Proposed Construction of Social Hall at Mapenya Phase I, Lamu County (Ref CGL/ONT/EDU/2430732/022/2026-2027)
Official title: PROPOSED CONSTRUCTION OF SOCIAL HALL AT MAPENYA PHASE I
- Closing
- Tue 3 Nov 2026, 11:00 am EAT
- Tender number
- CGL/ONT/EDU/2430732/022/2026-2027
- Procuring entity
- Lamu County Government
- Category
- Works · Open Tender
- County
- Lamu
Official documents take precedence. NairobiCity is an independent information service, not the procuring entity or a government body. This summary was prepared from the official documents with AI assistance; every requirement was matched to the document wording, but it can still contain mistakes. Before you apply, read the official tender documents and any addenda.
What is being bought
Lamu County Government requests tenders for the proposed construction of a social hall at Mapenya Phase I in Lamu County, under an open national works tender using IFMIS. Tender reference CGL/ONT/EDU/2430732/022/2026-2027. Quantities are in the Bills of Quantities, which were not reviewed.
What could disqualify you
- Late tenders will be rejected. The IFMIS system locks out automatically at closing time. D2 p.2
- If the scanned tender security or Form of Tender uploaded to IFMIS does not match the original manual forms in the tender box, the tender will be disqualified. D2 p.23
- Any tender not accompanied by a substantially responsive tender security will be rejected as non-responsive. Standard rule D2 p.13
- Failure to submit the original Form of Tender and the other original forms in the tender box by the closing time and date leads to disqualification. D2 p.28
- Tenders that fail the preliminary examination (mandatory requirements MR1 to MR13) are non-responsive and are not evaluated further. D2 p.27
- Failure to provide the Pre-Tender Site Visit Attendance Certificate is a mandatory preliminary requirement (see the conflict on site visits). Conflicting D2 p.28
Key facts
- Closing
-
Tue 3 Nov 2026, 11:00 am
Tender closing: 3 November 2026 at 11:00 am East African Time, through the IFMIS supplier portal. The portal record gives the same closing date and time. No addenda were provided. D2 p.24 - Bid / tender security
- Tender security of KES 295,000.00 (Kenya shillings) valid for 150 days, as a demand guarantee in cash, bank guarantee, or insurance guarantee from licensed banks or insurance firms approved by PPRA. The original goes in the tender box and a scan is uploaded to IFMIS. D2 p.23
- Tender fee
- Hard-copy tender document fee: KES 1,000.00, non-refundable, paid in cash or banker's cheque. Documents downloaded electronically from the websites are free of charge. D2 p.2
- Site visit
-
Mandatory
Pre-arranged site visit on 26 October 2026 from 9:30 am to 10:00 am, meeting at Mapenya Chief Office. Attendance certificate is required under MR8, but ITT 7.5 says non-attendance is not a cause for disqualification. Conflicting D2 p.2 - Pre-bid meeting
-
Mandatory
Pre-tender meeting held together with the site visit on 26 October 2026 (9:30 to 10:00 am, Mapenya Chief Office). The TDS says interested bidders must attend. Written questions must reach the procuring entity by 23 October 2026. Conflicting D2 p.22 - Reserved for
- Not applicable. The tender is not reserved for SMEs, women, youth, persons with disability or AGPO groups. It is open to all qualified tenderers. D2 p.25
- Contract value
- Not stated in the documents we reviewed Not stated D2
- Tender opening
- Tender opening is stated as 3 November 2026 at 11:00 am in the Boardroom at County Government of Lamu HQ, Mokowe. The ITT (page 3) says there will be no physical opening. See the conflict. Conflicting D2 p.24
- Tender validity
- Tenders remain valid for 120 days. The start date is disputed: the invitation says from the date of opening, while ITT 18.1 says from the submission deadline. Conflicting D2 p.23
Who can apply
- Open national competitive tender. Tendering is open to all qualified and interested tenderers, subject to the mandatory preliminary requirements listed below. D2 p.2
- Kenyan tenderers must provide evidence of tax compliance through a valid tax compliance or tax exemption certificate issued by KRA. Standard rule D2 p.8
Application checklist
Tick items off as you prepare. Your ticks stay on this device only.
