Proposed opening/maintenance of Sibuoche-Puche Road, Migori County (CGM/RDS&T/32/2026-2027), reserved for women
Official title: PROPOSED OPENING/MAINTENANCE OF SIBUOCHE – PUCHE ROAD.
- Closing
- Wed 11 Nov 2026, 10:00 am EAT
- Tender number
- CGM/RDS&T/32/2026-2027
- Procuring entity
- Migori County Government
- Category
- Works · Open Tender
- Reserved for (portal)
- Women
- County
- Migori
Official documents take precedence. NairobiCity is an independent information service, not the procuring entity or a government body. This summary was prepared from the official documents with AI assistance; every requirement was matched to the document wording, but it can still contain mistakes. Before you apply, read the official tender documents and any addenda.
What is being bought
Migori County Government invites tenders for the proposed opening and maintenance of Sibuoche-Puche Road under tender CGM/RDS&T/32/2026-2027 (IFMIS number 2653953), a works contract under open tender. The notice reserves this tender for women-owned enterprises registered under AGPO. Road length and location detail beyond the route name and Migori County are not stated in the material reviewed.
What could disqualify you
- A tenderer found to have been involved in corrupt, coercive, obstructive or fraudulent practice is automatically disqualified. Standard rule D2 p.11
- Any tender received after the deadline is declared late, rejected and returned unopened. Standard rule D2 p.20
- Altering the prescribed format of the Tender-Securing Declaration Form leads to disqualification. D2 p.35
- A bidder with any history of non-performance of contracts (termination or liquidated damages in the last three years, without proof of no contractor default) is disqualified. D2 p.39
Key facts
- Closing
-
Wed 11 Nov 2026, 10:00 am
Tender must be received on or before 2026-11-11 at 10:00 (portal closing date). No addenda were provided that change the date. P - Bid / tender security
- The TDS states that a tender security amount shall not be required and a Tender-Securing Declaration Form shall not be required. The evaluation criteria require a duly filled Tender-Securing Declaration Form for reserved groups (Women, Youth, PWD). This conflicts and must be clarified. Conflicting D2 p.29
- Tender fee
- The tender document may be downloaded free of charge from the Public Procurement Information Portal (tenders.go.ke) and/or IFMIS Supplier Portal using the unique IFMIS negotiation number. D2 p.7
- Site visit
-
Mandatory
Mandatory pre-tender site visit at SIBUOCHE at 9.00AM. The date is shown in the tender notice as 29/10/2026. Every bidder must be represented by one person with an authorising letter, a Diploma in Civil Engineering or equivalent, and EBK registration. The invitation says non-attendance is grounds for rejection, but ITT 7 says non-attendance is not a cause for disqualification (see conflicts). Conflicting D2 p.7 - Pre-bid meeting
- Not stated in the documents we reviewed Not stated D2
- Reserved for
- Tender is reserved for women. Reservation is shown on the portal and the tender notice listing this tender with category WOMEN. P
- Contract value
- Not stated in the documents we reviewed Not stated D2
- Tender opening
- Not stated in the documents we reviewed Not stated D2
- Tender validity
- Invitation says prices are valid for 120 days from tender opening. TDS ITT 18.1 says the tender validity period is 140 days from the opening date. These conflict. Conflicting D2 p.29
Who can apply
- Tender is reserved for women. Only businesses registered with National Treasury under AGPO in the women group may apply, as shown on the portal and the tender notice listing. P
- Tender is stated in the invitation as open to all qualified and interested tenderers. This conflicts with the women reservation on the portal and tender notice (see conflicts). Conflicting D2 p.7
- Evidence of AGPO registration in the relevant group (Women, Youth or Persons Living with Disability) with National Treasury is required; the women group applies to this tender. D2 p.35
Application checklist
Tick items off as you prepare. Your ticks stay on this device only.
Required from every bidder
Experience, licences and financial capacity
Technical
- Site agent must hold a Diploma in Civil Engineering or equivalent with at least 6 years experience as a site agent, per the evaluation criteria. Exact site staff minimums are in the key personnel schedule. Unverified D2 p.34
Financial
- Liquid or available financial means (independent of advance payment) of at least 40% of the Engineer's Estimate for construction cash flow. D2 p.34
- At least one similar contract executed in Kenya, the East African Community or abroad, satisfactorily and substantially completed as prime contractor, JV member or subcontractor, of minimum value KSh 5 million. D2 p.34
- Minimum average annual construction turnover appears to be KSh 50 million, but the wording in the text is garbled and the figure and period cannot be verified. Unverified D2 p.34
How and where to submit
- Tenders must be submitted electronically through the IFMIS Supplier Portal (www.supplier.treasury.go.ke) using the IFMIS negotiation number. The notice says all tenders MUST be submitted through IFMIS. D1 p.7
- Tender submission is electronic per the portal and TDS. The TDS also specifies two copies in addition to the original, which conflicts with electronic-only submission (see conflicts). Conflicting D2 p.28
Points to confirm with the procuring entity
The documents do not agree with each other on these points. Ask the procuring entity for a written clarification before you submit.
