Open

Youth-reserved tender: supply, installation and commissioning of 13m LED highmast floodlights, Rongai Sub County

Official title: Tender for the proposed supply, installation, testing and commissioning of 4No 13M LED highmast floodlights at Ex Margaret-Janet Onyancha Junction, Phase 9 (Paradise 2), Shepherd Estate and Bethsaida Estate in Mosop Ward Rongai Sub County.

Closing
Tue 3 Nov 2026, 10:00 am EAT
Tender number
CGN/RTPW/ONT/040/2026-2027
Procuring entity
Nakuru County Government
Category
Works · Open Tender
Reserved for (portal)
Youth
County
Nakuru

Official documents take precedence. NairobiCity is an independent information service, not the procuring entity or a government body. This summary was prepared from the official documents with AI assistance; every requirement was matched to the document wording, but it can still contain mistakes. Before you apply, read the official tender documents and any addenda.

What is being bought

Supply, installation, testing and commissioning of 13m LED highmast floodlights at Ex Margaret-Janet Onyancha Junction, Phase 9 (Paradise 2), Shepherd Estate, Bethsaida Estate and Sobea Centre in Mosop Ward, Rongai Sub-County, Nakuru. The quantity is 4 per the portal and notice but 5 per the tender document (see conflicts). The tender is reserved for youth.

What could disqualify you

  • Any bidder failing a mandatory requirement (MR1 to MR15) is non-responsive and not evaluated further. D2 p.33
  • Late tenders are rejected. D2 p.7
  • Tenders with unacceptable errors, including arithmetic errors in unit price, quantity or totals, are treated as major deviations and disqualified as non-responsive. Standard rule D2 p.23

Key facts

Closing
Tue 3 Nov 2026, 10:00 am
Closing date and time for submission: 3 November 2026 at 10:00 am East Africa time, on or before. No addenda were provided in the material reviewed. D2 p.1
Bid / tender security
No tender security (bank guarantee) is required. Instead bidders must submit an original, duly filled, signed and stamped Tender-Securing Declaration Form in the format provided. D2 p.29
Tender fee
Not stated in the documents we reviewed Not stated D2 p.6
Site visit
Optional
Site visit is encouraged, not compulsory, at the bidder's own risk and cost. TDS states pre-tender site visit is not applicable. Standard rule D2 p.12
Pre-bid meeting
Optional
No pre-tender conference is held (TDS: not applicable). Questions must be sent in writing no later than 3 days before the deadline. D2 p.28
Reserved for
Tender is reserved for youth. Only businesses in the specified youth group, appropriately registered (AGPO youth certificate required under MR12), may tender. D2 p.1
Contract value
Not stated in the documents we reviewed Not stated D2
Tender opening
Tenders are opened immediately after the closing deadline at County Government HQ, 1st Floor Board Room, Moi Road, Nakuru, in the presence of bidder representatives who choose to attend. D2 p.29
Tender validity
Tenders remain valid for 210 days. Start date conflicts across sources (see conflicts). Conflicting D2 p.29

Who can apply

  • Open only to youth-reserved group under the PPADA reservation rule; non-youth firms are not eligible to tender. D2 p.6

Application checklist

Tick items off as you prepare. Your ticks stay on this device only.

Required from every bidder

  • D2 p.32
  • D2 p.32
  • D2 p.32
  • D2 p.32
  • D2 p.33
  • D2 p.33
  • D2 p.33
  • D2 p.33
  • D2 p.33
  • D2 p.33
  • D2 p.33
  • D2 p.33
  • D2 p.33
  • D2 p.33

Experience, licences and financial capacity

Technical

  • Preliminary evaluation (mandatory requirements) is pass/fail; bidders failing any mandatory requirement are non-responsive and are not evaluated further. D2 p.33
  • Technical scoring: General experience (10 marks) and specific experience of works of Kshs 2 million and above in the past 2 years (20 marks). Only bidders scoring 70% and above proceed to financial evaluation. D2 p.38

