Proposed construction of Nambuya-Malakisi box culvert in Lwandanyi Ward, Bungoma County (BGM/CNTY/RPW/CEF/OT/027/2026-2027)
Official title: PROPOSED CONSTRUCTION NAMBUYA-MALAKISI BOX CULVERT IN LWANDANYI WARD
- Closing
- Tue 17 Nov 2026, 11:00 am EAT
- Tender number
- BGM/CNTY/RPW/CEF/OT/027/2026-2027 NEGOTIATION NUMBER:2657006
- Procuring entity
- Bungoma County Government
- Categoria
- Works · Open Tender
- County
- Bungoma
Official documents take precedence. NairobiCity is an independent information service, not the procuring entity or a government body. This summary was prepared from the official documents with AI assistance; every requirement was matched to the document wording, but it can still contain mistakes. Before you apply, read the official tender documents and any addenda.
What is being bought
Bungoma County Government invites open national tenders from eligible contractors for the proposed construction of the Nambuya-Malakisi box culvert in Lwandanyi Ward (about 3.2 km road listed in the advert). Submission is electronic through the IFMIS Supplier Portal only.
What could disqualify you
- Any tender not meeting a preliminary/mandatory requirement is non-responsive and will not be evaluated further. D2 p.31
- Tender not accompanied by a substantially responsive bid security (Tender Security or Tender-Securing Declaration) is rejected as non-responsive. Standard rule D2 p.17
- Bidders with stalled projects are disqualified; any form of canvassing leads to disqualification. D1 p.8
- Tender validity shorter than the required period is rejected as non-responsive. Standard rule D2 p.17
- Manual submissions will not be accepted. D2 p.8
Key facts
- Closing
-
Tue 17 Nov 2026, 11:00 am
Tenders must be received on or before 17 November 2026 at 11:00 AM local time via IFMIS Supplier Portal; no later addenda found. Unverified D2 p.7 - Bid / tender security
- Bid security of Ksh.139,000 from a reputable bank/financial institution/insurance company approved by PPRA; may be a Tender-Securing Declaration (form in Section IV) or a demand guarantee in cash, bank guarantee, insurance guarantee or CBK-licensed institution guarantee. Must be valid 30 days beyond the tender validity period (plus any extension). D2 p.27
- Tender fee
- Not stated in the documents we reviewed Not stated D1 p.1
- Site visit
-
Mandatory
Mandatory pre-tender site visit / pre-bid conference at the Department of Roads, Infrastructure and Public Works boardroom; site visit certificate issued as evidence of attendance. Conflicting D2 p.8 - Pre-bid meeting
-
Mandatory
Pre-tender meeting at the Boardroom, same date and time as site visit; mandatory per advert. D2 p.26 - Reserved for
- Reservation is not applicable: the tender is open to all businesses. D2 p.28
- Contract value
- Not stated in the documents we reviewed Not stated P
- Tender opening
- Tenders opened immediately after the deadline at the Department of Roads, Infrastructure and Public Works boardroom, Kanduyi, Bungoma (bidders may attend). D2 p.28
- Tender validity
- Tenders remain valid for 120 days from the closing date. D2 p.28
Who can apply
- Tendering is open to all qualified and interested tenderers under open national competitive method; reservation not applicable. D2 p.7
Application checklist
Tick items off as you prepare. Your ticks stay on this device only.
