Provision of driving course training services for Tsimba Golini Ward, Kwale County (Ref CGK/2674905/2026-2027)
Official title: PROVISION OF DRIVING COURSE TRAINING SERVICES FOR TSIMBA GOLINI WARD
- Closing
- Mon 16 Nov 2026, 10:30 am EAT
- Tender number
- CGK/2674905/2026-2027
- Procuring entity
- Kwale County Government
- Catégorie
- Non Consultancy Services · Open Tender
- County
- Kwale
Official documents take precedence. NairobiCity is an independent information service, not the procuring entity or a government body. This summary was prepared from the official documents with AI assistance; every requirement was matched to the document wording, but it can still contain mistakes. Before you apply, read the official tender documents and any addenda.
What is being bought
Kwale County Government, through the County Department of Social Services and Talent Management, requests sealed tenders for provision of driving course training services for Tsimba Golini Ward. The ITT states an Intended Completion Date of December 2026. The material does not state the number of trainees, courses or the exact training location.
What could disqualify you
- Bidders that miss out a single statutory requirement shall be disqualified at the knock-out stage. D1 p.28
- Bidders scoring below the minimum technical score are disqualified (see conflicts: the minimum is stated as 55 in one place and 60 in another). D1 p.29
- Any tender not accompanied by a substantially responsive tender security is rejected as non-responsive. Standard rule D1 p.12
- Late tenders will be rejected. D1 p.2
- A tender valid for a shorter period than the required tender validity will be rejected as non-responsive. Standard rule D1 p.12
- Foreign tenderers not meeting the 40 percent national sourcing requirement will be automatically disqualified. Standard rule D1 p.7
Key facts
- Closing
-
Mon 16 Nov 2026, 10:30 am
Tender submission deadline is Monday 16 November 2026 at 10:30 (matches the portal closing date; no addenda were reviewed). D1 p.2 - Bid / tender security
- Tender security of Ksh 140,000.00 from an authorised tender security provider approved by PPRA must accompany each tender. Form options (ITT 21.3, at the tenderer's option): cash, bank guarantee, insurance company guarantee, or Central Bank-licensed financial institution guarantee. Security must be registered on time before the deadline. Security validity period is not stated. D1 p.22
- Tender fee
- Tender documents obtained electronically are free of charge. D1 p.2
- Site visit
-
Optionnel
A pre-arranged pre-tender site visit will not be held; site visits are optional and at the tenderer's own cost. D1 p.21 - Pre-bid meeting
-
Optionnel
A pre-tender conference will not be held. D1 p.21 - Reserved for
- No reservation: the TDS states the invitation is not reserved for any group (not applicable), and the portal lists no reserved groups. D1 p.23
- Contract value
- Not stated in the documents we reviewed Not stated D1
- Tender opening
- The TDS gives the electronic tender opening as Monday 16 October 2026 at 10:30AM, which conflicts with the 16 November 2026 deadline. Conflicting D1 p.23
- Tender validity
- Tenders remain valid for 126 days, counted from the submission deadline. D1 p.22
Who can apply
- Tendering is open to all qualified and interested tenderers. The invitation does not reserve the tender for any group. D1 p.2
- Joint ventures (JV) are allowed with a maximum of 2 members. D1 p.21
- A Kenyan tenderer may tender only if it provides evidence of having fulfilled its tax obligations, by producing a valid tax compliance certificate or tax exemption certificate issued by the Kenya Revenue Authority. Standard rule D1 p.7
- Foreign tenderers (not registered in Kenya, or less than 51 percent owned by Kenyan citizens) must source at least 40 percent of contract inputs from national suppliers and contractors and provide documentary evidence of this. Standard rule D1 p.7
Application checklist
Tick items off as you prepare. Your ticks stay on this device only.
