Black Friday Ulikuwa unangoja ishuke. Imeshuka. starts in is live - ends in See early deals Shop the deals
Black Friday starts Fri 27 Nov 2026, 00:00. Black Friday is live until Mon 30 Nov 2026, 23:59.
Open

Periodic maintenance of Waweloba Road in Bokoli Ward, Bungoma County (Tender BGM/CNTY/RPW/CEF/OT/061/2026-2027)

Official title: PERIODIC MAINTENANCE OF WAWELOBA ROAD IN BOKOLI WARD.

Closing
Tue 17 Nov 2026, 11:00 am EAT
Tender number
BGM/CNTY/RPW/CEF/OT/ 061/2026/2027. NEGOTIATION NUMBER: 2656949
Procuring entity
Bungoma County Government
Category
Works · Open Tender
County
Bungoma

Official documents take precedence. NairobiCity is an independent information service, not the procuring entity or a government body. This summary was prepared from the official documents with AI assistance; every requirement was matched to the document wording, but it can still contain mistakes. Before you apply, read the official tender documents and any addenda.

What is being bought

Periodic maintenance of Waweloba Road in Bokoli Ward, Bungoma County, road length 4.2 km per the detailed tender schedule. Open national tender for works, under NCA 8 and above eligibility.

What could disqualify you

  • Bidders with stalled projects participating in this tender shall be disqualified. D1 p.8
  • Any form of canvassing will lead to disqualification. D1 p.8
  • Tenderers who do not satisfy the preliminary/mandatory evaluation criteria are considered non-responsive and will not be evaluated further. D2 p.31
  • A tender not accompanied by a substantially responsive tender security or tender-securing declaration shall be rejected as non-responsive. Standard rule D2 p.17
  • Missing the mandatory pre-bid meeting/site visit or not attaching the site visit certificate makes a bidder non-responsive under the preliminary criteria. D2 p.31
  • Manual (paper) submissions will not be accepted; tenders must be submitted through the IFMIS platform. Late submission is not allowed after 17 November 2026 11:00 AM. D1 p.8

Key facts

Closing
Tue 17 Nov 2026, 11:00 am
Tender closing and opening date and time; submission via IFMIS Supplier Portal. Portal record shows same closing date and time. Unverified D2 p.7
Bid / tender security
Bid security of Ksh149,000 from a reputable bank, financial institution or insurance company approved by PPRA, in the form of cash, bank guarantee, insurance guarantee or other approved financial institution guarantee at the tenderer's option. Valid for 30 days beyond the original tender validity period (120 days), i.e. 30 days beyond the tender validity period. D2 p.27
Tender fee
Not stated in the documents we reviewed Not stated D1 p.1
Site visit
Mandatory
Mandatory pre-tender site visit and pre-bid meeting at the Department of Roads, Infrastructure and Public Works boardroom, Bungoma. Site visit certificate issued as proof of attendance. D2 p.8
Pre-bid meeting
Mandatory
Pre-tender meeting at the Boardroom on 10 November 2026 at 10.00am (same session as the mandatory site visit). Questions must reach the Procuring Entity in writing not later than three days before the meeting. D2 p.27
Reserved for
Not reserved: the tender is open to all eligible contractors. Tender data sheet says reservation not applicable. D2 p.28
Contract value
Not stated in the documents we reviewed Not stated P
Tender opening
Tenders opened immediately after the deadline at the Department of Roads boardroom (Kanduyi), P.O Box 437-50200 Bungoma; bidders or representatives may attend. Electronic bid opening via IFMIS. D2 p.27
Tender validity
Tender validity period is 120 days from the closing date. Tenders valid for shorter period will be rejected as non-responsive. Extension requests may be made, and bid security must then be extended 30 days beyond the extended validity. D2 p.27

Who can apply

  • Open national competitive tender; tendering is open to all qualified and interested tenderers (eligibility category OPEN in the advert schedule). Tender is not reserved to youth, women or persons with disability. D2 p.7
  • Contractors must hold a valid NCA registration for road works, category NCA 8 and above, accompanied by a valid annual practising licence. D2 p.8

Application checklist

Tick items off as you prepare. Your ticks stay on this device only.