Required from every bidder
Required only in some situations
Experience, licences and financial capacity
Technical
- Mandatory site visit/pre-bid representative: one technical person with minimum Diploma in Civil/Highway Engineering, bringing original ID and certified copies of ID, academic certificate, and EBK/KETRB/IET registration with proof of current subscription; original introductory letter on company letterhead, stamped and signed. Certified copies must be certified by a Commissioner of Oaths or Notary Public and will be retained by the Procuring Entity. D1 p.7
- Key personnel and technical evaluation (max 100 points): site agent, surveyor and foreman qualifications and experience; plant and equipment (tipper, water bowser, vibrator, pick-up, concrete mixer, owned or leased); financial capability; work methodology (max 25); work safety (max 10); experience (max 15). Bidders scoring 70% and above are responsive and proceed to financial evaluation. D2 p.33
- Bidders must provide technical evaluation documents for site agent, surveyor and foreman, equipment, and experience (letters of award and completion certificates, at least two per project for the last four years). D2 p.33
Financial
- Financial capability scoring (max 15): certified financial statements for last two years, bank statements (last six months), financial ratios, average turnover for last two years, and bank undertaking for a line of credit specific to the tender. General experience of at least KShs 2,000,000 and similar-contract experience of at least KShs 2,000,000 in the last four years. D2 p.33
How and where to submit
- Submit electronically through the IFMIS Supplier Portal (www.supplier.treasury.go.ke); documents uploaded in PDF format. Manual submissions are not accepted. D1 p.8
- Tender documents downloadable free of charge from www.bungoma.go.ke or www.tenders.go.ke using the IFMIS Negotiation Number. D1 p.1
- Number of additional paper copies: None. Alternative tenders are not considered and alternative completion times are not permitted. D2 p.27
Lots and categories
- Not applicable - single contract (Negotiation Number 2657006-2026/2027). Portal listing shows this tender under the Lwandanyi Ward item 27. D1 p.3
What the addenda changed
- No addenda were provided in the material reviewed. Not stated P
Points to confirm with the procuring entity
The documents do not agree with each other on these points. Ask the procuring entity for a written clarification before you submit.
- Site visit / pre-bid time and venue: Advert (D1) lists the site visit date as 10 November 2026 at the Department of Roads boardroom with no time shown on the key dates; the Invitation (D2 p.8) and TDS give 10.00 am, while the TDS also states the site visit place as 'Boardroom' without the same department name. Ask the procuring entity to confirm the exact time and venue. Also the TDS names the Kanduyi boardroom for opening while the advert names the Ministry Conference Hall. (D1 p.1-2, D1 p.7; D2 p.8, D2 p.28, D2 p.31)
- Tender opening venue: Advert says bids opened at the Ministry of Roads, Infrastructure and Public Works Conference Hall; TDS ITT 25.1 says Department of Roads, Infrastructure and Public Works (Kanduyi) boardroom. (D1 p.8; D2 p.28)
Not covered in the documents we reviewed
- Contract value / engineer's estimate for the box culvert
- Full bidding document Section IV tender forms, Section V BOQ details, and Section VI specifications for this culvert
- Any addenda issued after the advert (portal lists none in the material)
- Performance security requirements (ITT 48) beyond 'NA' for other documents
- Confirmation of Section III Technical sub-scores and minimum points per item beyond total 70%
- Eligibility requirements for JV and foreign tenderers (ITT 3.10-3.11) if applicable
- Pages of the bidding document not reviewed (27 of 159 pages supplied)
Terms explained
- IFMIS Supplier Portal
- Government electronic system through which this tender must be submitted; manual submissions are not accepted.
- Bid security / Tender security
- A guarantee or declaration submitted with the tender to show commitment; here Ksh.139,000, valid 30 days beyond tender validity.
- Tender-Securing Declaration
- A signed declaration form (Section IV) that may be used instead of a bank or insurance guarantee where allowed.
- TDS
- Tender Data Sheet (Section II) giving tender-specific values that override the standard instructions.
- NCA 8 and above
- National Construction Authority registration category required for road works in this tender.
- CR 12
- Company return form listing directors and shareholders, issued by the Registrar of Companies; must be recent (within 6 months).
- Responsive
- A tender that meets all mandatory requirements and is fully compliant; non-responsive tenders are not evaluated further.
- JV
- Joint Venture: two or more firms bidding together under a JV agreement.
- BOQ / Bills of Quantities
- Priced schedule of works items that must be signed, stamped and submitted.
- Commissioner of Oaths / Notary Public
- Authorised person who certifies copies of documents.
- Pre-bid / site visit certificate
- Certificate issued at the mandatory site visit as proof of attendance, attached to the bid.