Black Friday Ulikuwa unangoja ishuke. Imeshuka. starts in is live - ends in See early deals Shop the deals
Black Friday starts Fri 27 Nov 2026, 00:00. Black Friday is live until Mon 30 Nov 2026, 23:59.
Open

Proposed grading of Lungalunga–Godo-Kwa Nyanje Road in Lungalunga Constituency, Kwale County

Official title: PROPOSED GRADING OF LUNGALUNGA –GODO-KWA NYANJE ROAD IN LUNGALUNGACONSTITUENCY, KWALE COUNTY

Closing
Tue 10 Nov 2026, 10:00 am EAT
Tender number
CGK/ FEP/044/EQU/2026-2027
Procuring entity
Kwale County Government
Category
Works · Open Tender
County
Kwale

Official documents take precedence. NairobiCity is an independent information service, not the procuring entity or a government body. This summary was prepared from the official documents with AI assistance; every requirement was matched to the document wording, but it can still contain mistakes. Before you apply, read the official tender documents and any addenda.

What is being bought

Kwale County Government invites sealed tenders for the proposed grading of Lungalunga–Godo-Kwa Nyanje Road in Lungalunga Constituency, Kwale County, under an open tender with a bill of quantities covering preliminaries, culverts and drainage, grading and gravelling, and environmental mitigation. Road length and total contract value are not stated in the pages reviewed.

What could disqualify you

  • Late tenders will be rejected and returned unopened. D1 p.18
  • Any tender not accompanied by a substantially responsive tender security (or tender-securing declaration) is rejected as non-responsive. D1 p.15
  • A tenderer proven to have engaged in corrupt, coercive, obstructive or fraudulent practice is automatically disqualified. D1 p.7
  • A tenderer participating in more than one tender (including as a subcontractor or as a joint venture member in the same tender) causes disqualification of all tenders it is involved in. D1 p.7
  • Missing any preliminary mandatory requirement is outright disqualification. D1 p.39
  • Any bidder found to have frontloaded its bill of quantities will have its bid expunged. D1 p.39
  • Bidders who attach documents that are not genuine will be disqualified. D1 p.42

Key facts

Closing
Tue 10 Nov 2026, 10:00 am
Completed tenders must be delivered to the submission address on or before this date and time. Portal closing time matches the invitation. D1 p.2
Bid / tender security
Tender security must be a valid bank guarantee in the PPRA prescribed form, original, in plain sealed envelope. Amount conflicts: TDS states KES 40,800,000; invitation states 40,800.00. Conflicting D1 p.27
Tender fee
Tender documents may be obtained electronically free of charge; no fee for the tender document is stated. D1 p.2
Site visit
Optional
No pre-tender site visit is scheduled; site visit is optional and at the tenderer's own expense. D1 p.27
Pre-bid meeting
Optional
The TDS does not specify a pre-tender meeting; the entry reads N/A for the site visit line. Unverified D1 p.27
Reserved for
Not reserved to youth, women, persons with disabilities or AGPO; open to all qualified bidders. D1 p.2
Contract value
Not stated in the documents we reviewed Not stated D2 p.1
Tender opening
Tenders will be opened in public immediately after the deadline at the Procurement Office, County Treasury, Kwale; representatives may attend. Time is given as immediately after closing. D1 p.2
Tender validity
Tenders must remain valid for 126 days. Start point conflicts: invitation counts from opening; ITT 18.1 counts from submission deadline. Conflicting D1 p.2

Who can apply

  • Tendering is open to all qualified and interested bidders under the National Open competitive method. The reserved-group status is not reserved. D1 p.2

Application checklist

Tick items off as you prepare. Your ticks stay on this device only.

Required from every bidder

  • D1 p.39
  • D1 p.39
  • Conflicting D1 p.39
  • D1 p.39
  • D1 p.39
  • D1 p.39
  • D1 p.39
  • D1 p.28
  • D1 p.27
  • D1 p.40
  • D1 p.43
  • D1 p.39

Required only in some situations

  • D1 p.40

Experience, licences and financial capacity

Technical

  • Four previous civil works road contracts of similar nature, each of KES 8 million and above, with award notice, LPO/contract, completion certificate and proof of payment. D1 p.40
  • Key personnel: Site Agent (BSc Civil Engineering, EBK-registered Professional Engineer with practising licence, 5 years general experience); Assistant Site Agent; Site Foreman (Diploma); Site Surveyor (BSc Survey/Geomatics); Environmentalist (BSc with valid NEMA licence). D1 p.41
  • Key equipment is scored; owned equipment gets full marks and leased equipment half marks. Listed items include plate compactor, rock drill, concrete mixer, tipper, water tanker, dozer, motor grader, excavator and rollers. D1 p.42
  • Construction schedule / works programme with key milestones, logical sequence, critical path, completion within 12 months, generated with project management software (scored). D1 p.41
  • Submission of a work methodology demonstrating understanding of the scope of works. D1 p.36
  • General construction experience as contractor, subcontractor or management contractor for at least the last five years. D1 p.36
  • Specific experience: participation in at least one similar contract of at least KSH 100 Million successfully completed (conflicts with the 8 million road experience figure). Conflicting D1 p.36

