Black Friday Ulikuwa unangoja ishuke. Imeshuka. starts in is live - ends in See early deals Shop the deals
Black Friday starts Fri 27 Nov 2026, 00:00. Black Friday is live until Mon 30 Nov 2026, 23:59.
Open

Opening, grading, culvert installation and gravelling of Timona-Wanyakha Road, East Sang'alo Ward, Bungoma County (BGM/CNTY/RPW/CEF/OT/028/2026-2027)

Official title: OPENING, GRADING, CULVERT INSTALLATION AND GRAVELLING OF TIMONA-WANYAKHA ROAD IN EAST SANG'ALO WARD

Closing
Tue 17 Nov 2026, 11:00 am EAT
Tender number
BGM/CNTY/RPW/CEF/OT/028/2026-2027 NEGOTIATION NUMBER: 2657005
Procuring entity
Bungoma County Government
Category
Works · Open Tender
County
Bungoma

Official documents take precedence. NairobiCity is an independent information service, not the procuring entity or a government body. This summary was prepared from the official documents with AI assistance; every requirement was matched to the document wording, but it can still contain mistakes. Before you apply, read the official tender documents and any addenda.

What is being bought

Bungoma County Government invites tenders from eligible contractors for opening, grading, culvert installation and gravelling of the Timona-Wanyakha Road in East Sang'alo Ward, about 1.8 km according to the advert schedule. Tenders are submitted electronically through the IFMIS Supplier Portal; manual submissions are not accepted.

What could disqualify you

  • Tender missing a substantially responsive bid security is rejected as non-responsive. Standard rule D2 p.17
  • Bidders failing any preliminary/mandatory evaluation requirement (including the site visit certificate) are non-responsive and not evaluated further. D2 p.30
  • Manual submissions are not accepted; tenders must be submitted through IFMIS. D2 p.8
  • Bidders with stalled projects and any canvassing lead to disqualification (advert, other requirements). D1 p.8
  • Clarification requests must be submitted in writing by 13/11/2026. D2 p.26

Key facts

Closing
Tue 17 Nov 2026, 11:00 am
Tender closes 17 November 2026 at 11:00 AM local time on the IFMIS Supplier Portal; bids open immediately after in the Ministry of Roads, Infrastructure and Public Works Conference Hall. D1 p.8
Bid / tender security
Bid security of Ksh.70,000 from a reputable bank, financial institution or insurance company approved by PPRA, in original form, valid 30 days beyond the 120-day tender validity period. A Tender-Securing Declaration is an alternative only if the TDS specifies it; the TDS specifies the Ksh.70,000 Tender Security. D2 p.8
Tender fee
Not stated in the documents we reviewed Not stated D1 p.1
Site visit
Mandatory
Mandatory pre-tender site visit / pre-bid conference at the Department of Roads, Infrastructure and Public Works boardroom. Every bidder must be represented by one technical person with at least a Diploma in Civil/Highway Engineering, who brings original ID and certified copies of ID, diploma and EBK/KETRB/IET registration, and an original signed company introduction letter. One person may represent only one company. Site visit certificate issued as evidence. D2 p.8
Pre-bid meeting
Optional
Pre-tender meeting is also scheduled at the same place and time as the site visit. Written questions must reach the Procuring Entity no later than three days before the meeting. D2 p.26
Reserved for
Not reserved. Tender is open to all qualified tenderers; the TDS states reservation is not applicable. D2 p.28
Contract value
Not stated in the documents we reviewed Not stated P
Tender opening
Tenders opened immediately after the closing deadline, publicly, in the presence of bidder representatives who attend at the Ministry of Roads conference hall (TDS gives Department of Roads boardroom, Kanduyi, as opening address). D2 p.28
Tender validity
Tenders remain valid for 120 days from the closing date. D2 p.7

Who can apply

  • Tendering is open to all qualified and interested tenderers under the Open National method (no reservation to youth, women, PWD or AGPO groups is stated for this tender). Advert shows NCA category 8 and above. D2 p.7

Application checklist

Tick items off as you prepare. Your ticks stay on this device only.