- Who may apply (women reservation): The portal and tender notice reserve this tender for women. The invitation to tender says it is open to all qualified and interested tenderers. Clarify with the procuring entity before bidding. (P (portal reserved groups: women); D1 p.4 (item 29 category WOMEN); D2 p.7 (invitation point 2: open to all))
- Tender-Securing Declaration requirement: TDS ITT 19.1 says the tender security amount is not required and the Tender-Securing Declaration Form shall not be required. The evaluation criteria (mandatory preliminary examination item 6) require a duly filled Tender-Securing Declaration Form for Youth, Women and PWD reserved tenders. Ask the procuring entity whether the form must be submitted. (D2 p.29 (TDS ITT 19.1); D2 p.35 (evaluation criteria item 6); D2 p.7 (invitation point 8))
- Tender validity period: The invitation says prices remain valid for 120 days from tender opening. The TDS ITT 18.1 says the validity period is 140 days from the opening date. Ask the procuring entity which applies. (D2 p.7 (invitation point 7); D2 p.29 (TDS ITT 18.1))
- Electronic submission vs physical copies: The portal, notice and TDS 25.1 say tenders must be submitted electronically via IFMIS. The TDS ITT 20.1 also requires the original plus two copies, and the evaluation criteria require signed originals. Ask whether physical originals and copies must also be delivered. (P (submission method: electronic); D1 p.7 (all tenders via IFMIS); D2 p.28 (TDS ITT 20.1: two copies); D2 p.29 (TDS ITT 25.1))
- Mandatory vs optional pre-tender site visit: The invitation says the pre-tender site visit is mandatory. ITT 7.5 says non-attendance at the pre-arranged site visit will not be a cause for disqualification. Ask the procuring entity whether attendance is compulsory and whether absence leads to rejection. (D2 p.7 (invitation point 5: mandatory); D2 p.14 (ITT 7.x: non-attendance not a cause for disqualification))
Not covered in the documents we reviewed
- Addenda (A1, A2...) for this tender, if any, were not provided, so no changes can be confirmed.
- Tender opening date and time are not stated in the material reviewed.
- Contract value / engineer's estimate and contract duration (invitation shows a placeholder for period) are not confirmed.
- Road length, start and end points, and full scope of works are not in the pages reviewed.
- Performance security amount (TDS ITT 48.1 mentions 5% of tender sum, to be confirmed) and form.
- Section V Bills of Quantities, drawings and Section VI specifications were not provided.
- Pages of the Section IV evaluation criteria for key personnel, equipment schedules and forms (e.g. Form CON-1, CON-2, CON-3) were not fully reviewed.
- Joint venture member limits and any further conditions in TDS ITT 3.1 are garbled and need checking.
- Pre-tender site visit date is shown in the tender notice as 29/10/2026 but the invitation says Date As indicated; confirm with the procuring entity.
- Whether any pre-bid meeting is held is not stated.
Terms explained
- AGPO
- Access to Government Procurement Opportunities. Reserves a share of public tenders for youth, women and persons with disability. Businesses must be registered with National Treasury in the relevant group.
- TDS
- Tender Data Sheet. Section of the tender document giving specific values that override the standard Instructions to Tenderers.
- Tender security / Tender-Securing Declaration
- A bank guarantee, insurance guarantee or signed declaration submitted with the tender to show commitment. A declaration means the bidder can be barred from public tenders if it withdraws or breaches.
- Responsive
- A tender that meets all mandatory requirements of the tender documents. Non-responsive tenders are rejected before comparison of prices.
- IFMIS
- Integrated Financial Management Information System. The government e-procurement system through which this tender must be submitted.
- Tender validity
- The period during which the tender prices must remain binding, counted from the opening date.
- JV
- Joint venture. Two or more businesses bidding together as one tender with joint and several liability.
- NCA
- National Construction Authority. Contractors must be registered in the relevant category to work on roads and bridges.
- Engineer's Estimate
- The procuring entity's internal estimate of the contract cost. The 40% liquidity requirement is measured against it.
- Post-qualification
- Checking of the lowest evaluated bidder's documents after evaluation, before award.