Black Friday Ulikuwa unangoja ishuke. Imeshuka. starts in is live - ends in See early deals Shop the deals
Black Friday starts Fri 27 Nov 2026, 00:00. Black Friday is live until Mon 30 Nov 2026, 23:59.
Closing soon

Consultancy services for preparation of Bungoma County Transport Regulations (RFP 2408747-2-2026-2027)

Official title: PROVISION OF CONSULTANCY SERVICES FOR PREPARATION OF BUNGOMA COUNTY TRANSPORT REGULATIONS

Closing
Fri 6 Nov 2026, 11:00 am EAT
Tender number
2408747-2-2026-2027
Procuring entity
Bungoma County Government
Category
Consultancy Services · Request for Proposals
County
Bungoma

Official documents take precedence. NairobiCity is an independent information service, not the procuring entity or a government body. This summary was prepared from the official documents with AI assistance; every requirement was matched to the document wording, but it can still contain mistakes. Before you apply, read the official tender documents and any addenda.

What is being bought

Bungoma County Government requests consultancy services to prepare the Bungoma County Transport Regulations, under a Request for Proposals using Quality Cost Based Selection (technical score weighted 0.80, financial 0.20). Key experts are estimated at 3 months of input and the assignment is to start on 25 March 2026 per the Data Sheet (the start date conflicts with the 2026 submission date; see conflicts). No location beyond Bungoma County is stated for delivery.

What could disqualify you

  • Firms or individuals debarred from public procurement cannot be awarded a contract or benefit from one during the debarment period. A firm must confirm it is not debarred or precluded from contracting. Standard rule D1 p.12
  • Public officers of the procuring entity, and their spouses, children, parents, siblings and businesses in which they have a substantial or controlling interest, are not eligible to tender. Government officials and civil servants may not be hired for consulting contracts. Standard rule D1 p.12
  • A consultant that submits or joins more than one proposal (including as a joint venture member) has all such proposals disqualified. Joint venture members may not also bid individually for the same contract. Participation of key experts in more than one proposal is not permitted. D1 p.28
  • Proposals with a corrupt, fraudulent, collusive or coercive practice are automatically disqualified. A Certificate of Independent Proposal Determination must be signed to avoid disqualification for collusion. Standard rule D1 p.11
  • Proposals that are not sealed and marked as required may be misplaced or opened early and will not be accepted. Late proposals are declared late, rejected and returned unopened. Standard rule D1 p.18
  • Proposals failing any Stage 1 mandatory requirement do not proceed to technical evaluation. Stage 1 includes an incomplete or unsigned technical proposal, missing forms and missing statutory documents. D1 p.31
  • Bids with arithmetic errors shall be disqualified at financial evaluation. The tender sum as read out at opening is final and cannot be corrected. D1 p.33
  • If a key expert is not available at submission or was included without confirmation, the proposal is disqualified. A proposal is rejected if it does not respond to important aspects of the RFP or fails to reach the minimum technical score (the score value is not stated). D1 p.14

Key facts

Closing
Fri 6 Nov 2026, 11:00 am
Proposals must reach the procuring entity via the IFMIS portal by this date and time. The portal closing date and time match the Data Sheet. D1 p.6
Bid / tender security
Not stated in the documents we reviewed Not stated D1 p.6
Tender fee
Documents may be downloaded free of charge from the county website or the PPIP portal. No submission fee is stated in the material reviewed. D1 p.6
Site visit
Not stated in the documents we reviewed Not stated D1 p.6
Pre-bid meeting
Not stated in the documents we reviewed Not stated D1 p.28
Reserved for
Not stated in the documents we reviewed Not stated P
Contract value
Not stated in the documents we reviewed Not stated D1 p.6
Tender opening
Technical proposals to be opened in the Board Room, County Government of Bungoma, P.O Box 437-50200 Bungoma, option IFMIS system. Financial opening is manual. A 'do not open before' warning in ITC 18.1 cites a different date (conflict). Conflicting D1 p.30
Tender validity
Proposals must remain valid for 120 days after the proposal submission deadline. Extension requests must be in writing. D1 p.28

Who can apply

  • Open to interested, qualified and competent firms possessing the requisite licence, skills, resources and experience. RFP addressed to eligible service providers. D1 p.6
  • Consultants, experts, joint ventures and individual members may offer services from all countries and categories unless the Data Sheet says otherwise. Key experts must be from eligible countries. Standard rule D1 p.12
  • A joint venture must seek exemption from the Competition Authority of Kenya. Exemption is not needed to submit a proposal but is a condition of contract award and signature. The JV must name all members, starting with the lead member. Standard rule D1 p.12

Application checklist

Tick items off as you prepare. Your ticks stay on this device only.

