Open

Rehabilitation of Streetlights Across Kaptembwo Ward, Nakuru West Sub County - Reserved for Youth

Official title: Tender for Proposed Rehabilitation of Streetlights Across Kaptembwo Ward In Nakuru West Sub County

Closing
Tue 3 Nov 2026, 10:00 am EAT
Tender number
CGN/NKRCB/ONT/058/2026-2027
Procuring entity
Nakuru County Government
Category
Works · Open Tender
Reserved for (portal)
Youth
County
Nakuru

Official documents take precedence. NairobiCity is an independent information service, not the procuring entity or a government body. This summary was prepared from the official documents with AI assistance; every requirement was matched to the document wording, but it can still contain mistakes. Before you apply, read the official tender documents and any addenda.

What is being bought

Proposed rehabilitation of streetlights across Kaptembwo Ward in Nakuru West Sub County, Nakuru County, under tender CGN/NKRCB/ONT/058/2026-2027, run by the County Government of Nakuru as an open national tender reserved for youth. Quantities are not stated in the reviewed pages.

What could disqualify you

  • Bidders who do not satisfy any mandatory requirement MR1-MR14 are non-responsive and their tenders will not be evaluated further. D2 p.42
  • Tenders that are late will be rejected. D2 p.8
  • Tender with a shorter validity than 210 days is rejected as non-responsive. Standard rule D2 p.25
  • Failure to submit the information required on ownership and control, or information that cannot be verified, leads to rejection of the tender (ITT 19.8). Standard rule D2 p.25
  • Tenders quoted in currencies other than Kenya shillings are non-responsive and rejected. D2 p.32

Key facts

Closing
Tue 3 Nov 2026, 10:00 am
Tenders close on Tuesday 3 November 2026 at 10:00am East Africa time; no addenda reviewed. Portal closing time 10:00:00 matches. D2 p.39
Bid / tender security
No tender security is required. Instead bidders must submit a duly filled, signed and stamped Tender-Securing Declaration Form. D2 p.39
Tender fee
Tender documents may be obtained free of charge. D2 p.7
Site visit
Optional
Site visit is not mandatory and not stated as scheduled; tenderers are encouraged to visit the site at their own cost. D2 p.38
Pre-bid meeting
Optional
No pre-tender meeting: NOT APPLICABLE. D2 p.38
Reserved for
Reserved for YOUTH (AGPO youth group); MR12 requires a valid AGPO Certificate for YOUTH. D2 p.1
Contract value
Not stated in the documents we reviewed Not stated D2 p.45
Tender opening
Tenders are opened immediately after the deadline in the presence of tenderers' representatives who choose to attend, at the County Government HQ 1st floor Board Room, Moi Road, Nakuru. D2 p.39
Tender validity
Tenders remain valid for 210 days from the date of opening. D2 p.7

Who can apply

  • Tender is reserved for YOUTH: only businesses/firms belonging to the youth group registered as such are eligible to tender. D2 p.40
  • Tenderers must be eligible under the instructions; firms registered in Kenya are required for works and a Kenyan tenderer must show tax compliance. Foreign tenderers must meet a 40% national sourcing requirement (ITT 3.10). Standard rule D2 p.14

Application checklist

Tick items off as you prepare. Your ticks stay on this device only.

Required from every bidder

  • D2 p.42
  • D2 p.42
  • D2 p.43
  • D2 p.43
  • D2 p.43
  • D2 p.43
  • D2 p.43
  • D2 p.43
  • D2 p.43
  • D2 p.43
  • D2 p.43
  • D2 p.43
  • D2 p.43
  • D2 p.43
  • Standard rule D2 p.14

Required only in some situations

  • Standard rule D2 p.14

Experience, licences and financial capacity

Technical

  • TR1 General experience: 3 years and above = 10 marks; 2-3 years = 5 marks; 0-2 years = 3 marks (attach LPO/LSO, award letters, contracts). Specific experience: annual volume of similar works of Kshs 2 million and above in the past 2 years scores up to 20 marks. D2 p.46
  • Bids must include a technical proposal with work methods, equipment, personnel and schedule. Standard rule D2 p.24

Financial

  • TR2 Financial capacity (25 marks): certified bank statements for past two years 2025-2024 (5 marks each year, 10 marks in total); letter of credit (5 marks); certified audited accounts for 2025 and 2024 signed and stamped (10 marks). D2 p.46
  • Minimum cash flow, minimum average annual construction turnover, and similar-contract value amounts are left blank in the evaluation criteria and are not stated in the reviewed pages. Not stated D2 p.45

How and where to submit

  • Submission: electronic tenders permitted. Soft copies through the supplier portal and hard copies in plain sealed envelopes marked with tender number and description, deposited in the tender box at County Government HQ Ground Floor entrance, Moi Road, Nakuru, or posted to The County Secretary, P.O Box 2780-20100, Nakuru. D2 p.40
  • Number of copies of the original tender: ONE (in addition to the original). D2 p.39
  • All pages must be serialized chronologically from the cover page to the last page including attachments, in the format 1, 2, 3. D2 p.7
  • Tender documents may be downloaded free of charge from www.nakuru.go.ke, supplier portal, or tenders.go.ke. D2 p.7

Lots and categories

  • No lots are stated in the reviewed pages (single contract). Not stated D2 p.38

What the addenda changed

  • No addenda were provided for review. Not stated P

Points to confirm with the procuring entity

The documents do not agree with each other on these points. Ask the procuring entity for a written clarification before you submit.

  • Reservation group: Portal lists youth; notice lists the tender as reserved for youth; TDS states reserved for youth. Consistent, but the tender document references AGPO for youth; the notice D1 lists tender ONT/058 as reserved for youth as well. (P; D1 p.5; D2 p.38; D2 p.42)
  • Tender submission location: Notice D1 says hard copies go to the Tender Box at HQ Supply Chain or post to P.O Box 2870-20100; D2 gives P.O Box 2780-20100 and Ground Floor entrance. Postal box numbers differ between documents. (D1 p.2; D2 p.39)

Not covered in the documents we reviewed

  • Bill of Quantities, drawings and specifications (Sections V-VII) not provided
  • Estimated contract value and cash-flow amount (Section III financial criteria blanks)
  • Minimum average annual construction turnover amount and years
  • Number and value of similar contracts required
  • Key personnel and key equipment requirements
  • Conditions of contract and performance security details (Sections VIII-IX)
  • Any addenda after the original tender publication
  • Confirmation of the correct postal box number (2780 vs 2870)
  • Section IV tendering forms in full

Terms explained

AGPO
Access to Government Procurement Opportunities: a reservation scheme letting youth, women and persons with disabilities compete for set-aside tenders; requires an AGPO certificate.
TDS
Tender Data Sheet: the section of the tender document giving specific values that override the general instructions.
Tender Securing Declaration
A signed, stamped form in which the bidder promises to accept sanctions if it withdraws or fails to sign; used here instead of cash or bank tender security.
Responsive / non-responsive
A tender is responsive if it meets all mandatory requirements; non-responsive tenders are rejected without further evaluation.
MR
Mandatory Requirement: pass/fail preliminary check that every bidder must meet.
CR12
Company return showing directors and shareholders, issued by the Registrar of Companies.
NCA
National Construction Authority: registration required for construction contractors, a condition of contract award here.
Standstill Period
14-day period after notice of intention to award during which unsuccessful bidders may complain before contract signing.
Nairobi City https://nairobicity.co.ke