Black Friday Ulikuwa unangoja ishuke. Imeshuka. starts in is live - ends in See early deals Shop the deals
Black Friday starts Fri 27 Nov 2026, 00:00. Black Friday is live until Mon 30 Nov 2026, 23:59.
Open

Installation of culverts at Murunyu Sub location and Muwa Estate, Lanet Umoja Ward, Bahati Sub County - reserved for women

Official title: Tender for the Proposed installation of culverts at Murunyu Sub location and Muwa Estate in Lanet Umoja Ward Bahati Sub County.

Closing
Tue 17 Nov 2026, 10:00 am EAT
Tender number
CGN/RTPW/ONT/016B/2026-2027
Procuring entity
Nakuru County Government
Category
Works · Open Tender
Reserved for (portal)
Women
County
Nakuru

Official documents take precedence. NairobiCity is an independent information service, not the procuring entity or a government body. This summary was prepared from the official documents with AI assistance; every requirement was matched to the document wording, but it can still contain mistakes. Before you apply, read the official tender documents and any addenda.

What is being bought

Contract for the proposed installation of culverts at Murunyu Sub location and Muwa Estate in Lanet Umoja Ward, Bahati Sub County, Nakuru County, under open national tender reserved for women (ref CGN/RTPW/ONT/016B/2026-2027). Quantities are not stated in the material reviewed.

What could disqualify you

  • Foreign tenderers not meeting the 40% national sourcing requirement will be automatically disqualified. Standard rule D2 p.11
  • Tenders with arithmetic errors shall be disqualified; errors in unit price, quantity, subtotal or total are a major deviation leading to disqualification as non-responsive. D2 p.32
  • Bidders who do not satisfy any mandatory requirement (MR 1 to MR 15) are non-responsive and will not be evaluated further. D2 p.32
  • Late tenders will be rejected and returned unopened. D2 p.6
  • Tenders that fail to provide information required for ownership/conflict of interest checks, or that cannot be verified, will be rejected. Standard rule D2 p.17
  • Tenders quoted in currencies other than Kenya shillings will be determined non-responsive and rejected. Standard rule D2 p.23

Key facts

Closing
Tue 17 Nov 2026, 10:00 am
Closing is 17 November 2026 at 10:00 a.m. East Africa time (no addenda changed this). D2 p.30
Bid / tender security
No tender security is required; a Tender-Securing Declaration form (original, signed and stamped) must be submitted instead. D2 p.29
Tender fee
Tender documents may be downloaded free of charge. D2 p.6
Site visit
Optional
Site visit is not applicable; tenderers are encouraged, at their own cost, to visit the site. D2 p.28
Pre-bid meeting
Optional
No pre-tender meeting. Questions must be submitted in writing no later than 3 days before the closing date. D2 p.28
Reserved for
Reserved for women (ITT 35.2 TDS: the invitation is extended to the group qualifying for reservations: RESERVED FOR WOMEN). D2 p.30
Contract value
Not stated in the documents we reviewed Not stated P
Tender opening
Tenders are opened publicly at County Government HQ, Moi Road, 1st Floor Board Room, Nakuru, immediately after the deadline, in the presence of tenderers' representatives who attend. D2 p.30
Tender validity
Tenders remain valid for 210 days from the opening date. D2 p.29

Who can apply

  • Tendering is reserved for women: only businesses belonging to the specified group (women-owned enterprises appropriately registered) may tender. D2 p.6
  • Eligibility is limited to firms registered in Kenya; foreign tenderers must show at least 40% of contract inputs sourced from national suppliers and contractors. Standard rule D2 p.11

Application checklist

Tick items off as you prepare. Your ticks stay on this device only.

Required from every bidder

  • D2 p.32
  • D2 p.32
  • D2 p.32
  • D2 p.32
  • D2 p.32
  • D2 p.32
  • D2 p.32
  • D2 p.32
  • D2 p.32
  • D2 p.32
  • D2 p.32
  • D2 p.32

Required only in some situations

  • D2 p.29

Experience, licences and financial capacity

Technical

  • Technical evaluation (70% pass mark): general experience in similar works (up to 10 marks, based on years in business) and specific experience of works of Kshs 2 million and above in the past 2 years (up to 20 marks), with evidence attached as LPO/LSO, award letters, contracts or completion certificates. D2 p.35
  • Bidders scoring below 70% in technical evaluation are eliminated; only those scoring 70% and above go to financial evaluation. D2 p.37

Financial

  • Financial capacity scored out of 25: certified bank statements for 2025 and 2024, and certified audited accounts for 2025 and 2024 signed and stamped by a certified practising accountant/auditor (or letter of credit). D2 p.35
  • Financial evaluation: the tenderer qualifying technically with the lowest quoted price is recommended for award; ties go to the highest technical score. D2 p.37

How and where to submit

  • Submit one original tender plus soft copy through the supplier portal; hard copies in a plain sealed envelope marked with tender number and description, deposited in the tender box at County Government HQ Ground Floor, Moi Road, Nakuru, or posted to the County Secretary, P.O. Box 2780-20100, Nakuru. D2 p.29
  • Tenders must be submitted in both soft copy (through the IFMIS supplier portal) and hard copies in the manner described in the Invitation Notice. D2 p.32
  • ITT 22.1 requires the original plus ONE copy of the tender. D2 p.29

Lots and categories

  • No lots: the tender is a single contract. Not stated D2 p.29

What the addenda changed

  • No addenda were provided for review. Not stated P

Points to confirm with the procuring entity

The documents do not agree with each other on these points. Ask the procuring entity for a written clarification before you submit.

  • Tender opening/submission venue: TDS gives Moi Road HQ 1st Floor Board Room for opening; the tender notice states opening at County Chambers and the Tender Box at Ground Floor entrance. Confirm with the procuring entity where bids are opened. (D1 p.3; D2 p.30)
  • Mandatory document MR 10 missing: The mandatory requirements list skips from MR 9 to MR 11; the missing MR 10 is not stated in the material reviewed. Ask the procuring entity. (D2 p.32)

Not covered in the documents we reviewed

  • Bill of Quantities, drawings and specifications (Sections V to VII) for the culverts, including quantities and site location details
  • Section IV tender forms and the confidential business questionnaire
  • Any addenda (none provided)
  • Estimated contract value and the required financial thresholds (TR 2 minimum turnover amounts left blank in Section III)
  • Contract duration and completion time
  • MR 10 requirement (skipped in the list)
  • Performance security details (Section III/ITT 52 TDS figures)
  • Opening of the bid documents for the Stage I preliminary evaluation procedure details

Terms explained

Reserved for women / AGPO
Tender limited to businesses owned by the reserved group; bidder must show a valid AGPO certificate for women.
Tender-Securing Declaration
A signed, stamped form pledging to accept penalties if the bidder withdraws; used instead of a cash or bank tender security here.
MR (Mandatory Requirement)
A pass/fail requirement at preliminary evaluation; failing one makes the bid non-responsive.
Responsive / non-responsive
A bid that meets all mandatory terms is responsive and is evaluated; a non-responsive bid is rejected without evaluation.
TDS
Tender Data Sheet: the tender-specific rules that supplement the general Instructions to Tenderers.
CR12
Kenyan company return listing company directors, issued by the Registrar of Companies.
NCA
National Construction Authority, the regulator requiring contractor registration and practising licence.
LPO/LSO
Local Purchase Order / Local Service Order, evidence of past contracts.
Get the Nairobi City app Free, quick to install, no app store needed