Required from every bidder

  • D1 p.31
  • D1 p.31
  • D1 p.31
  • D1 p.31
  • D1 p.31
  • D1 p.31
  • D1 p.31
  • D1 p.31
  • D1 p.31
  • D1 p.31
  • D1 p.31
  • D1 p.31

Required only in some situations

  • Standard rule D1 p.17
  • Standard rule D1 p.17

Experience, licences and financial capacity

Technical

  • Stage 2 technical scoring (100 points): specific experience 20; methodology and work plan 40; key professional staff 20 (team leader-director 10, principal consultant 10); financial capacity 20. Minimum technical score is not stated in the material. D1 p.31
  • Specific experience: more than three assignments of the same or more cost scores 20; less than three scores 10; none scores 5. The cost threshold for 'same or more cost' is not stated in the material. D1 p.32
  • Team leader (director) must hold a Master's degree in Law, Public Administration, Economics, Strategic Management, Governance or a related field (10 points). Bachelor's in project planning or relevant qualifications scores 10 points, otherwise 5. D1 p.32
  • Principal consultant needs at least five years' experience in public policy formulation (10 points); less than five years scores 5. D1 p.32
  • Key experts' input estimated at 3 months. Key experts must confirm availability in writing, signed by each key expert, and replacements must have equal or better qualifications. D1 p.28
  • Technical proposal must include forms TECH-1 to TECH-7 (submission form, references, comments on TOR, methodology, work schedule, team composition, mandatory documentary evidence) and a Financial Proposal in FIN-1 to FIN-4 forms, submitted separately. D1 p.28

Financial

  • Financial capacity (20 points): submit financial statements for 2024 and 2025 (5 points), audited accounts for 2024 and 2025 (10 points), and a reference letter from the bank (5 points). D1 p.32
  • Prices must be in Kenya shillings, inclusive of all taxes and of the 0.03% Capacity Building Levy, and valid for 120 days from the closing date. D1 p.6
  • Financial evaluation uses lowest price scoring; the Financial Proposal is weighted at 0.20 and the Technical at 0.80 under QCBS. D1 p.33

How and where to submit

  • Complete tender documents must be submitted through the IFMIS supplier portal (www.Supplier.treasury.go.ke). Manual submissions are not accepted. Portal record shows electronic submission. Other clauses refer to manual process (see conflicts). Conflicting D1 p.6
  • Proposal must be delivered in a single sealed envelope bearing the name and reference number of the assignment, addressed to the Procuring Entity, with inner sealed envelopes marked ORIGINAL (technical), COPIES (technical), and ORIGINAL (financial). Standard rule D1 p.18
  • Number of copies is said to be indicated in the Data Sheet but the figure is not given in the material reviewed. Not stated D1 p.17

Lots and categories

  • No lots are described in the material reviewed. Not stated D1 p.1

Points to confirm with the procuring entity

The documents do not agree with each other on these points. Ask the procuring entity for a written clarification before you submit.

  • Submission method: Portal record says electronic submission and clause 1.5 says submissions go through the IFMIS portal with manual submissions not accepted, but clause 1.12 says Tenderers shall submit through Manual Process. Ask the procuring entity which method applies. (P; D1 p.6; D1 p.7)
  • Opening date in ITC 18.1: The sealed envelope warning says DO NOT OPEN BEFORE 11.00 a.m. on 5th June, 2025, which conflicts with the 6 November 2026 closing and opening in the Data Sheet. (D1 p.17; D1 p.30)
  • Opening venue: Data Sheet lists opening option as IFMIS system but gives a physical board room address; the venue for in-person attendance is unclear. (D1 p.30)
  • Assignment start date: Commencement of services is stated as 25 March 2026, which is before the November 2026 submission deadline. (D1 p.93; D1 p.1)

Not covered in the documents we reviewed

  • Tender security or bid security amount, form and validity
  • Contract value or budget amount
  • Number of copies required (stated as being in the Data Sheet but not given)
  • Minimum technical score required to pass
  • Cost threshold for 'same or more cost' assignments
  • Number of years of past assignments to be listed
  • Maximum number of joint venture members
  • Whether any youth, women, disability or AGPO reservation applies
  • Site visit and pre-bid meeting details
  • Any addenda or clarifications issued after this document
  • Full Data Sheet items (ITC 18.5 address, insurance, consultant liability amounts, Appendix A reporting schedule)
  • Pages 1-5, 7-10 and other sections not reviewed in full (Terms of Reference, forms of contract, BOQ tables)

Terms explained

RFP
Request for Proposals; a consultancy-style invitation where firms submit technical and financial proposals.
TDS / Data Sheet
Tender Data Sheet giving the specific values for this tender, which override the generic instructions.
QCBS
Quality Cost Based Selection: technical and financial scores are combined using stated weights.
Responsive
A proposal that meets all mandatory requirements and essential terms of the RFP and terms of reference.
Key experts
Named professional staff whose qualifications are scored and who must confirm availability.
JV
Joint venture: several firms bidding together, with a lead member, subject to Competition Authority exemption before award.
AGPO
Access to Government Procurement Opportunities for youth, women and persons with disability; not stated for this tender.
IFMIS
Integrated Financial Management Information System; the Treasury e-procurement platform used for submission.
Stand still period
A 14-day waiting period after award notification before the contract is signed (per Data Sheet item 31).
CR 12
Kenyan company return showing directors and shareholders, required as a certified copy within 12 months.
Capacity Building Levy
A 0.03% levy that must be included in prices quoted.
Nairobi City https://nairobicity.co.ke