Black Friday Ulikuwa unangoja ishuke. Imeshuka. starts in is live - ends in See early deals Shop the deals
Black Friday starts Fri 27 Nov 2026, 00:00. Black Friday is live until Mon 30 Nov 2026, 23:59.
Open

Periodic maintenance of Wamono-Khabukoya A&B Road, Lwandanyi Ward, Bungoma County (open tender)

Official title: PERIODIC MAINTENANCE OF WAMONO-KHABUKOYA A&B ROAD IN LWANDANYI WARD

Closing
Tue 17 Nov 2026, 11:00 am EAT
Tender number
BGM/CNTY/RPW/CEF/OT/026/2026-2027. NEGOTIATION NUMBER:2657007
Procuring entity
Bungoma County Government
Category
Works · Open Tender
County
Bungoma

Official documents take precedence. NairobiCity is an independent information service, not the procuring entity or a government body. This summary was prepared from the official documents with AI assistance; every requirement was matched to the document wording, but it can still contain mistakes. Before you apply, read the official tender documents and any addenda.

What is being bought

Periodic maintenance works on the Wamono-Khabukoya A&B Road in Lwandanyi Ward, Bungoma County, listed in the tender schedule as 3.5 km. Tender BGM/CNTY/RPW/CEF/OT/026/2026-2027 (IFMIS negotiation number 2657007-2026/2027) is an open national tender for NCA 8 and above contractors. Bid security is stated as Ksh.89,000 in one place and Ksh.60,000 in another, so confirm the amount with the procuring entity before bidding.

What could disqualify you

  • Bidders with stalled projects participating in bidding under this tender notice shall be disqualified. D1 p.8
  • Any form of canvassing will lead to disqualification. D1 p.8
  • Manual (paper) submissions will not be accepted; the tender must be submitted through the IFMIS platform. D2 p.8
  • Tenderers failing any preliminary/mandatory evaluation requirement (including missing bid security or missing site visit certificate) are non-responsive and will not be evaluated further. D2 p.29
  • A tender not accompanied by a substantially responsive tender security or tender-securing declaration shall be rejected as non-responsive. Standard rule D2 p.17
  • A tender valid for a shorter period than required shall be rejected as non-responsive. Standard rule D2 p.17
  • Information submitted that is incomplete, inaccurate or out-of-date, or any failure to submit required information, can lead to rejection of the tender. Standard rule D2 p.17

Key facts

Closing
Tue 17 Nov 2026, 11:00 am
Tender closes 17 November 2026 at 11:00 AM local time via the IFMIS Supplier Portal. No addenda were reviewed to change this date. D2 p.27
Bid / tender security
Bid security (tender security) is required. The TDS states Ksh.89,000 from a reputable bank, financial institution or insurance company approved by PPRA. Section III mandatory criteria state Ksh.60,000. The amount must be confirmed. Form and validity: a demand guarantee in cash, bank guarantee, insurer or CBK-licensed financial institution guarantee; valid 30 days beyond tender validity. Conflicting D2 p.27
Tender fee
Tender documents may be downloaded free of charge from the County website or the tenders.go.ke portal using the IFMIS negotiation number. No tender fee is stated in the material reviewed. D1 p.1
Site visit
Mandatory
Mandatory pre-tender site visit / pre-bid conference at the Department of Roads, Infrastructure and Public Works boardroom. A site visit certificate is issued and must be attached. Conflict: ITT 7.5 says non-attendance at the site visit is not a cause for disqualification. Conflicting D1 p.1
Pre-bid meeting
Mandatory
Pre-tender meeting at the Boardroom, same date as site visit (10 November 2026, 10.00 am). Questions must be submitted in writing not later than three days before the meeting. D2 p.26
Reserved for
Not reserved. Open tender for all qualified bidders; the portal lists no reserved group and the TDS says reservation is not applicable. D2 p.28
Contract value
Not stated in the documents we reviewed Not stated P
Tender opening
Tenders open immediately after the closing time. Venue conflict: the advert says the Ministry of Roads Conference Hall, while the TDS says the Department of Roads, Kanduyi boardroom. Conflicting D2 p.27
Tender validity
Tenders remain valid for 120 days from the submission deadline. A request to extend validity must be honoured by a tender security extended 30 days beyond the extended validity period. D2 p.27

Who can apply

  • Open national tender: tendering is open to all qualified and interested tenderers. The schedule lists the eligibility category as NCA 8 and above for this road. D2 p.7
  • Tender schedule eligibility for road 26 (Wamono-Khabukoya A&B Road): NCA 8 and Above, Open (no reservation). D1 p.2

Application checklist

Tick items off as you prepare. Your ticks stay on this device only.

