forms and performance security terms were not reviewed.
  • Contract value or estimated cost is not stated in the material.
  • Tender security amount and form are unclear: TDS says not required, while invitation says NA. Confirm with the procuring entity.
  • Performance security amount is unclear: TDS ITT 21.5 reads 5%-N/A.
  • Number of copies: TDS ITT 22.1 reads non. Confirm whether more than one copy is required beyond the original.
  • Completion period (contract duration) is not stated in the reviewed pages.
  • Submission address P.O. Box and the procuring entity address are inconsistent or blank in the TDS.
  • Bank statement and other financial forms referenced in the technical criteria were not fully legible.

Terms explained

TDS
Tender Data Sheet: the project-specific rules that override the general Instructions to Tenderers (ITT).
ITT
Instructions to Tenderers: the standard rules on how to bid, deadlines, validity and disqualification.
Tender security
Money or guarantee submitted with a bid to show it is serious. Here the documents conflict on whether it is required.
Tender-Securing Declaration
A signed declaration form used instead of a bank guarantee, if the TDS allows it.
Responsive / non-responsive
A tender that meets all compulsory terms without material deviation is responsive. One that fails them is rejected without further evaluation.
Preliminary evaluation (MR)
The pass/fail check of mandatory requirements (MR) done before technical and financial scoring.
AGPO
Access to Government Procurement Opportunities: a reservation scheme for youth, women and persons with disability (PWD) who are registered with the authority.
PWD
Persons living with disability, a reserved group under the procurement law.
NCA
National Construction Authority: the body that registers contractors by category; a valid registration is needed to do construction work in Kenya.
CR12
Company Registry return listing directors and shareholders, issued by the Registrar of Companies.
Commissioner of Oaths
A person authorised to certify and stamp copies of documents and signed statements.
TCC
Tax Compliance Certificate issued by Kenya Revenue Authority.
Addendum
A written change to the tender documents issued by the procuring entity before the deadline; it overrides the original.
JV
Joint Venture: two or more firms bidding together.
Lots
Separate parts of a tender that can be bid for individually.
Nairobi City https://nairobicity.co.ke