Required from every bidder

  • D2 p.8
  • D2 p.8
  • D2 p.8
  • D2 p.8
  • D2 p.8
  • D2 p.8
  • D2 p.8
  • D2 p.8
  • D2 p.8
  • D2 p.8
  • D2 p.8
  • D2 p.27

Required only in some situations

  • D2 p.14

Experience, licences and financial capacity

Technical

  • Mandatory site visit/pre-bid conference: every bidder must be represented by one technical person holding at least a Diploma in Civil/Highway Engineering, who brings original ID/passport and certified copies of ID, diploma/degree, and EBK/KETRB/IET registration with proof of current subscription, plus an original introductory letter on company letterhead, stamped and signed. Certified copies must be certified by a Commissioner of Oaths or Notary Public; these documents are retained by the Procuring Entity. D1 p.7
  • Tender must be submitted electronically through the IFMIS Supplier Portal; one person may represent only one company per tender. Tender documents to be uploaded in PDF format. D1 p.8
  • Evaluation technical criteria (max 100 points; 70% and above is responsive): key personnel (site agent, surveyor, foreman), plant and equipment, financial capability, work methodology, work safety, and experience. Full scoring detail is in Section III. D2 p.34

Financial

  • Financial capability scored under evaluation (max 15 points): audited financial statements for last two years, bank statements from a reputable bank for last six months, financial ratios, average turnover for last two years, and bank undertaking for line of credit specific to the tender. D2 p.33
  • Experience scored under evaluation (max 15 points): general experience with minimum value KShs 2,000,000 with at least two completion certificates per project for last 4 years, and similar contracts of minimum KShs 2,000,000 in last 4 years. D2 p.34

How and where to submit

  • Submit complete tender through IFMIS Supplier Portal (www.supplier.treasury.go.ke); manual submissions not accepted. Tender must be received by the closing date and time. Tenders are opened immediately after the deadline at the Ministry of Roads conference hall; bidders may attend. D1 p.8
  • Number of copies: none beyond the original tender. D2 p.27
  • Alternative tenders not considered; alternative completion times not permitted; alternative technical solutions not allowed. D2 p.15

Lots and categories

  • No lots: single contract for Waweloba Road (tender 061 of 2026/2027). D2 p.7

What the addenda changed

  • No addenda were provided in the reviewed material. Not stated P

Points to confirm with the procuring entity

The documents do not agree with each other on these points. Ask the procuring entity for a written clarification before you submit.

  • Pre-bid meeting time: Advert and ITT give 10:00 AM for the site visit/pre-bid meeting; TDS ITT 7.2 gives 10.00am and the invitation says 10.00 am. Consistent. Note: the detailed schedule in the advert lists the site visit on 10 November without a time, but the advert key-dates table says 'Tuesday, 10th November 2026' only. (D1 p.1-2; D2 p.8, p.21)
  • Mandatory vs optional site visit wording: Advert says mandatory pre-tender site visit or pre-bid conference; ITT 7.2 and 7.5 describe the site visit and pre-tender meeting as optional attendance, stating non-attendance is not a cause for disqualification, while the Preliminary Examination says site visit is mandatory and missing it leads to non-responsiveness. A bidder should ask the procuring entity which applies. (D1 p.1, p.7; D2 p.8, p.14, p.31)

Not covered in the documents we reviewed

  • Addenda or clarifications issued after the tender document (none provided)
  • Full Section III scoring detail beyond the summary provided and the Section IV forms (partly reviewed)
  • Bills of quantities, specifications and drawings (Parts 2 and 3 not reviewed)
  • Contract value and tender fee amount
  • Procuring entity's clarification deadline date confirmation (TDS says 13/11/2026)
  • Whether the pre-bid site visit is compulsory: wording conflicts between sources

Terms explained

TDS
Tender Data Sheet: the tender-specific section that sets the particular values (dates, bid security amount, validity) and overrides the general instructions.
Tender security / bid security
A guarantee or cash deposit that a bidder submits with the tender to show it is serious; it is forfeited if the bidder withdraws or refuses to sign.
Tender-Securing Declaration
A signed declaration form that can replace a bid security in some cases; here the TDS requires a bid security amount.
NCA
National Construction Authority, which registers contractors for construction works and assigns categories such as NCA 8 and above.
AGPO
Access to Government Procurement Opportunities, a registration for youth, women and persons with disability enterprises; not applicable to this open tender.
Responsive
A tender that meets all mandatory requirements and conditions in the tender documents; non-responsive tenders are rejected without evaluation.
CR12
Company Registry return listing a company's directors and shareholders, issued by the Registrar of Companies; must be recent (within 6 months).
IFMIS
Integrated Financial Management Information System, the government e-procurement platform through which this tender must be submitted.
JV
Joint Venture: two or more firms bidding together under one agreement.
Addendum
A written change or clarification issued by the procuring entity after the tender was published; it forms part of the tender documents.
Get the Nairobi City app Free, quick to install, no app store needed