Black Friday Ulikuwa unangoja ishuke. Imeshuka. starts in is live - ends in See early deals Shop the deals
Black Friday starts Fri 27 Nov 2026, 00:00. Black Friday is live until Mon 30 Nov 2026, 23:59.
Open

Periodic maintenance of roads in Namwela Ward Lot 2, Bungoma County (BGM/CNTY/RPW/CEF/OT/020/2026-2027)

Official title: PERIODIC MAINTENANCE OF ROADS IN NAMWELA WARD LOT 2

Closing
Tue 17 Nov 2026, 11:00 am EAT
Tender number
BGM/CNTY/RPW/CEF/OT/020/2026-2027 NEGOTIATION NUMBER: 2657013
Procuring entity
Bungoma County Government
Categoria
Works · Open Tender
County
Bungoma

Official documents take precedence. NairobiCity is an independent information service, not the procuring entity or a government body. This summary was prepared from the official documents with AI assistance; every requirement was matched to the document wording, but it can still contain mistakes. Before you apply, read the official tender documents and any addenda.

What is being bought

Periodic maintenance of roads in Namwela Ward, Lot 2, Bungoma County, road length 9.1 km per the detailed tender schedule. Open national tender for NCA 8 and above contractors.

Key facts

Closing
Tue 17 Nov 2026, 11:00 am
Tender closes on 2026-11-17 at 11:00 (local time) via IFMIS Supplier Portal. Portal record shows the same closing date and time. D2 p.27
Bid / tender security
Bid security of Ksh.120,000 from reputable bank/Financial Institution/insurance company approved by PPRA. Form per ITT 19.2: cash, bank guarantee, insurance company guarantee, or guarantee by a CBK-licensed financial institution. Validity: 30 days beyond the original tender validity period (ITT 19.3). A tender without substantially responsive security is rejected. D2 p.27
Tender fee
Not stated in the documents we reviewed Not stated D1 p.1
Site visit
Mandatory
Mandatory pre-tender site visit / pre-bid conference at the Department of Roads, Infrastructure and Public Works boardroom, Bungoma. Non-attendance means non-responsive; site visit certificate issued as evidence of attendance. D2 p.27
Pre-bid meeting
Mandatory
Pre-tender meeting at the same date, time and place as the site visit (boardroom), 10 November 2026, 10:00 am. D2 p.27
Reserved for
Reservation: not applicable. Tender is open to all, not reserved to youth, women, PWD or AGPO groups. D2 p.28
Contract value
Not stated in the documents we reviewed Not stated P
Tender opening
Tenders opened immediately after the closing deadline at the Department of Roads boardroom (Kanduyi), Bungoma, in presence of bidders' representatives who choose to attend. D2 p.27
Tender validity
Tender validity period is 120 days from the submission deadline. D2 p.27

Who can apply

  • Open tender: open to all qualified and interested tenderers. Tender schedule lists eligibility as NCA 8 and above for this lot. D1 p.2

Application checklist

Tick items off as you prepare. Your ticks stay on this device only.

Required from every bidder

  • D2 p.8
  • D2 p.8
  • D2 p.8
  • D2 p.8
  • D2 p.8
  • D2 p.8
  • D2 p.8
  • D2 p.8
  • D2 p.8
  • D2 p.8
  • D2 p.8
  • D2 p.30
  • D2 p.28

Experience, licences and financial capacity

Technical

  • Mandatory pre-tender site visit / pre-bid conference; representative must be a technical person with minimum Diploma in Civil/Highway Engineering (per advert). D1 p.1
  • Technical evaluation: work methodology up to 25 marks (signed work programme chart and cash flow estimate 0-15; method statement 0-10); work safety management 10 marks; key personnel up to 20 marks; plant and equipment up to 10 marks; financial capability up to 15 marks; experience up to 15 marks; history of non-performance up to 5 marks. Total 100; 70% and above is responsive. D2 p.33

Financial

  • Financial capability criteria include audited financial statements (last two years), bank statements from reputable bank (last six months), financial ratios, average turnover for last two years, and a bank undertaking for line of credit specific to the tender. D2 p.32
  • Experience: general experience with minimum value KShs. Two Million (2,000,000) with at least 2 award and completion certificates per project for last 4 years; similar contract participation of minimum KShs. Two Million (2,000,000) in last 4 years. D2 p.32

How and where to submit

  • Submit electronically only through the IFMIS Supplier Portal (www.supplier.treasury.go.ke). Manual submissions will NOT be accepted. Tender documents should be uploaded in PDF format. D1 p.8
  • Tenderers shall submit tenders electronically. Only one original tender required; number of additional copies: none. D2 p.27

Lots and categories

  • Lot 2: Lot 2 of Namwela Ward periodic maintenance (9.1 km), NCA 8 and above, open. Lot 1 (9.5 km, tender BGM/CNTY/RPW/CEF/OT/022/2026-2027) and Lot 3 (3.5 km, youth) are separate tenders. D1 p.3

What the addenda changed

  • No addenda provided in the reviewed material. Not stated P

Points to confirm with the procuring entity

The documents do not agree with each other on these points. Ask the procuring entity for a written clarification before you submit.

  • Site visit / pre-bid conference time: Advert and Invitation/Preliminary Examination say 10 November 2026 at 10.00 am; the advert site visit line gives no time. Consistent on time 10:00 am; no real conflict on time, but the venue is the Department boardroom in the advert and Kanduyi boardroom for opening. (D1 p.1 and D2 p.8, p.27)
  • Mandatory document list differs between advert and tender document: Advert lists 12 mandatory items including Tender Securing Declaration for special category, copy of KRA PIN/VAT, Single Business Permit and the tender form; tender document lists different numbering. Advert requires AGPO certificate for special categories, not applicable here. Not a bidder-blocking conflict. (D1 p.7 and D2 p.8)
  • Submission location: IFMIS portal vs physical address: Advert and tender document say electronic submission only via IFMIS, but ITT 22.1 gives Department address with Chief Officer and says submission electronically. Bidders should confirm whether any hard-copy deposit is needed. (D2 p.27 and D1 p.8)

Not covered in the documents we reviewed

  • Full advert pages D1 p.1 to 8 partially reviewed; check all lot and eligibility details.
  • Bill of quantities, specifications, drawings and contract conditions not provided (Sections V-X).
  • Contract value / estimated budget not stated in material provided.
  • Tender fee or document purchase price not stated in material provided.
  • Performance security amount and form (ITT 48) not stated in the material provided.
  • Addenda (if any) not provided.
  • Whether any hard-copy submission is required in addition to IFMIS upload.
  • Procurement complaint and review details beyond ITT 50.1 not provided.

Terms explained

IFMIS
Integrated Financial Management Information System, the government e-procurement supplier portal used to submit tenders.
NCA 8 and above
National Construction Authority registration category for road works; the bidder must hold this category and a valid annual practising licence.
Tender security (bid security)
Guarantee of Ksh.120,000 that must accompany the tender; unsuccessful bids' security is returned after contract signing.
TDS (Tender Data Sheet)
Section II of the tender document that sets tender-specific values which override the general Instructions to Tenderers.
CR 12
Company return of directors and shareholders issued by the Registrar; must be recent (within six months).
Responsive
A tender that meets all mandatory requirements and is not rejected at preliminary stage.
Power of Attorney
Written authority for the person signing to commit the company, witnessed by a Commissioner of Oaths and specific to this bid.
PPRA
Public Procurement Regulatory Authority, which approves the bond providers and oversees procurement.
Preliminary examination
Initial check of mandatory documents; failure to meet any of them makes the tender non-responsive.
Nairobi City https://nairobicity.co.ke