Black Friday Ulikuwa unangoja ishuke. Imeshuka. starts in is live - ends in See early deals Shop the deals
Black Friday starts Fri 27 Nov 2026, 00:00. Black Friday is live until Mon 30 Nov 2026, 23:59.
Open

Periodic maintenance of roads in Namwela Ward Lot 1, Bungoma County (BGM/CNTY/RPW/CEF/OT/022/2026-2027)

Official title: PERIODIC MAINTENANCE OF ROADS IN NAMWELA WARD LOT 1

Closing
Tue 17 Nov 2026, 11:00 am EAT
Tender number
BGM/CNTY/RPW/CEF/OT/022/2026-2027 NEGOTIATION NUMBER:2657011
Procuring entity
Bungoma County Government
Category
Works · Open Tender
County
Bungoma

Official documents take precedence. NairobiCity is an independent information service, not the procuring entity or a government body. This summary was prepared from the official documents with AI assistance; every requirement was matched to the document wording, but it can still contain mistakes. Before you apply, read the official tender documents and any addenda.

What is being bought

Bungoma County Government invites open tenders for periodic maintenance of roads in Namwela Ward, Lot 1 (about 9.5 km per the tender schedule). Tender BGM/CNTY/RPW/CEF/OT/022/2026-2027, negotiation number 2657011, is open to contractors registered with NCA category 8 and above.

What could disqualify you

  • Bidders with stalled projects participating in bidding under this tender Notice shall be DISQUALIFIED. D1 p.8
  • Any form of canvassing will lead to disqualification. D1 p.8
  • Any tender not accompanied by a substantially responsive tender security or tender-securing declaration will be rejected as non-responsive. Standard rule D2 p.17
  • Bidders who do not satisfy any preliminary/mandatory requirement are treated as non-responsive and their tenders will not be evaluated further. D2 p.31
  • Bidders scoring below 70% in the technical evaluation are not considered responsive and do not proceed to financial evaluation. D2 p.34
  • Manual (paper) submissions will not be accepted. Tenders must be submitted through the IFMIS platform. D1 p.8
  • Foreign tenderers not meeting the 40% local content rule (ITT 3.10) will be automatically disqualified. Standard rule D2 p.12
  • Missing the mandatory pre-tender site visit or failing to attach the site visit certificate makes the tender non-responsive under the preliminary criteria. D2 p.31

Key facts

Closing
Tue 17 Nov 2026, 11:00 am
Tenders must be received through the IFMIS portal on or before this date and time. No addenda were provided to change it. D1 p.1
Bid / tender security
Bid security of Ksh.186,000 from a reputable bank, financial institution or insurance company approved by PPRA. Permitted forms (at tenderer option): cash; bank guarantee; guarantee by an insurance company licensed by the Insurance Regulatory Authority; guarantee by a financial institution licensed by the Central Bank of Kenya. Must remain valid 30 days beyond tender validity (plus any extension). A tender-securing declaration on the prescribed form is an alternative only where specified. D2 p.27
Tender fee
Not stated in the documents we reviewed Not stated D1 p.1
Site visit
Mandatory
Mandatory pre-tender site visit at the Department of Roads, Infrastructure and Public Works boardroom. A site visit certificate is issued as evidence of attendance and must be attached. D2 p.8
Pre-bid meeting
Mandatory
Pre-tender meeting at the Boardroom, same day. Questions must be submitted in writing not later than three days before the meeting. Clarification requests are shown with a 13/11/2026 deadline in the TDS (see conflicts). D2 p.27
Reserved for
Not reserved: open tender. The Tender Data Sheet states the reservation for groups is not applicable, and the portal lists no reserved group. D2 p.28
Contract value
Not stated in the documents we reviewed Not stated P
Tender opening
Tenders are opened immediately after the closing deadline. Venue is stated differently in the advert (Ministry conference hall) and the TDS (Department boardroom, Kanduyi). See conflicts. Conflicting D2 p.7
Tender validity
Tenders remain valid for 120 days from the closing date. Shorter validity leads to rejection as non-responsive. D2 p.27

Who can apply

  • Open national tender: open to all qualified and interested tenderers. Lot 1 is listed as OPEN (no reserved group). D2 p.7
  • Contractors must hold NCA registration in category 8 and above for road works, shown in the tender schedule for this lot. D1 p.2

Application checklist

Tick items off as you prepare. Your ticks stay on this device only.

Required from every bidder

  • D2 p.8
  • D2 p.8
  • D1 p.7
  • D2 p.8
  • D2 p.8
  • D2 p.8
  • D2 p.8
  • D2 p.8
  • D2 p.8
  • D2 p.8
  • D2 p.8
  • D2 p.27

