Periodic maintenance of Romano-Jabal-Kangabasi Road, Tuuti Marakaru Ward, Bungoma County
Official title: PERIODIC MAINTENANCE OF ROMANO – JABAL – KANGABASI ROAD IN TUUTI MARAKARU WARD
- Closing
- Tue 17 Nov 2026, 11:00 am EAT
- Tender number
- BGM/CNTY/RPW/CEF/OT/ 036/2026/2027. NEGOTIATION NUMBER:2656997
- Procuring entity
- Bungoma County Government
- Category
- Works · Open Tender
- County
- Bungoma
Official documents take precedence. NairobiCity is an independent information service, not the procuring entity or a government body. This summary was prepared from the official documents with AI assistance; every requirement was matched to the document wording, but it can still contain mistakes. Before you apply, read the official tender documents and any addenda.
What is being bought
Periodic maintenance works on the Romano-Jabal-Kangabasi Road, about 1.0 km long, in Tuuti Marakaru Ward, Bungoma County (tender BGM/CNTY/RPW/CEF/OT/036/2026-2027, negotiation number 2656997-2026/2027). It is an open national tender for contractors registered with the National Construction Authority at NCA 8 and above.
What could disqualify you
- Bid security of Ksh 44,000 is a preliminary examination item. A tender without a compliant bid security is rejected as non-responsive. D2 p.8
- Tenderers who do not satisfy any preliminary examination requirement are treated as non-responsive and their tenders are not evaluated further. D2 p.30
- Bidders with stalled projects participating in this tender are disqualified. D1 p.8
- Any form of canvassing leads to disqualification. D1 p.8
- Manual submissions are not accepted. A tender must be submitted through the IFMIS platform. D1 p.1
Key facts
- Closing
-
Tue 17 Nov 2026, 11:00 am
Tenders must be received through the IFMIS Supplier Portal on or before this date and time. No addenda were provided that change it. D2 p.27 - Bid / tender security
- Bid security of Ksh 44,000 from a reputable bank, financial institution or insurance company approved by PPRA. Form options and validity beyond tender validity are set by the standard ITT 19 and 18.2 clauses (30 days beyond validity period); those standard forms are not in the reviewed pages. D2 p.27
- Tender fee
- Not stated in the documents we reviewed Not stated D1 p.1
- Site visit
-
Mandatory
Mandatory pre-tender site visit at the Department of Roads, Infrastructure and Public Works boardroom. A site visit certificate must be attached. The TDS and attendance rule conflict; see conflicts. Conflicting D2 p.28 - Pre-bid meeting
-
Mandatory
Pre-tender meeting at the same boardroom on the same date. The TDS says it shall take place, but ITT 7.5 says non-attendance is not a cause for disqualification; see conflicts. Conflicting D2 p.28 - Reserved for
- Not reserved. The tender is open to all eligible tenderers and is not reserved for youth, women, persons with disability or AGPO. D2 p.28
- Contract value
- Not stated in the documents we reviewed Not stated D1 p.1
- Tender opening
- Tenders are opened immediately after the closing deadline. The venue is stated differently in the advert (Ministry Conference Hall) and the tender document (Kanduyi boardroom); see conflicts. Conflicting D1 p.8
- Tender validity
- Tenders remain valid for 120 days from the closing date. Any extension requested by the procuring entity is for 30 days beyond the validity period. D2 p.7
Who can apply
- Open national tender. Tendering is open to all qualified and interested tenderers, and the schedule lists this road as open (not reserved) at NCA 8 and above. D2 p.7
- A valid NCA certificate for road works at category NCA 8 and above is required in the preliminary examination. D2 p.8
- Foreign tenderers must source at least 40 percent of contract inputs from citizen suppliers and contractors, or be automatically disqualified. This applies only if the tenderer is foreign under ITT 3.11. Standard rule D2 p.12
Application checklist
Tick items off as you prepare. Your ticks stay on this device only.