Required from every bidder

  • D1 p.7
  • D1 p.7
  • D1 p.7
  • D2 p.8
  • D1 p.7
  • Conflicting D1 p.7
  • D1 p.7
  • D1 p.7
  • D2 p.8
  • D1 p.7
  • D1 p.7
  • D2 p.27
  • D1 p.7

Experience, licences and financial capacity

Technical

  • Mandatory site visit or pre-bid conference: each bidder must be represented by one technical person with at least a Diploma in Civil/Highway Engineering. D1 p.1
  • The representative must bring original ID/passport plus a certified copy, certified diploma/degree, certified registration with EBK/KETRB/IET with proof of current subscription, and an original introductory letter on company letterhead with official stamp, signed (photocopies not accepted). Certified copies must be certified by a Commissioner of Oaths or Notary Public, and these documents are retained by the procuring entity. D1 p.7
  • Key personnel evaluation (scored): Site Agent up to 8 marks (qualification and experience), Surveyor up to 6, Foreman up to 6, total key personnel up to 20 marks. D2 p.30
  • Plant and equipment (scored, max 10): tipper, water bowser, vibrator, pick-up, concrete mixer, each leased or owned. D2 p.31
  • Work methodology (scored, max 25): signed work programme chart and cash flow estimate (0-15); detailed method statement (0-10). Work safety management (max 10). D2 p.32
  • Any bidder scoring 70% and above in the technical evaluation is responsive and proceeds to financial evaluation. D2 p.33

Financial

  • Financial capability (scored, max 15): certified financial statements for the last two years (3 marks); bank statements from a reputable bank for last six months (2); computed financial ratios from latest audited accounts (2); average turnover for two years (3); bank undertaking for a line of credit specific to the tender (5). D2 p.32
  • Experience (scored, max 15): general experience with minimum value of KShs. 2,000,000 (at least 2 award/completion certificates per project for last 4 years); similar contract of at least KShs. 2,000,000 in last 4 years. D2 p.33

How and where to submit

  • Submit complete tender electronically through the IFMIS Supplier Portal (advert gives www.supplier.treasury.go.ke; the ITT copy shows www.supplier.rteasury.go.ke, which appears to be a typo, so check the correct address). Upload all documents in PDF format. Manual submissions are not accepted. D1 p.8
  • All complete tender documents should be uploaded in PDF format. D1 p.8
  • Tenderers submit tenders electronically (TDS). D2 p.27
  • Number of paper copies in addition to the original: none stated. D2 p.27

Lots and categories

  • No lots: a single contract for road 26 is tendered. Not stated P

What the addenda changed

  • No addenda were included in the material reviewed. Check the county website for addenda before the deadline. Not stated P

Points to confirm with the procuring entity

The documents do not agree with each other on these points. Ask the procuring entity for a written clarification before you submit.

  • Bid security amount: TDS ITT 19.1 and preliminary examination item 6 state Ksh.89,000; Section III preliminary/mandatory evaluation criterion 6 states Ksh.60,000. (D2 p.27 (TDS ITT 19.1); D2 p.29 (Section III criterion 6); D2 p.8 (Ksh.89,000))
  • Mandatory site visit consequence: Advert and Section III say the site visit is mandatory and failing it makes the tender non-responsive; ITT 7.5 says non-attendance will not be a cause for disqualification. (D1 p.7; D2 p.8; D2 p.29; D2 p.14 (ITT 7.5))
  • Opening venue: Advert says bids will be opened at the Ministry of Roads, Infrastructure and Public Works Conference Hall; TDS ITT 25.1 gives the Department of Roads, Kanduyi boardroom. (D1 p.8; D2 p.27)

Not covered in the documents we reviewed

  • Contract value / estimated cost of the works
  • Tender-specific addenda, clarifications or corrected bid security amount (none reviewed)
  • Section IV tendering forms, Section V bills of quantities, Section VI specifications and Section VII drawings (not reviewed)
  • Performance security amount and form (not reviewed)
  • Full technical scoring weights and financial scoring thresholds beyond those shown
  • Correct IFMIS portal address (advert and ITT differ)
  • Confirmation of the bid security amount (Ksh.89,000 vs Ksh.60,000)
  • Confirmation of the opening venue
  • Whether non-attendance at the mandatory site visit will disqualify a bidder
  • Pages 9-155 of the tender document (only 27 of 155 pages reviewed)

Terms explained

TDS
Tender Data Sheet: the tender-specific values (amounts, dates, places) that override the general Instructions to Tenderers.
Tender security / bid security
Money or guarantee that a bidder posts with its tender, forfeited if it withdraws or fails to sign. Can be cash, bank guarantee, insurer or financial institution guarantee.
Tender-Securing Declaration
A signed declaration form used instead of a bid security in some tenders; here it applies to special category tenders only.
Responsive / non-responsive
A tender that meets all mandatory requirements and conditions is responsive; one that does not is rejected without further evaluation.
AGPO
Access to Government Procurement Opportunities: a registration allowing youth, women and persons with disability businesses to access reserved tenders. Not applicable to this open tender.
NCA 8 and above
National Construction Authority registration category permitting work on road contracts of this size; the bidder's certificate must be valid and accompanied by a practicing licence.
CR12
Company Registry return listing directors and shareholders; must be recent (within six months before the opening date).
IFMIS Supplier Portal
Government online system where bids must be uploaded; manual submission is not accepted.
PPRA
Public Procurement Regulatory Authority; bid security must come from an institution approved by PPRA.
Power of attorney
A signed document authorising the person who signs the tender to bind the company; must be specific to this bid and witnessed by a Commissioner of Oaths.
JV
Joint Venture: two or more firms bidding together. Not applicable as the TDS sets maximum JV members as NA.
Nairobi City https://nairobicity.co.ke