Required from every bidder

  • D2 p.8
  • D2 p.8
  • D2 p.8
  • D2 p.8
  • D2 p.8
  • D2 p.8
  • D2 p.8
  • D2 p.8
  • D2 p.8
  • D2 p.8
  • D2 p.8

Required only in some situations

  • Standard rule D2 p.14

Experience, licences and financial capacity

Technical

  • Mandatory site visit / pre-bid meeting certificate must be attached to the tender (evaluation item 12). D2 p.30
  • Technical evaluation (max 100 points; 70% needed to be responsive): key personnel up to 20 (site agent, surveyor, foreman), plant and equipment up to 10 (tipper, water bowser, vibrator, pick-up, concrete mixer), financial capability up to 15, work methodology up to 25, work safety up to 10, experience up to 15, history of non-performance up to 5. D2 p.33

Financial

  • Financial capability assessed in evaluation: audited financial statements (last two years), bank statements (last six months), financial ratios, average turnover for last two years, and a bank undertaking for a line of credit specific to the tender. General experience of at least KShs 2,000,000 and similar-contract experience of at least KShs 2,000,000 in the last 4 years are also scored. D2 p.32

How and where to submit

  • Submit complete tender electronically through the IFMIS Supplier Portal (www.supplier.treasury.go.ke) as PDF files. Manual submissions will not be accepted. No extra hard copies required (ITT 20.1 states None). D1 p.8
  • Power of Attorney: written authorization for the signatory must be a duly executed and sealed Power of Attorney, witnessed by a Commissioner of Oaths, specific to this bid and not general. D2 p.27

Lots and categories

  • No lots are stated for this tender (single road, one negotiation number 2657005-2026/2027). Not stated D1 p.2

What the addenda changed

  • No addenda were provided in the material reviewed. Not stated P

Points to confirm with the procuring entity

The documents do not agree with each other on these points. Ask the procuring entity for a written clarification before you submit.

  • Negotiation number: Portal record and advert give 2657005; the Tender Document invitation and TDS give 265005-2026/2027 (the TDS gives 2657005-2026/2027). Bidders should confirm the correct number with the procuring entity before using it. (P; D1 p.2; D2 p.7 and p.26)
  • Tender Security form: Preliminary requirements list a Ksh.70,000 bid security; the advert lists a Tender Securing Declaration only for special category tenders, so it is unclear whether a bank security or a declaration is required for this open tender. (D1 p.7; D2 p.8 and p.21)
  • Site visit time and venue: Advert gives Tuesday 10 November 2026 at the Department boardroom without a time; the Invitation and TDS give 10.00 am. (D1 p.1; D2 p.8; D2 p.26)

Not covered in the documents we reviewed

  • Full bill of quantities, drawings and specifications (Parts 2 of tender document) were not provided, so the scope details and estimated value are unknown.
  • Contract value / engineer's estimate is not stated in the material reviewed.
  • Any addenda after the original tender documents were not provided; the closing time should be rechecked on the county website.
  • Tender Forms (Section IV) beyond the samples and the Tender Securing Declaration form, and the Confidential Business Questionnaire, were not reviewed.
  • Performance security amount and conditions of contract (Parts 3) were not reviewed.
  • Full ITT clauses on tender opening, late submissions and evaluation details beyond those extracted were not reviewed.

Terms explained

IFMIS
Integrated Financial Management Information System, the government e-procurement platform used for submitting tenders here.
TDS
Tender Data Sheet, the section of tender documents giving tender-specific values such as bid security and dates.
Bid security
Money or guarantee submitted with the tender to protect the county if the bidder withdraws or fails to sign.
NCA 8 and above
National Construction Authority registration category required for road works on this tender.
CR 12
Company Registry return listing directors and shareholders, which must be recent.
Responsive
A tender that meets all mandatory requirements and is evaluated further; a non-responsive tender is rejected.
AGPO
Access to Government Procurement Opportunities programme for youth, women and persons with disability; not applicable to this open tender.
Power of Attorney
Document authorising the person signing the tender to commit the company.
Tender validity
Period during which the bidder cannot withdraw the tender price (120 days here).
Nairobi City https://nairobicity.co.ke