Required only in some situations

  • Standard rule D2 p.14

Experience, licences and financial capacity

Technical

  • Every bidder must be represented at the site visit or pre-bid conference by one technical person with at least a Diploma in Civil or Highway Engineering. D1 p.1
  • The representative must bring original ID or passport plus a certified copy; certified copy of diploma or degree; certified copy of EBK/KETRB/IET registration and proof of current subscription; and an original introductory letter on company letterhead with official stamp, signed (photocopies not accepted). D1 p.7
  • Copies of ID, academic certificate and professional registration (and proof of subscription) must be certified by a Commissioner of Oaths or Notary Public, and are retained by the procuring entity. One person may represent only one company per tender. D1 p.7
  • Technical evaluation scores key personnel (site agent, surveyor, foreman; max 20 points), plant and equipment (max 10), work methodology (max 25), work safety (max 10), experience (max 15), financial capability (max 15) and history of non-performance (max 5). Total 100; 70% needed. D2 p.31
  • Signed work programme chart and cash flow estimate (0-15 points) and detailed method statement (0-10 points) for carrying out the works. D2 p.33

Financial

  • Financial statements for the last two years certified by a reputable audit firm or auditor; bank statements from a reputable bank for the last six months; computed financial ratios from the latest audited accounts (scored). D2 p.33
  • Provide average turnover figures for the last two years (scored, 3 points). D2 p.33
  • Provide an undertaking from the bank giving a current line of credit specific to this tender (scored, 5 points). D2 p.33
  • General experience: contracts with a minimum value of KShs 2,000,000, with letters of award and completion certificates (at least two per project, for the last four years). D2 p.33
  • Experience in similar contracts with minimum value of KShs 2,000,000 in the last four years before the submission deadline. D2 p.34

How and where to submit

  • Complete tenders must be submitted through the IFMIS Supplier Portal, electronically, as PDF files. D1 p.8
  • All complete tender documents should be uploaded in PDF format. D1 p.8
  • No additional hard copies are required beyond the electronic original (number of copies: None). D2 p.27
  • Tender submissions are addressed to the Department of Roads, Infrastructure and Public Works, P.O Box 437 Bungoma, attention Chief Officer. D2 p.27
  • Tender documents may be downloaded free of charge from www.bungoma.go.ke or www.tenders.go.ke using the IFMIS Negotiation Number. D1 p.1

Lots and categories

  • Lot 1: Lot 1 of Namwela Ward periodic maintenance. Lot 2 (OT/020) and Lot 3 (OT/021) are separate tenders with their own negotiation numbers. D1 p.3

Points to confirm with the procuring entity

The documents do not agree with each other on these points. Ask the procuring entity for a written clarification before you submit.

  • Opening venue: The advert says tenders are opened at the Ministry of Roads, Infrastructure and Public Works Conference Hall. The TDS says the Department of Roads, Infrastructure and Public Works (Kanduyi) boardroom. Ask the procuring entity which venue applies. (D1 p.8; D2 p.27)
  • Clarification request deadline: TDS says clarification requests must reach the procuring entity by 13/11/2026, which is after the 10/11/2026 pre-bid meeting. ITT 7.3 says questions must be submitted not later than three days before the meeting. Ask the procuring entity for the correct deadline. (D2 p.27)
  • NCA registration timing: Preliminary requirements require a valid NCA certificate at submission, but ITT 3.12 says NCA registration is not a condition for tender and only a condition of award and signature. Ask the procuring entity whether a valid certificate must be submitted with the bid. (D2 p.8; D2 p.12)

Not covered in the documents we reviewed

  • Any addenda or clarifications (A1, A2...) issued after the advert; the bidder must check www.bungoma.go.ke for updates
  • Contract value or engineer's estimate for Lot 1
  • Tender document purchase fee, if any, beyond the free download stated in the advert
  • Section IV tendering forms and the Form of Tender Security (only the format for a bank guarantee was reviewed)
  • Section V Bills of Quantities, Section VI specifications and Section VII drawings for Lot 1
  • Section VIII and IX conditions of contract, including performance security amount and timing
  • Detailed evaluation scoring thresholds beyond those listed in Section III
  • Confirmation of the opening venue and whether the clarification deadline is 13/11/2026 or earlier

Terms explained

TDS
Tender Data Sheet: the tender-specific section that sets values such as validity, bid security and dates for the standard Instructions to Tenderers.
IFMIS
Integrated Financial Management Information System: the government e-procurement platform through which this tender must be submitted.
NCA
National Construction Authority: the body that registers contractors by category for construction works.
AGPO
Access to Government Procurement Opportunities: a registration for youth, women and persons with disability businesses. Not applicable to this open tender.
PPRA
Public Procurement Regulatory Authority: the regulator whose approval is needed for banks or insurers that issue bid security.
Tender security (bid security)
A financial guarantee that protects the procuring entity if the bidder withdraws or fails to sign. Here it is Ksh.186,000.
Tender-Securing Declaration
A signed declaration on a prescribed form that can replace a bid security where the tender allows it.
Responsive / non-responsive
A tender that meets all mandatory requirements is responsive. A non-responsive tender is rejected without evaluation.
CR12
Company return form from the Registrar of Companies listing directors and shareholders. Must be recent (within six months).
Power of Attorney
A signed and sealed document authorising a named person to sign and bind the company to the bid.
JV
Joint Venture: two or more firms bidding together under a joint agreement.
Negotiation Number
The IFMIS reference (2657011 for this lot) used to download documents and identify the tender on the portal.
Pre-bid / site visit
A meeting and site inspection held before the deadline. Here it is mandatory for bidders.
Nairobi City https://nairobicity.co.ke