Open

Kwale County: Supply, delivery and installation of energy saving jikos (ref CGK/EDU/2653742/2026-2027)

Official title: SUPPLY AND DELIVERY OF ENERGY SAVING JIKOS

Closing
Mon 2 Nov 2026, 10:00 am EAT
Tender number
CGK/EDU/2653742/2026-2027
Procuring entity
Kwale County Government
Category
Goods · Open Tender
Reserved for (portal)
Women
County
Kwale

Official documents take precedence. NairobiCity is an independent information service, not the procuring entity or a government body. This summary was prepared from the official documents with AI assistance; every requirement was matched to the document wording, but it can still contain mistakes. Before you apply, read the official tender documents and any addenda.

What is being bought

Supply, delivery and installation of complete firewood energy saving jikos made of stainless steel with 100-litre boilers and a heavy duty chimney, for ECDE centres in Kwale County. The tender notice names JEZA B ECDE in Tsimba Golini Ward as a sample viewing location.

What could disqualify you

  • Tenders that do not pass preliminary examination (eligibility and mandatory requirements) are non-responsive and not considered further. D2 p.25
  • Tenders must be valid for the stated period; a shorter validity is rejected as non-responsive. Standard rule D2 p.12
  • Late tenders are rejected and returned unopened; the portal rejects late submissions automatically. D2 p.3
  • Declarations must be witnessed by a commissioner for oath/magistrate; incomplete or unsigned forms fail completeness. D2 p.35
  • Alternative tenders are not considered. Adjustable (non-fixed) prices are treated as non-responsive and rejected. D2 p.22
  • Conditional discounts will be rejected. Standard rule D2 p.10

Key facts

Closing
Mon 2 Nov 2026, 10:00 am
Closing deadline for electronic submission: Monday 2 November 2026 at 10:00 AM via supplier.treasury.go.ke. D2 p.23
Bid / tender security
A Tender Security is not required; a Tender-Securing Declaration is required instead, witnessed by a Commissioner for Oath. No cash or bank amount applies. D2 p.23
Tender fee
Tender document fee is NIL (Kenya shillings), payable in cash or banker's cheque at the purchase address; electronic download is free. D2 p.2
Site visit
Not stated in the documents we reviewed Not stated P
Pre-bid meeting
Optional
A pre-tender conference will not be held. D2 p.22
Reserved for
Reserved for WOMEN, who must be duly registered with The National Treasury (ITT 32.5). D2 p.24
Contract value
Not stated in the documents we reviewed Not stated P
Tender opening
Tender opening is online, without the presence of tenderers; 3 representatives of the procuring entity sign. D2 p.23
Tender validity
Tender validity is 120 days from the submission deadline. D2 p.23

Who can apply

  • Tendering is open to Small and Medium Enterprises registered appropriately with Women Enterprises, per the invitation; the reservation is women-only as stated in the TDS. D2 p.2

Application checklist

Tick items off as you prepare. Your ticks stay on this device only.

Required from every bidder

  • D2 p.35
  • D2 p.35
  • D2 p.35
  • D2 p.35
  • Standard rule D2 p.7
  • D2 p.35
  • D2 p.35
  • D2 p.2
  • D2 p.35
  • D2 p.50

Required only in some situations

  • Standard rule D2 p.7

Experience, licences and financial capacity

Technical

  • After-sales service is required (ITT 16.2(b)); manufacturer's authorization is not required. D2 p.23
  • Goods must be sourced from Kenya where listed (furniture, steel, etc.); no foreign substitutions for those items. Goods must not be declared harmful by environmental authority. Standard rule D2 p.7
  • Delivery and installation to Kwale County (final destination project site). Quantity and specification details are in Section V, which was not provided. D2 p.23

Financial

  • Financial capability: the tender data sheet gives no supply cash flow or minimum annual turnover figure; the bank statement and turnover criteria in the preliminary and technical evaluation apply. D2 p.35
  • Attach bank reference letter on letter head, dated within the tender period (scored 2 marks). D2 p.36
  • Experience: similar supplies to government institutions in the last 5 years, with Purchase Orders, Contract Agreements, signed delivery notes and Notification of Award; scoring bands are 7M and 5-6M (above 6M scores). Pass mark 50/70. D2 p.36

How and where to submit

  • Submit electronically via the National Treasury e-procurement system supplier.treasury.go.ke. Manual submission will not be permitted. Electronic submission is the only method. D2 p.2
  • Original tender only; no additional number of copies specified (N/A in TDS). D2 p.23
  • Bids must be serialized by the bidder with fresh numbering (not downloaded pagination). D2 p.2
  • Authorization to sign on behalf of tenderer by official letter. D2 p.23

Lots and categories

  • Lot Single lot: One item only; the tender is a single contract (no lots). D2 p.22

Points to confirm with the procuring entity

The documents do not agree with each other on these points. Ask the procuring entity for a written clarification before you submit.

  • Closing date and time: Tender notice (D1) and TDS (D2) say 2 November 2026 at 10:00AM; the portal record lists 2026-11-02 10:00:00. The TDS enquiry deadline is 10:30AM, separate from closing. Consistent for closing; noted for awareness only. (D1 p.2, D2 p.23, P)
  • Submission method: Portal says electronic submission; the invitation lists the portal as www.supplier.treasury.co.ke while the TDS says supplier.treasury.go.ke. Confirm the correct address with the procuring entity before submitting. (D2 p.2, D2 p.23, P)
  • Reserved group and sample viewing: Tender notice lists the tender under category WOMEN with mandatory sample viewing on 28/10/2026 at JEZA B ECDE, but the tender document does not set a sample viewing date. Confirm whether sample viewing is required before submission. (D1 p.1, D2 p.35)
  • Tender reference number: Portal and TDS use 2653742/2026-2027; the tender notice header uses CGK/EDU/VOL.I/2026/2027. (P, D1 p.1, D2 p.22)
  • Contact email for enquiries/complaints: Complaint and update address is an individual Gmail address (jumwanza@gmail.com) rather than an official county address. (D2 p.2, D2 p.25)

Not covered in the documents we reviewed

  • Section V Schedule of Requirements: quantities, technical specifications and delivery schedule
  • Section IV tendering forms and price schedule
  • Contract value / estimated budget
  • Section III post-qualification financial thresholds (turnover, supply cash flow) beyond the preliminary and technical scoring tables
  • Confirmation whether a sample viewing is mandatory and its date (notice references 28/10/2026)
  • Performance security percentage calculation details (TDS gives maximum 1% of tender sum, not confirmed as applicable)
  • Remaining D2 pages not provided (113 total, 26 reviewed)

Terms explained

TDS
Tender Data Sheet: the tender-specific rules that override the general Instructions to Tenderers.
Tender-Securing Declaration
A signed declaration, witnessed by a Commissioner for Oath, promising to honour the tender instead of paying a cash or bank security.
AGPO
Access to Government Procurement Opportunities: a reservation scheme for youth, women and persons with disability; a valid AGPO certificate is required here for women.
Responsive
A tender that meets all mandatory requirements; non-responsive tenders are rejected.
JV
Joint venture: a group of firms bidding together.
Serialization
Numbering all pages of your tender submission yourself in sequence, not using the downloaded numbering.
Lowest evaluated tender
The responsive tender with the lowest evaluated price after adjustments.
CR12
Company return showing directors and shareholders issued by the Registrar of Companies.
Nairobi City https://nairobicity.co.ke