Required from every bidder
Experience, licences and financial capacity
Technical
- Site visit representative must hold at least a Diploma in Civil or Highway Engineering. One person may represent only one company per tender. D1 p.1
- Technical evaluation is scored out of 100 with key personnel (site agent, surveyor, foreman), plant and equipment, financial capability, work methodology, safety, and experience. A bidder scoring 70 percent or more is responsive and proceeds to financial evaluation. D2 p.33
- Plant and equipment is scored out of 10: tipper, water bowser, vibrator, pick-up and concrete mixer, each leased or owned. D2 p.31
- Work methodology is scored out of 25: signed work programme and cash flow estimate (0-15) and detailed method statement (0-10). D2 p.32
- Work safety management is scored out of 10 based on proposals for workers safety and accident prevention. D2 p.32
- Key personnel scoring: site agent (max 8), surveyor (max 6), foreman (max 6), based on qualifications and years of experience. D2 p.30
- Experience is scored out of 15: general experience of at least KShs 2 million and similar contracts of at least KShs 2 million in the last 4 years, with award and completion letters. D2 p.33
Financial
- Financial capability is scored out of 15: audited financial statements for last two years (3 points), bank statements from a reputable bank for last six months (2), financial ratios from latest audited accounts (2), average turnover for last two years (3), and an undertaking from the bank for a line of credit specific to the tender (5). D2 p.32
- Bid security of Ksh 44,000 must be furnished as part of the tender in the form set by the tender documents. The forms allowed are cash, bank guarantee, insurance company guarantee or financial institution guarantee approved under PPRA rules. D2 p.27
How and where to submit
- Submit complete tenders electronically only through the IFMIS Supplier Portal. Manual submissions are not accepted. Documents must be uploaded in PDF format. D1 p.8
- Portal address stated as www.supplier.treasury.go.ke. The tender document has a spelling variant (supplier.rteasury.go.ke); use the advert address and confirm with the procuring entity if needed. D1 p.8
- Only the original tender is required. No additional copies are required. D2 p.27
- Prices must be inclusive of all taxes, in Kenya shillings, and valid for 120 days from the closing date. D2 p.7
- Tenders must be written in English. Supporting documents in another language need a notarised English translation of relevant passages. Standard rule D2 p.14
- Written clarification requests go to Chief Officer, Roads, Infrastructure and Public Works, P.O Box 437-50200 Bungoma, email roadsbgmcounty@gmail.com. The deadline is stated as 13/11/2026, but the same TDS also says three days before the meeting; see conflicts. Conflicting D2 p.26
- IFMIS Helpdesk for upload problems: contact the Treasury IFMIS Helpdesk or the Supply Chain Management Office during working hours, Monday to Friday 8:00 am to 5:00 pm. D1 p.8
Points to confirm with the procuring entity
The documents do not agree with each other on these points. Ask the procuring entity for a written clarification before you submit.
- Mandatory site visit versus non-disqualification for non-attendance: The advert and invitation make the site visit or pre-bid conference mandatory, with the representative documents required. ITT 7.5 states non-attendance at the pre-arranged site visit and pre-tender meeting will not be a cause for disqualification. The bidder cannot resolve which applies. (D1 p.1, D1 p.7, D2 p.8, D2 p.28, D2 p.14)
- Deadline for written clarification requests: ITT 7.1 gives 13/11/2026. ITT 7.3 says questions must reach the procuring entity not later than three days before the meeting, which would be 7 November 2026 for a 10 November meeting. (D2 p.26 (ITT 7.1 and ITT 7.3))
- Tender opening venue: The advert says bids are opened at the Ministry of Roads, Infrastructure and Public Works Conference Hall. The TDS says the opening is at Kanduyi boardroom. (D1 p.8, D2 p.27 (ITT 25.1))
Not covered in the documents we reviewed
- No addenda or clarifications were provided, so any later change to dates or requirements is unknown.
- Contract value or cost estimate is not stated.
- Bill of quantities, technical specifications and drawings (Sections V to VII) were not provided.
- Tender forms in Section IV (form of tender format, tender-securing declaration, business questionnaire) were not provided beyond the summaries.
- Standard bid security form options in ITT 19.2 and performance security amount in ITT 48 were not reviewed.
- Tender fee, if any, is not stated in the material reviewed.
- Only 27 of 153 pages of the tender document were reviewed, so further requirements may be in omitted pages.
- Whether a joint venture is allowed (ITT 3.1 states NA) and any JV rules were not confirmed.
Terms explained
- TDS
- Tender Data Sheet. Section II of the tender document with the specific details for this tender that override the general instructions.
- ITT
- Instructions to Tenderers. The standard rules on how to prepare and submit a tender.
- Tender security or bid security
- A guarantee or deposit of a set amount, here Ksh 44,000, submitted with the tender and returned to unsuccessful bidders.
- Responsive or non-responsive
- A responsive tender meets all mandatory requirements. A non-responsive tender is rejected without further evaluation.
- AGPO
- Access to Government Procurement Opportunities for youth, women and persons with disability. Not applicable here because the tender is open.
- NCA
- National Construction Authority. Registration category NCA 8 and above is required for road works here.
- KRA PIN and tax compliance
- Kenya Revenue Authority tax identification number and certificate proving tax obligations are met.
- CR 12
- Company Registry return listing company directors and shareholders. Must be recent, within 6 months.
- IFMIS
- Integrated Financial Management Information System. The government electronic system through which tenders are submitted.
- PPRA
- Public Procurement Regulatory Authority. Its approval applies to bank and insurance bid securities.
- Power of Attorney
- A signed and sealed document giving the signatory authority to bind the company to this bid, witnessed by a Commissioner of Oaths.
- Negotiation number
- Unique IFMIS reference used to download tender documents and to identify the tender on the portal, here 2656997-2026/2027.
- Commissioner of Oaths or Notary Public
- Official who certifies copies of documents for the site visit representative.