Black Friday Ulikuwa unangoja ishuke. Imeshuka. starts in is live - ends in See early deals Shop the deals
Black Friday starts Fri 27 Nov 2026, 00:00. Black Friday is live until Mon 30 Nov 2026, 23:59.
Closing soon

Consultancy for survey and planning of Matumbi Trading Centre in Mwavumbo Ward, Kwale County (Ref 2657121/2026/2027)

Official title: CONSULTANCY SERVICES FOR SURVEY AND PLANNING OF MATUMBI TRADING CENTRE IN MWAVUMBO WARD

Closing
Wed 4 Nov 2026, 10:30 am EAT
Tender number
2657121/2026/2027
Procuring entity
Kwale County Government
Category
Consultancy Services · Open Tender
County
Kwale

Official documents take precedence. NairobiCity is an independent information service, not the procuring entity or a government body. This summary was prepared from the official documents with AI assistance; every requirement was matched to the document wording, but it can still contain mistakes. Before you apply, read the official tender documents and any addenda.

What is being bought

Kwale County Government, through the Department of Environment, Natural Resources and Urban Planning, is procuring consultancy services for the survey and planning of Matumbi Trading Centre in Mwavumbo Ward, including a draft and final local physical and land use plan, subdivision scheme and survey plans, GIS base map, and beneficiary lists. The selection method is Quality and Cost Based Selection (QCBS).

What could disqualify you

  • Firms or individuals debarred from public procurement are ineligible, including during the debarment period. Standard rule D2 p.7
  • Public officers of the Procuring Entity and their close relatives, business associates, and firms in which they have substantial interest are not eligible; public officers may not take part in procurement proceedings. Government officials and civil servants shall not be hired for consulting contracts. Standard rule D2 p.6
  • Firms that submit or participate in more than one proposal are disqualified and rejected. Members of a JV may not also submit an individual proposal. Standard rule D2 p.8
  • Any consultant involved in corrupt, coercive, obstructive, collusive or fraudulent practice is automatically disqualified. Standard rule D2 p.6
  • Proposals that fail eligibility and mandatory criteria are not evaluated; the technical proposal must be signed by the person with power of attorney, complete with all forms and documentary evidence, and must include a sealed financial proposal, without material deviation. Standard rule D2 p.10
  • Any proposal that fails to achieve the minimum technical score of 60 out of 80 is non-responsive and disqualified; financial envelopes are returned unopened. D2 p.114
  • All declarations must be witnessed by a magistrate or commissioner for oaths. Failing this or submitting other than PDF is a mandatory-document failure. D2 p.113

Key facts

Closing
Wed 4 Nov 2026, 10:30 am
Proposals must be submitted on or before Wednesday 04 November 2026 at 10:30am (per the portal and cover page; the data sheet references ITC 17.7 and 17.9 for the submission address). D2 p.1
Bid / tender security
Not stated in the documents we reviewed Not stated D1 p.1
Tender fee
Not stated in the documents we reviewed Not stated D1 p.1
Site visit
Not stated in the documents we reviewed Not stated D2 p.1
Pre-bid meeting
Optional
A pre-proposal conference will not be held. D2 p.18
Reserved for
No reservation applies. Margin of preference is not allowed; reservations for specific groups may apply only if stated in the data sheet, and the data sheet says the business will be registered with the Government of Kenya. D2 p.18
Contract value
Not stated in the documents we reviewed Not stated D2 p.18
Tender opening
Not stated in the documents we reviewed Not stated D2 p.21
Tender validity
Proposals must remain valid for 126 days after the proposal submission deadline. D2 p.18

Who can apply

  • Eligible firms may bid. The Procuring Entity permits consultants, proposed experts, joint ventures and individual members from all countries and categories, unless otherwise specified. Standard rule D2 p.7
  • Joint ventures are allowed with a maximum of two members. JV members must be named in full with the lead member first. D2 p.18
  • Joint ventures must seek exemption from the Competition Authority of Kenya; this is not needed to submit but is a condition of contract award and signature. D2 p.7

Application checklist

Tick items off as you prepare. Your ticks stay on this device only.

