Open

Equipping of Mbooni isolation ward - Makueni County Department of Health Services, ref 2654391

Official title: Equipping of mbooni isolation ward

Closing
Thu 5 Nov 2026, 10:00 am EAT
Tender number
2654391
Procuring entity
Makueni County Government
Category
Goods · Open Tender
County
Makueni

Official documents take precedence. NairobiCity is an independent information service, not the procuring entity or a government body. This summary was prepared from the official documents with AI assistance; every requirement was matched to the document wording, but it can still contain mistakes. Before you apply, read the official tender documents and any addenda.

What is being bought

Supply of goods to equip the Mbooni Isolation Ward at Mbooni Isolation Hospital, Makueni County, under reference 2654391 (IFMIS negotiation number). Item list and quantities are in the Schedule of Requirements (Section V), which was not in the material reviewed.

What could disqualify you

  • Any tender not accompanied by a substantially responsive tender security is rejected as non-responsive. Standard rule D1 p.14
  • Late tenders are rejected and returned unopened. Submission deadline is 2026-11-05 10:00 (see closing). Standard rule D1 p.16
  • A tenderer proven to be involved in corrupt, coercive, obstructive, collusive or fraudulent practice is automatically disqualified. Standard rule D1 p.8
  • A firm submitting more than one tender, or a firm in a joint venture also tendering individually or as subcontractor in the same tender, leads to disqualification of all tenders involving that firm. Standard rule D1 p.8
  • Tenders that fail the Preliminary Examination (Stage 1 mandatory requirements) are non-responsive and are not evaluated further. D1 p.27
  • A tenderer must score at least 49 of 70 technical marks to be responsive; below that, the tender is not evaluated further. D1 p.28
  • All attachments must be in PDF format. Google links are not accepted. D1 p.28
  • Forms must be fully filled, signed, stamped and dated; missing or unsigned forms fail the preliminary check. D1 p.27

Key facts

Closing
Thu 5 Nov 2026, 10:00 am
Closing: 2026-11-05 at 10:00 (portal and tender documents agree, no addenda seen). P
Bid / tender security
Tender security amount: Ksh 480,000.00. Forms allowed: cash, bank guarantee, insurance company guarantee, letter of credit, or guarantee by a licensed deposit-taking microfinance, Sacco, Youth Enterprise Development Fund or Women Enterprise Fund. Must be in original form. Valid 30 days beyond tender validity (standard ITT 18.4). Conflict: electronic-only submission but original security required. Conflicting D1 p.24
Tender fee
Tender documents downloaded electronically are free of charge. Tender security is a separate required amount. D1 p.5
Site visit
Not stated in the documents we reviewed Not stated D1 p.24
Pre-bid meeting
Optional
No pre-tender conference will be held. D1 p.24
Reserved for
Conflicting: invitation para 6 says tendering is open to Small and Medium Enterprises registered appropriately, while para 5 says open to all qualified tenderers and TDS ITT 32.3 says reservation shall not apply. Portal lists no reserved groups. Conflicting D1 p.5
Contract value
Not stated in the documents we reviewed Not stated D1
Tender opening
Tenders are opened online via IFMIS immediately after the deadline; tenderers' representatives may attend online. D1 p.25
Tender validity
Tenders remain valid for 140 days from the submission deadline. Shorter validity is rejected as non-responsive. D1 p.24

Who can apply

  • Tendering is stated to be open to all qualified and interested tenderers. The invitation separately says tendering is open to Small and Medium Enterprises registered appropriately; see conflicts. D1 p.5
  • A Kenyan tenderer must provide evidence of having fulfilled its tax obligations, by a current tax clearance certificate or tax exemption certificate issued by the Kenya Revenue Authority. Standard rule D1 p.9
  • A tenderer debarred by the PPRA from public procurement is ineligible to tender or be awarded a contract. The PPRA debarment list is on www.ppra.go.ke. Standard rule D1 p.8
  • Joint ventures must seek exemption from the Competition Authority of Kenya. Exemption is not needed to tender but is a condition of contract award and signature. TDS sets maximum JV members as N/A. Standard rule D1 p.9
  • State-owned enterprises may compete only if they meet the conditions in ITT 3.8. Public employees and their close relatives are not eligible to participate. Standard rule D1 p.8

Application checklist

Tick items off as you prepare. Your ticks stay on this device only.