Financial

  • Minimum average annual construction turnover of KShs 100,000,000 over the last two years (conflicts with KShs 300M and scoring thresholds). Conflicting D1 p.36
  • Working capital / cash flow of KShs 50,000,000 (Section III 3.1); Section III 7 gives KShs 100M cash flow for construction. Conflict. Conflicting D1 p.35
  • Tenderers must quote in Kenya Shillings and include all taxes. D1 p.2
  • Levy payable by the supplier at 0.03% of the value of each signed contract, exclusive of taxes, under the Levy Order 2023. D1 p.2
  • If the bid is found frontloaded or unbalanced, the performance security may be increased to not exceeding 10% of the bid sum. D1 p.28

How and where to submit

  • Submit as a hard copy in a plain sealed envelope marked with tender name and number, addressed to the Accounting Officer, Executive Services Finance and Economic Planning, dropped in the tender box at the front of the Procurement Office, County Treasury, Kwale. D1 p.28
  • Submission and opening address: County Department of Finance and Economic Planning, Kwale County Treasury Building, P.O Box 4-80403, Kwale, Opposite Kwale Police post. D1 p.3
  • Inner envelopes must bear the procuring entity name and address, the tenderer name and address, and the tender reference number. Standard rule D1 p.18
  • Clarification requests in writing must reach the procuring entity not later than Thursday 5 November 2026. D1 p.27

Lots and categories

  • No lots are defined in the reviewed pages. Not stated D1 p.30

What the addenda changed

  • No addenda were provided for review. Not stated P

Points to confirm with the procuring entity

The documents do not agree with each other on these points. Ask the procuring entity for a written clarification before you submit.

  • Tender security amount: Invitation states Kenya shillings Forty Thousand, Eight Hundred Shillings Only (40,800.00; TDS and appendix state KES 40,800,000 (Forty Thousand and Eight Hundred Shillings only). (D1 p.2; D1 p.27; D1 p.39)
  • Tender validity start date: Invitation says validity runs 126 days from the date of opening; ITT 18.1 says it starts from the submission deadline. (D1 p.2; D1 p.15; D1 p.27)
  • NCA registration class: Appendix requires Civil Works Roads 8; Section III requires NCA-6 Road Works as minimum. (D1 p.35; D1 p.39)
  • Minimum average annual turnover: Section III 3.2 states KShs 100,000,000; Section III 7(ii) states KShs 300M; appendix scoring uses KShs 10 million thresholds. (D1 p.31; D1 p.35; D1 p.41)
  • Cash flow requirement: Section III 3.1 requires min KShs 50,000,000; Section III 7(b)(i) requires KShs 100M. (D1 p.31; D1 p.35)
  • Similar experience threshold: Section III 4.2(a) requires a contract of KSH 100 Million; appendix requires four similar road works of KES 8 million and above. (D1 p.36; D1 p.40)
  • Reference number: Portal lists CGK/ FEP/044/EQU/2026-2027; TDS lists CGK/FEP/44/EUQ/2026-2027. (P; D1 p.27)

Not covered in the documents we reviewed

  • Addenda or clarification responses (none provided)
  • Number of copies to submit
  • Contract value and total bill of quantities amount
  • Road length and detailed scope beyond bill summaries
  • Full Section IV forms and Section VI/VII specifications and drawings
  • Performance security main amount and form
  • Whether a pre-tender meeting is held
  • Lots definitions if any
  • Pages of D1 (246), D2 and D3 not reviewed

Terms explained

TDS
Tender Data Sheet: tender-specific values that amend the standard Instructions to Tenderers.
Tender security
Guarantee of the bid, here a bank guarantee, which can be lost if the bid is withdrawn or wrongly submitted.
Responsive
A bid that meets all mandatory requirements; non-responsive bids are rejected.
CR12
Company search certificate from the Kenya business registry showing directors and shareholders.
NCA
National Construction Authority, which registers contractors by class and category.
EBK
Engineers Board of Kenya, which registers engineers and their practising licences.
Frontloading
Inflating early bill rates to improve cash flow; can lead to rejection or enhanced performance security.
Commissioner for Oaths
Official who witnesses sworn declarations and powers of attorney.
Levy
0.03% statutory levy on signed contract value, payable by the supplier.
Nairobi City https://nairobicity.co.ke