Required from every bidder

  • D2 p.113
  • D2 p.11
  • D2 p.113
  • D2 p.113
  • D2 p.113
  • D2 p.113
  • D2 p.113

Experience, licences and financial capacity

Technical

  • Technical score out of 80 with pass mark 60/80. Methodology (20 marks) on company letterhead, signed and stamped; comments on TORs (20 marks) on client letterhead; two similar services of similar magnitude executed in the last two years (20 marks, only awarded for a complete set with award letters, contracts and completion certificates); two current client recommendation letters (20 marks) on client letterhead with contact details. D2 p.113
  • Key personnel: Lead consultant must be a duly registered and licensed physical planner with a Bachelor's degree in urban/regional planning or related and at least ten years' experience; at least one licensed surveyor with a Bachelor's in surveying and 10 years' experience; one urban planner (Bachelor's, five years); one GIS professional (Bachelor's in geomatic or geospatial engineering, five years); one socio-economist (Bachelor's in economics or sociology, five years). D2 p.94
  • Deliverables include an inception report (30% of contract amount), GIS base map, stakeholder reports, gazette and newspaper notices, beneficiary lists, ground controls, aerial imagery of 50 cm accuracy or better, draft and final plans, subdivision scheme and survey plans, and registry index maps. Reports must be perfectly bound with soft copies. D2 p.93

Financial

  • Financial proposal in hardcopy, with a capacity building levy of 0.03% of the total contract sum to be factored in. Tender sum must not be filled in the technical stage; enter 1 as the tender sum in the system. D2 p.114
  • Financial scores: lowest price gets 100; technical and financial weights (T, P) are blank in the data sheet, so the QCBS weighting is not stated. Not stated D2 p.21

How and where to submit

  • Electronic submission is listed on the portal. The Technical Proposal is submitted via the IFMIS i-Sourcing system (www.supplier.treasury.go.ke); the Financial Proposal is submitted in hardcopy. The Technical Proposal must be in PDF only, and links other than ifmis supplier.treasury.go.ke are not allowed. D2 p.18
  • Hardcopy Financial Proposal: the technical proposal is sealed in one envelope with separate sealed envelopes marked ORIGINAL and COPIES for technical proposal and ORIGINAL for financial proposal; each inner envelope must bear the Procuring Entity name and address, the firm name and address, and the assignment name and reference number. Number of copies is not stated in the material reviewed. Standard rule D2 p.10
  • Proposals received after the deadline are declared late, rejected and returned unopened. Standard rule D2 p.10
  • Clarifications may be requested no later than the 9th day from the date of publishing, by email to info@kwale.go.ke and nsuya@kwale.go.ke (copy to nemsiesuya@gmail.com). D2 p.18

Lots and categories

  • No lots: single assignment (tender 2657121/2026/2027). D1 p.1

What the addenda changed

  • No addenda were provided in the material reviewed. Not stated P

Points to confirm with the procuring entity

The documents do not agree with each other on these points. Ask the procuring entity for a written clarification before you submit.

  • Bid security (bid bond): Tender notice shows bid bond N/A; the data sheet requires no security amount. Not a conflict but no security is stated; confirm with the entity. (D1 p.1; D2 p.18)
  • Method of submission: Portal lists electronic submission only, while the data sheet says the financial proposal is submitted in hardcopy. (P; D2 p.18)

Not covered in the documents we reviewed

  • Technical proposal opening date, time and address (data sheet ITC 17.7/17.9 and 20.1 not in the material).
  • Number of copies of the technical and financial proposals.
  • Weights for technical and financial scores (T and P) in QCBS.
  • Total available budget or estimated contract value.
  • Full submission address (ITC 17.9).
  • Any addenda, if issued.
  • Pages of the data sheet and forms not reviewed (only 24 of 114 pages supplied).

Terms explained

QCBS
Quality and Cost Based Selection: firms are scored on technical quality and price, combined using stated weights.
TDS / Data Sheet
Tender Data Sheet: the tender-specific section that gives the particular values for the general instructions.
JV
Joint Venture: two or more firms bidding together, with a lead member.
Power of Attorney
Written authority allowing a person to sign the proposal on the firm's behalf.
Responsive
A proposal that meets all important requirements of the RFP and terms of reference without material deviation.
Key Experts
Named professional staff whose qualifications and availability are scored and who must remain available.
CR12
Kenyan company document listing company directors and shareholders, issued by the Registrar of Companies.
Tax Compliance Certificate
Certificate from the Kenya Revenue Authority confirming tax obligations are up to date.
Financial Proposal
Price envelope, kept sealed in the technical stage and opened only after technical evaluation.
Nairobi City https://nairobicity.co.ke