Required from every bidder
- D1 p.28
- D1 p.28
- D1 p.28
- D1 p.28
- D1 p.28
- D1 p.28
- D1 p.28
- D1 p.28
- D1 p.28
- D1 p.28
- D1 p.28
- D1 p.28
- Standard rule D1 p.10
- D1 p.22
Required only in some situations
- Standard rule D1 p.10
Experience, licences and financial capacity
Technical
- Specific experience: proof of similar services offered to at least 3 clients (award letters and LSO/LPO or contract agreements). 30 marks. D1 p.28
- Client references: letters of recommendation with full contacts and contact persons for the clients listed. 10 marks. D1 p.28
- Company profile with organogram and list of relevant personnel (management and 3 drivers). 5 marks. D1 p.28
- Instructors: each must have a minimum KCSE grade of D-, a valid driving licence with at least four years experience, a DCI certificate of good conduct, and completion of an instructor training course. 20 marks. D1 p.28
- Submit a list of driving instructors with copies of their instructor licences, and a list of equipment and facilities at the driving school. D1 p.29
- Vehicles: clear, most recent photos and ownership details of the available fleet, at least one vehicle. 5 marks. D1 p.29
- Technical stage maximum score 80; minimum score to qualify is stated in the criteria (conflict: 55 in heading, 60 in closing note). Unverified D1 p.28
Financial
How and where to submit
- Electronic tender submission via the procedure stated in the TDS: log in, search the RFQ/tender number, download the bid document, fill in, sign and stamp, attach attachments, upload and submit. D1 p.23
- Only electronic tenders are permitted. D1 p.2
- The TDS states the e-submission login as www.supplier.treasury.go.ke; ITT 2.1 names the IFMIS system (see conflicts). Conflicting D1 p.23
- Original tender security must be delivered in a plain sealed envelope marked with tender name and number, addressed to the Chief Officer, Department of Social Services and Talent Management, at the County Treasury Procurement office (conflicts with electronic-only submission). Conflicting D1 p.2
- Number of copies required in addition to the original: NIL. D1 p.22
- No private links (for example Google Drive) are allowed in the tender submission. D1 p.21
- Procuring entity's submission contact: Attention Riziki Mwasoza, Accounting Officer, P.O. Box 4-80403, Kwale; physical address Kwale Stadium. D1 p.22
Lots and categories
- Lot N/A: No lots: the number of lots is stated as N/A, so the tender is one contract. D1 p.21
What the addenda changed
- No addenda were included in the reviewed material. Not stated D1
Points to confirm with the procuring entity
The documents do not agree with each other on these points. Ask the procuring entity for a written clarification before you submit.
- Tender opening date: The TDS gives the electronic opening as 16 October 2026 at 10:30AM, but the deadline is 16 November 2026 at 10:30AM. Ask the procuring entity for the correct opening date. (D1 p.23 (ITT 27.1) vs D1 p.2 and p.23 (ITT 24.1 deadline))
- Electronic-only submission vs physical tender security: The invitation says only electronic tenders are permitted, but the TDS requires the original tender security in a sealed envelope delivered to the County Treasury Procurement office. (D1 p.2 vs D1 p.22 (ITT 21.1))
- Whether a tender security is required: The TDS says a tender security is required at Ksh 140,000.00 but also contains bracketed text stating a tender security shall not be required. Ask which applies. (D1 p.22 (ITT 21.1 TDS text))
- Electronic submission platform: The TDS names the IFMIS system (ifmisapp01.treasury.go.ke) under ITT 2.1 but gives www.supplier.treasury.go.ke for submission under ITT 24.1. Ask which platform to use. (D1 p.21 (ITT 2.1) vs D1 p.23 (ITT 24.1))
- Minimum technical score: The technical stage heading states a minimum score of fifty-five (60) while the closing note says those scoring below sixty (60) are disqualified. (D1 p.28 vs D1 p.29)
Not covered in the documents we reviewed
- Section V (Procuring Entity's Requirements): number of trainees, course type, training location and duration
- Contract value or budget
- Tender security validity period and whether it must be extended
- Addenda, clarifications or responses to queries
- Correct opening date and time, and which e-procurement platform to use
- Section III financial evaluation thresholds and post-qualification details
- Section VI/VII contract conditions and payment terms
- Tender forms in Section IV and Business Questionnaire
Terms explained
- TDS
- Tender Data Sheet: the tender-specific rules that override the standard Instructions to Tenderers.
- ITT
- Instructions to Tenderers: the standard rules for preparing and submitting a tender.
- Tender security
- Money or guarantee submitted with a tender to show seriousness; it can be forfeited if the bidder withdraws or fails to sign the contract.
- Responsive / substantially responsive
- A tender that meets all the required conditions without material deviation; non-responsive tenders are rejected.
- Knock-out stage
- Preliminary statutory checks; missing any one item leads to disqualification before scoring.
- NTSA
- National Transport and Safety Authority, which registers driving schools and inspects vehicles.
- CR12
- Company search certificate showing shareholders and directors.
- Power of attorney
- Written authority allowing a named person to sign the tender for the bidder.
- JV
- Joint venture: two or more firms tendering together as one bidder.
- PPRA
- Public Procurement Regulatory Authority of Kenya.
- Validity period
- The number of days the bidder must keep the tender open for acceptance after the deadline.
- LSO / LPO
- Local Service Order or Local Purchase Order, used as proof of past similar work.