Black Friday Ulikuwa unangoja ishuke. Imeshuka. starts in is live - ends in See early deals Shop the deals
Black Friday starts Fri 27 Nov 2026, 00:00. Black Friday is live until Mon 30 Nov 2026, 23:59.
Open

Periodic maintenance of Wamalicha, Nabuyeywe and Ng'oli roads, West Bukusu Ward, Bungoma County

Official title: PERIODIC MAINTENANCE OF WAMALICHA, NABUYEYWE AND NG’OLI ROADS IN WEST BUKUSU WARD

Closing
Tue 17 Nov 2026, 11:00 am EAT
Tender number
BGM/CNTY/RPW/CEF/OT/ 048/2026/2027. NEGOTIATION NUMBER: 2656976
Procuring entity
Bungoma County Government
Category
Works · Open Tender
County
Bungoma

Official documents take precedence. NairobiCity is an independent information service, not the procuring entity or a government body. This summary was prepared from the official documents with AI assistance; every requirement was matched to the document wording, but it can still contain mistakes. Before you apply, read the official tender documents and any addenda.

What is being bought

Periodic maintenance of Wamalicha, Nabuyeywe and Ng'oli roads in West Bukusu Ward, Bungoma County, about 3.5 km per the tender schedule (Tender BGM/CNTY/RPW/CEF/OT/048/2026-2027, Negotiation No. 2656976-2026/2027). It is a single open national works tender for road contractors registered with the National Construction Authority (NCA) at NCA 8 and above.

What could disqualify you

  • Bidders with stalled projects participating in bidding under this tender notice shall be disqualified. D1 p.8
  • Any form of canvassing will lead to disqualification. D1 p.8
  • Manual (paper) submissions will not be accepted. Tenders not submitted through the IFMIS platform will not be considered. D2 p.8
  • Tenderers who do not satisfy any of the preliminary/mandatory requirements are treated as non-responsive and their tenders are not evaluated further. D2 p.31
  • A tender not accompanied by a substantially responsive bid security (tender security or tender-securing declaration) is rejected as non-responsive. Standard rule D2 p.17

Key facts

Closing
Tue 17 Nov 2026, 11:00 am
Tenders must be received on the IFMIS portal by this date and time. The portal record and advert give 17 November 2026 at 11:00 AM; the TDS ITT 22.1 gives a different date (see conflicts). Conflicting D1 p.1
Bid / tender security
Bid security of Ksh157,000 from a reputable bank, financial institution or insurance company approved by PPRA. Form at bidder's option: cash, bank guarantee, insurance company guarantee, or a licensed financial institution guarantee (ITT 19.2). Valid 30 days beyond the tender validity period (ITT 19.3). The tender security must be original and in the stated amount. D2 p.27
Tender fee
Tender documents may be downloaded free of charge using the IFMIS Negotiation Number. No tender fee is stated for submitting a bid. D1 p.1
Site visit
Mandatory
Mandatory pre-tender site visit at the Department of Roads boardroom. A site visit certificate is issued as evidence of attendance and must be attached to the bid. D2 p.26
Pre-bid meeting
Mandatory
Pre-tender meeting at the same date, time and place as the site visit (Department of Roads boardroom). Questions must be submitted in writing not later than three days before the meeting. D2 p.26
Reserved for
Open tender: not reserved for youth, women, persons with disabilities or AGPO groups. The TDS group field for ITT 33.4 is blank. D1 p.4
Contract value
Not stated in the documents we reviewed Not stated
Tender opening
Tenders are opened immediately after the closing time, in the presence of bidders or their representatives who attend. Venue differs between the advert (Ministry conference hall) and the TDS (Department boardroom, Kanduyi). Conflicting D1 p.8
Tender validity
Tenders remain valid for 120 days from the closing date. Shorter validity is rejected as non-responsive. D2 p.27

Who can apply

  • Open national tender: tendering is open to all qualified and interested tenderers. The schedule lists eligibility as NCA 8 and above for this road. D2 p.7
  • Eligibility for this lot: registration with the National Construction Authority for Road works at NCA 8 and above, with a valid annual practicing licence. D2 p.8

Application checklist

Tick items off as you prepare. Your ticks stay on this device only.