Required from every bidder
Experience, licences and financial capacity
Technical
- Key personnel: a Project Manager with at least a degree in a relevant engineering field and 5 years' experience in similar works; a Site Agent with at least a diploma and 3 years' experience; and at least one artisan with a certificate and 3 years' experience. Forms PER-1 and PER-2 with certificates are required. D2 p.35
- Experience: four similar contracts, each of minimum value KES 10,000,000, completed as prime contractor, JV member, management contractor or subcontractor between 1 January 2020 and the submission deadline. Similar works are public or institutional buildings such as a hall, market, health facility or school. Evidence required: Form EXP 4.2(a). D2 p.35
- Equipment: at least five pick-ups, a plate compactor and other relevant transport or equipment, plus levelling staff, trowel, plumbline and other relevant tools, each owned or leased by the tenderer. Proof of ownership or lease agreement is required (Form EQU). D2 p.36
- Technical scoring: total 80 marks. Bidders scoring 60 or more move on to financial evaluation. Scored areas include key personnel, similar experience, financial report, equipment and litigation history. D2 p.31
- Subcontracting: up to 25% of the total contract amount may be subcontracted. Tenderers planning to subcontract more than 10% of the volume of work must name the activities and subcontractors, with their qualifications and experience, in the Form of Tender. D2 p.25
- Specialized subcontractors may be proposed for mechanical works and electrical works. Their qualifications are added to the tenderer's for evaluation. D2 p.25
Financial
- Line of credit: the tenderer must show access to a line of credit of at least KES 5,000,000, in its name from a licensed financial institution, independent of any contractual advance payment. D2 p.34
- Average annual construction turnover of at least KES 20,000,000, calculated as certified payments received over the last 2 years (financial years 2024 and 2025) divided by 2. Form FIN-3.2 is required. See the conflict on the years. Conflicting D2 p.35
- Audited accounts for 2023, 2024 and 2025, with the auditors' current ICPAK practising certificate, must show current financial soundness and prospective long-term profitability. D2 p.35
- Scored financial report: average annual turnover of at least KES 20M for each of 2023, 2024 and 2025 (10 marks); cash in hand or lines of credit showing KES 5M monthly cash flow (10 marks). This is a scoring criterion. Conflicting D2 p.30
How and where to submit
- Electronic submission: upload the complete tender through the IFMIS Supplier Portal at https://supplier.treasury.go.ke by the closing time. D1 p.1
- Physical submission: the ORIGINAL tender security and ORIGINAL Form of Tender must be dropped in the Tender Box at County Government of Lamu HQ, Mokowe, Ground Floor, by the closing date. The invitation says manual submission will not be permitted. See the conflict. Conflicting D2 p.23
- Number of copies: not applicable. Only the original and the scanned IFMIS upload are required. D2 p.23
- Pages: serialize all pages of the tender chronologically. D2 p.2
- Packaging: the tender must be delivered in a single sealed envelope bearing the tender name and reference number, containing separate sealed ORIGINAL and COPIES envelopes. Standard rule D2 p.14
- Signing: the tender must be signed by a person authorized by a written power of attorney, duly signed and witnessed, with the name and position printed under the signature. D2 p.23
Points to confirm with the procuring entity
The documents do not agree with each other on these points. Ask the procuring entity for a written clarification before you submit.
- Submission method: The portal lists electronic submission only, and the invitation says manual submission will not be permitted. The TDS and ITT 22 require physical originals of the tender security and Form of Tender to be dropped in the tender box at Mokowe. (P (portal record); D2 p.2; D2 p.3; D2 p.23)
- Tender opening location and format: The invitation and TDS give a physical opening in the Boardroom at Mokowe, but ITT 22 says there will be no physical opening of tenders. (D1 p.1; D2 p.24; D2 p.3)
- Tender validity start date: The invitation says 120 days from the date of opening. ITT 18.1 says the period starts from the submission deadline. (D2 p.2; D2 p.13)
- Site visit and pre-tender meeting attendance: MR8 requires a Pre-Tender Site Visit Attendance Certificate as a mandatory preliminary requirement. ITT 7.5 says non-attendance at the site visit and pre-tender meeting is not a cause for disqualification. (D2 p.28; D2 p.10)
- NCA registration timing: MR7 requires NCA registration at Category 4 or above as a preliminary (tender) requirement. ITT 3.12 says registration shall not be a condition for tender, only for contract award. (D2 p.28; D2 p.8)
- Turnover and financial years: Qualification item 12 uses average turnover of KES 20M over 2024 and 2025. Technical item TR3 requires at least KES 20M for each of 2023, 2024 and 2025. (D2 p.35; D2 p.30)
- Experience period: Qualification item 14 requires four contracts completed between 1 January 2020 and the deadline. TR2 requires four projects between 2021 and 2026. Item 13 refers to at least the last six (5) years. (D2 p.35; D2 p.30; D2 p.35)
- Tender security validity start: MR6 says 150 days from the date of tender opening. The TDS says 150 days with no start date stated. (D2 p.28; D2 p.23)
Not covered in the documents we reviewed
- No addenda [A1] or later amendments were provided; confirm there are none before the closing date.
- Contract value or estimated budget is not stated in the reviewed pages.
- Performance security amount and form are not stated in the reviewed pages.
- Bills of Quantities, drawings, specifications and General/Special Conditions of Contract were not reviewed.
- Section III clause 7 has blank insertions for minimum turnover, years and contract numbers.
- Pre-tender site visit minutes and any clarification responses were not provided.
- Only 30 of 174 pages of D2 were reviewed; other pages may hold further requirements.
- Lot/contract structure is stated as not applicable, but the full evaluation method was not checked against the blank template sections.
Terms explained
- IFMIS
- Integrated Financial Management Information System, the government e-procurement platform where the tender is uploaded.
- TDS
- Tender Data Sheet. It sets tender-specific values that override the standard Instructions to Tenderers (ITT).
- ITT
- Instructions to Tenderers, the standard rules for preparing and submitting a tender.
- Tender security
- A guarantee (cash, bank guarantee or insurance guarantee) that protects the procuring entity if a bidder withdraws or fails to sign the contract.
- Responsive / non-responsive
- A responsive tender meets all mandatory requirements. A non-responsive tender is rejected without further evaluation.
- MR
- Mandatory Requirement in the preliminary evaluation table. Each MR must be met to pass.
- NCA
- National Construction Authority. Contractors must be registered, with the category and annual practising licence stated in MR7.
- PPRA
- Public Procurement Regulatory Authority, which recognises approved financial institutions and handles complaints.
- AGPO
- Access to Government Procurement Opportunities, a preference scheme for youth, women and persons with disability. Not applicable here.
- CR12
- Company Registry form listing directors and shareholders, issued by the Registrar of Companies.
- PIN certificate
- Personal Identification Number certificate issued by KRA for tax purposes.
- ICPAK
- Institute of Certified Public Accountants of Kenya. Auditors must hold a valid practising certificate.
- Power of attorney
- A signed and witnessed document authorising a named person to sign and bind the tenderer.
- Bill of Quantities (BOQ)
- Priced schedule of the works items, which bidders must complete and stamp.
- Joint venture (JV)
- A group of firms bidding together. The TDS states that the maximum number of JV members is not applicable.