Required from every bidder

  • D1 p.27
  • D1 p.27
  • D1 p.27
  • D1 p.27
  • D1 p.27

Experience, licences and financial capacity

Technical

  • Technical evaluation (up to 70 marks): Experience 20 marks; financial capacity 10; warranty letter 5; delivery period 5; brochures conforming with specifications 20; personnel 10. Pass mark 49. D1 p.28
  • Experience scoring: only LPOs or letters of award with contract agreement are considered. Previous similar works at or above 24 million (completed in past 5 years) score per work, up to 2 works. D1 p.28
  • Brochures conforming with specifications score up to 20 marks. D1 p.28
  • Personnel scoring: Diploma in Medical Engineering (5 marks each), Certificate in Medical Engineering (3 marks each), and commitment letter to offer end-user training (10 marks total). D1 p.28
  • Place of final destination is Department of Health Services, Mbooni Isolation Hospital. D1 p.24

Financial

  • Bank statement for the last 12 months showing current balance at bidding: 10 million or more scores 5 marks; 5-10 million 3 marks; below 5 million 2 marks. D1 p.28
  • Certified audited accounts for the last 2 years (2024 and 2025), with auditor's ICPAK valid registration and number, scoring 2.5 marks each. D1 p.28
  • Proof of access to credit facility: current valid bank letter of access to credit (2.5 marks). D1 p.28
  • Performance security, if required after award, is Ksh 2,400,000. Stated as a sum in TDS. D1 p.26

How and where to submit

  • Tenders must be submitted electronically through IFMIS (www.supplier.treasury.go.ke) under negotiation number 2654391, by the closing date and time. D1 p.5
  • Submission reference: negotiation number 2654391. Portal record also lists electronic submission only. D1 p.5
  • Electronic submission procedures: online through the IFMIS system. D1 p.25
  • Number of copies in addition to the original: stated as N/A in the TDS, so not specified. Not stated D1 p.24
  • Questions about the tender must reach the Procuring Entity by 29/10/2026 at 10:00 am. D1 p.24
  • Enquiries may be sent to procurement@makueni.go.ke (see conflicts about other contact emails). D1 p.24

Lots and categories

  • Lot N/A: No lots: the TDS shows the number of lots as N/A, so this is a single contract. The invitation says tenderers may tender for one (wording unclear). D1 p.24

What the addenda changed

  • No addenda were supplied with this material and the portal record lists none. Not stated P

Points to confirm with the procuring entity

The documents do not agree with each other on these points. Ask the procuring entity for a written clarification before you submit.

  • Who can apply (open to all vs SMEs only): Invitation para 5 says open to all qualified tenderers; para 6 says open to SMEs registered appropriately; TDS ITT 32.3 says reservation shall not apply. Ask the procuring entity. (D1 p.5; D1 p.25)
  • Submission method vs original tender security: Submission is electronic only via IFMIS, but ITT 18.1 requires the tender security in original form. Ask how the original security is to be delivered. (D1 p.5; D1 p.24; D1 p.14)
  • Contact email addresses: Invitation uses county.health@makueni.go.ke; Form of Tender uses countyhealthmkn@gmail.com; TDS uses procurement@makueni.go.ke. Confirm the correct address for queries. (D1 p.5; D1 p.24; D1 p.47)

Not covered in the documents we reviewed

  • Addenda (none supplied; confirm no changes to dates or requirements)
  • Section V Schedule of Requirements with quantities, specifications and delivery period in days
  • Manufacturer's authorization requirement (TDS ITT 16.2(a) left blank)
  • Contract value and currency (not stated in reviewed pages)
  • Performance security terms and payment schedule (Section VII SCC)
  • Forms in Section IV (Form of Tender, Tender Security form, SD1/SD2, ethics declaration)
  • Number of copies required (TDS ITT 19.1 N/A)
  • Clarification on whether tenders may be submitted for one lot or item only
  • Pages not reviewed (24 of 134 pages supplied)

Terms explained

TDS
Tender Data Sheet: the section with tender-specific values that override the standard Instructions to Tenderers.
ITT
Instructions to Tenderers: standard rules for preparing and submitting bids.
IFMIS
Integrated Financial Management Information System, the government e-procurement platform used for submission and opening here.
Tender security
A bank guarantee, cash or similar guarantee that must accompany the bid; the bid is rejected without it.
Performance security
Guarantee the winning bidder provides before or upon contract signing; stated here as Ksh 2,400,000 if required.
Responsive
A tender that meets all mandatory requirements; non-responsive tenders are rejected.
JV
Joint venture: several firms bidding together under one tender.
PPRA
Public Procurement Regulatory Authority, which maintains the debarment list.
CR12
Kenyan company return showing directors and shareholders, required as a copy.
Preliminary evaluation
Pass/fail mandatory check before technical scoring.
AGPO
Affirmative action preference for youth, women and persons with disabilities; not applied in this tender per the TDS.
Ksh
Kenya Shillings.
Nairobi City https://nairobicity.co.ke