Required from every bidder

  • D2 p.8
  • D2 p.8
  • D2 p.8
  • D2 p.8
  • D2 p.8
  • D2 p.8
  • D2 p.8
  • D2 p.8
  • D2 p.8
  • D2 p.8
  • D2 p.8
  • D2 p.27
  • D2 p.31

Experience, licences and financial capacity

Technical

  • Every bidder must be represented at the site visit by one technical person with at least a Diploma in Civil or Highway Engineering. That person must bring original ID/passport and certified copies of the diploma and engineering registration, plus an original signed introductory letter on company letterhead and stamp. Certified copies must be certified by a Commissioner of Oaths or Notary Public. One person may represent only one company. D1 p.1
  • Technical evaluation scores key personnel (site agent, surveyor, foreman) up to 20 marks, plant and equipment up to 10 marks, work methodology up to 25 marks, work safety up to 10 marks and history of non-performance up to 5 marks. Total 100; 70% or above is responsive. D2 p.31
  • Work programme and cash flow estimate are scored (0-15 marks) and a detailed method statement is scored (0-10 marks). D2 p.33

Financial

  • Financial statements certified by a reputable audit firm for the last two years are scored (3 marks). D2 p.33
  • Average turnover figures for the last two years are scored (3 marks). D2 p.33
  • Undertaking from the bank providing a current line of credit specific to this tender is scored (5 marks). D2 p.33
  • Experience is scored (up to 15 marks), including general experience and similar contracts each with a minimum value of KShs 2,000,000 in the last four years, with completion certificates attached. D2 p.33

How and where to submit

  • Tenders must be submitted electronically through the IFMIS Supplier Portal (www.supplier.treasury.go.ke) to be received by the closing time. Manual submissions are not accepted. D1 p.1
  • Complete tender documents must be uploaded in PDF format through the IFMIS Supplier Portal at www.supplier.treasury.go.ke. The D2 cover contains a typo in the portal address (rteasury), so use the D1 address. D1 p.8
  • Number of copies beyond the original: none specified. D2 p.27
  • Written clarification requests must reach the Procuring Entity at the Department of Roads, Infrastructure and Public Works, P.O Box 437-50200 Bungoma, by 13/11/2026. Email roadsbgmcounty@gmail.com. Questions for the pre-tender meeting must reach the entity not later than three days before the meeting. D2 p.26

Points to confirm with the procuring entity

The documents do not agree with each other on these points. Ask the procuring entity for a written clarification before you submit.

  • Tender closing date: The advert and invitation give Tuesday 17 November 2026 at 11:00 AM, and the portal record matches. TDS ITT 22.1 states date and time for submission as 2/3/2026 at 11:00am. Ask the procuring entity to confirm the closing date. (D1 p.1; D2 p.7; D2 p.27 (TDS ITT 22.1); Portal record)
  • Site visit attendance vs disqualification: Section III and the invitation say the pre-bid site visit is mandatory and a site visit certificate must be attached. ITT 7.5 says non-attendance at the pre-arranged site visit will not be a cause for disqualification. Ask the entity whether missing the visit disqualifies a bid. (D2 p.8 and p.31 (Section III); D2 p.14 (ITT 7.5))
  • NCA registration timing: Preliminary criteria require a valid NCA 8+ certificate with practicing licence at submission. ITT 3.12 says NCA registration is not a condition for tender but is a condition of award and signature. Ask the entity which applies. (D2 p.8 and p.30 (Section III); D2 p.13 (ITT 3.12))
  • Opening venue: Advert says bids are opened at the Ministry of Roads, Infrastructure and Public Works Conference Hall. TDS ITT 25.1 gives the Department of Roads boardroom in Kanduyi. (D1 p.8; D2 p.27 (TDS ITT 25.1))

Not covered in the documents we reviewed

  • Addenda or clarifications issued after the advert (none were in the material)
  • Contract value / engineer's estimate
  • Full Section III scoring detail and Section IV forms (only parts reviewed)
  • Bills of quantities and technical specifications (Sections V-VII)
  • Contract conditions and performance security details (Sections VIII-X)
  • Confirmation of the correct closing date after the TDS conflict
  • Confirmation of the opening venue
  • Clarification response if any requests are made before 13/11/2026

Terms explained

TDS
Tender Data Sheet: the tender-specific particulars that override the general Instructions to Tenderers.
ITT
Instructions to Tenderers: the standard rules in the tender document on how to prepare and submit bids.
Tender security
A bank, insurance or other guarantee (or cash) of a set amount, submitted with the bid to show the bidder will keep its offer and sign if awarded.
Tender-Securing Declaration
A signed declaration that can replace a tender security where the TDS allows it. Here the TDS requires a tender security instead.
AGPO
Access to Government Procurement Opportunities: a registration scheme for youth, women and persons with disabilities. This tender is open, so AGPO is not required.
Responsive / non-responsive
A bid that meets all mandatory requirements is responsive. A bid that does not is non-responsive and is rejected without full evaluation.
NCA 8 and above
Registration with the National Construction Authority in contractor category 8 or higher, needed for road works.
IFMIS Supplier Portal
The government electronic procurement system where tenders must be uploaded as PDFs.
CR12
Company Registry return listing directors and shareholders, issued by the Business Registration Service and needed to show recent company details.
Preliminary/mandatory evaluation
The first screening stage, where bids missing any listed item are non-responsive.
Get the Nairobi City app Free, quick to install, no app store needed