Financial

  • Financial capacity scored out of 25: certified bank statements for 2025 and 2024 (10 marks) or letter of credit, or certified audited accounts for 2025 and 2024 (10 marks each year per the scoring table). D2 p.36
  • Lowest technically qualified price wins. Tie on lowest price goes to the firm with the highest technical score. D2 p.38

How and where to submit

  • Hard copies in plain sealed envelopes marked with tender number and description, deposited in the tender box at County Government HQ ground floor main entrance, Moi Road, Nakuru, or posted to the County Secretary. D2 p.30
  • Soft copy must be submitted through the supplier portal (IFMIS supplier portal). D2 p.30
  • Submit the original plus ONE additional copy of the tender. D2 p.29
  • Serialize all pages of the tender from the cover page to the last page including attachments, numbered 1, 2, 3. D2 p.6
  • Tender documents may be downloaded free of charge from www.nakuru.go.ke, the supplier portal, or www.tenders.go.ke. D2 p.6

Points to confirm with the procuring entity

The documents do not agree with each other on these points. Ask the procuring entity for a written clarification before you submit.

  • Quantity of floodlights: Portal record and Invitation notice state 4No 13M LED highmast floodlights, but the tender document cover, invitation and Tender Data Sheet describe 5no. Confirm quantity with the procuring entity before pricing. (P portal record; D1 p.2 invitation item 16 (4No); D2 p.1 cover (5NO); D2 p.6 invitation (5no); D2 p.28 TDS (5no))
  • Start of tender validity period: Cover says 210 days from the date of opening of tenders; ITT 20.1 says validity starts from the date fixed for the submission deadline. (D2 p.6 invitation item 5; D2 p.17 ITT 20.1; D2 p.29 TDS ITT 20.1)
  • NCA registration at tender stage: ITT 3.12 says NCA registration is not a condition for tender but only for contract award, while MR4 requires a certified NCA Category 8 registration at preliminary evaluation. (D2 p.12 ITT 3.12; D2 p.32 MR4)

Not covered in the documents we reviewed

  • Contract value / budget for the works (not stated in the reviewed pages)
  • Performance security amount (ITT 52.3 exempts contracts under Kshs 5 million; applicability unknown without contract value)
  • Any addenda (A1, A2 etc.); none were provided, so the closing date and quantity may change
  • Mandatory requirement MR10 is absent from the list (numbering jumps from MR9 to MR11); ask the entity whether it was dropped
  • Section IV forms, Section V drawings, Section VI specifications and Section VII Bill of Quantities were not in the reviewed pages
  • Full Section III evaluation scoring for TR2 financial points and Section X contract forms
  • Clarification and standstill details beyond the reviewed pages (standstill 14 days is in ITT 47.1 but not checked against TDS)

Terms explained

Highmast floodlights
Tall lighting poles (here 13m) with a cluster of lamps used for area lighting.
TDS
Tender Data Sheet: the tender-specific section that sets the values that override the general instructions.
ITT
Instructions to Tenderers: the standard rules for preparing and submitting bids.
MR
Mandatory Requirement: a pass/fail preliminary check; failing any means the tender is non-responsive.
Responsive / non-responsive
A tender that meets all mandatory requirements and conditions is responsive; a non-responsive tender is rejected without further evaluation.
AGPO
Access to Government Procurement Opportunities: a reservation scheme for youth, women and persons with disabilities; here the tender is reserved for youth.
Tender-Securing Declaration
A signed, stamped declaration in the prescribed form, given instead of a bank guarantee, promising to honour the bid if awarded.
CR12
Company Registrar document listing a company's directors and shareholders.
NCA
National Construction Authority: contractor registration body required for construction works.
EPRA
Energy and Petroleum Regulatory Authority: licence class required for electrical works.
Serialization
Numbering every page of the tender consecutively from the cover to the last page.
Nairobi City https://nairobicity.co.ke